We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

What a beautiful hotel, honestly my room was the most gorgeous and spacious room that I have ever stayed in. My room had floor to ceiling windows that looked out on the beautiful Utah landscape. The room was so spacious and comfortable. The furniture and tv are due for an update but honestly they do not detract from the beauty of this property. The bathroom was regal with a large tub and a seperate glass enclosed shower as well as a seperate toilet room. There were multiple sinks in the room. Perhaps coming from the expensive northeast I was blown away by the relatively low price of the hotel.

Oh and unlike most other high end hotels, wifi was actually free. Plus the 24 hr room service menu had several delicious options. I arrived at the hotel after midnight and was greeted as if it were 3 in the afternoon. Would have love to stayed another night to truly enjoy this room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operrations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are humbled by your kind remarks.

I must say however, that we are indeed guilty of falling a bit behind with an update of our TV and bedding package. The Grand America Hotel is in its 11th year of operation and whether it’s beds, TVs, spa equipment or banquet china, we are making every effort to maintain an up-to-date, fresh and gracious environment.

We are in the process of re-designing a new IP-HDTV system as well as a new sleep experience at the Grand; I can assure both areas will be excellent upon completion. Our goal is to have all the updates in place by the end of Q1, 2012.

We hope this information is helpful and we thank you again for recommending us so highly. We look forward to your return and in the interim, will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    214
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
212
388
50
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

What a "Grand" visit we had. Impeccable service. Luxurious accommodations. Simply a fantastic visit, can"t wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We are humbled by your kind remarks and deeply honored you have recommended us so highly.

We too look forward to welcoming you back The Grand America Hotel and until then, remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

After staying at this property twice for a SLC business trip, my 3rd business trip a couple of weeks ago confirms that this hotel consistently provides fantastic customer service, great accommodations and a wonderful experience. My wife joined me for a few days during my week long stay and she agreed this is truly a 5 star hotel and one of the nicest we have stayed in, regardless of city. And, we do travel frequently, so this is quite a statement.

Rooms were clean, quiet and very large!

We also indulged in the lunch buffet ($19, a great bargain) and the Sunday brunch ($39, great food, but not quite as good of a bargain as the normal weekday buffet). If you find yourself in Salt Lake City and want to stay in the absolute best hotel in the area (and one of the finest in the country), stay at the Grand America. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us...we are honored to have earned your trust and humbled by your kind remarks.

Speaking on behalf Grand America family, we were especially proud that both you and your wife recognized and appreciated our commitment to excellence. It is our hope to provide a distinctive and memorable experience for every guest; we could not be more pleased that we have successfully executed these service values for you.

I kindly ask that when your future travels bring you back to us that you seek me out. I would be delighted to meet you and your family and personally welcome you back to the Grand. Until then, we will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference and it was a wonderful experience. This hotel knows customer service well and will cater to your every need. We were able to upgrade our suite for $25.00 a night and it was well worth it. We did not have time to use the pools or spa but our soaking tub and bubbles were amazing. We were very tired and I was not feeling well so we ordered room service and the food was amazing as well as the service. Be careful when asking for transportation to the airport though as we got stuck in a van (we asked for a taxi) and it was not worth the $30.00 fee. The bellman had loaded our luggage without listening to us when we said we wanted a cab. We found out that the van was about $5.00 more than the cab.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the suites over looking the pool. They have a balcony and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most helpful feedback with us.

We were delighted to read your kind remarks about our facilities, accommodations, food and service. We are humbled by such high praise.

I am also thankful for your observations regarding the airport transportation we assisted you with. I am terribly sorry we failed to deliver precisely to your request. That should not have happened. I have shared your comments with our Director of Guest Experience and reiterated the importance of consistent and reliable service.

We hope to see you back at the Grand America in the future and will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I was in SLC for a last minute conference and was assigned this hotel. It turned out to be real gem. Little stuffy but reminds me of the Four Seasons

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and services. We are humbled by your kind remarks.

I hope your first experience at the Grand has earned your trust so that we may have the privilege to serve you again. Until then, we will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand America for 3 nights in September. Our trip also included staying at high end hotels in New York and Las Vegas, but this hotel was the standout of the the trip. It really does feel like a grand hotel as soon as you step into beautiful lobby. The rooms are lovely - spacious and beautifully furnished. The grounds and pool are also lovely and immaculately maintained. My husband, who has worked in the hotel industry for 30 years remarked that it was the cleanest hotel he'd ever seen - everything was spotless. The freshly made cookies available in the lobby every day were yummy and a really nice touch.

The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. We had a very stressful day where we needed to get some documentation urgently sent from Australia and Kathryn (The Convention Services Manager) could not have been kinder and more helpful.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolS1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand America.

We are humbled by you kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly.

It was most rewarding to learn that Ms. Jennings, our Convention Services Manager had exceeded your expectations. We could not be more proud when our colleagues touch the heart and soul of our guests. We will certainly recognize Kathryn for her efforts in personalizing your experience and pass along your sincere appreciation.

Thank you again for such high praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Enormous hotel fully geared up for mid-size conferences (hundreds of delegates, not thousands). Good standard of US-style food & a nice pool. Rooms large, clean, usual amenities & quiet. For a change, the hotel shops actually yieded items suitable for taking home as presents - a good things as there are no shops within easy reach of the hotel (not even a drugstore)
Recommended for business but not leisure

Room Tip: Go high! Wonderful views & no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed many of the Grand America’s features and amenities. I was especially pleased to read your favorable remarks regarding our retail outlets. Please visit our web site to see the newest addition to our retail family of shops, "Jou Jou". Opening this November.

Kindly be advised the completion of the billion dollar City Creek project is just months away. This “walkable” urban community development will cover 20 acres and host a wide variety of restaurant, shopping and entertainment alternatives. Also the city’s light rail has a stop in front of the Grand and will transport you free of charge throughout the City Creek and downtown area.

I hope this information is useful. Please rest assured that your comments are taken to heart to aide our continual effort for improvement.

Thank you again for your thoughtful remarks. We hope to see you back at the Grand so and until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing