We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cookies...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cookies...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Every other 5 star hotel I have previously stayed in I now consider second rate, as they do not offer large plates of warm chocolate chip cookies in the lobby close to the reception desk.

With fairly intense meetings over 6 days I didn't actually leave the hotel for a stretch of 2-3 days, normally this would be mentally troubling but the combination of gym, food options, service and design of the hotel kept me sane.

I echo others' comments about the bathroom/dressing rooms which were a step above in terms of space and practical design.

As a completely random aside, the combination of dry air, carpets and metallic doors led to quite a few humorous static electricity shocks.

Room Tip: The view facing East seems preferable - mountains are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mehmet K -

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad to hear you were pleased with your stay and were able to enjoy a lot of the amenities at the Grand. We will share your kind comments about our cookies with our bakery department and are glad you were able to enjoy them! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand America Hotel upon your next visit to Salt Lake City!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    214
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
212
388
50
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bestbed
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a nice pleasure to stay at the Grand America. Beautiful, Clean and attention to detail. All the employees were attentive and helpful. I was here on business and wish I had taken a few days to enjoy Salt Lake. I definitely will return. Very large rooms with incredible bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

After a wonderful Christmas brunch 2 years ago, we determined the hotel would be our treat to stay when our daughter graduates from the U - Spring 2014. Previewed the rooms online, saw there were plenty available so waited until we traveled from Ohio to book in person in early November. At the desk we were told nothing was available, they even checked with the manager and told us there were/was a big group/s (the story changed) and the hotel was completely booked May 1 & 2 at all price levels. Couldn't get them to allow just a 2 room reservation no matter what. Left very disappointed but figured it was wedding parties or something. Lo and behold, others in the family checked availability online and guess what - were able to choose any room at any price, including the lowest, and for our exact dates. We agreed that the poor treatment in person having traveled 2000 miles was more an indicator of the service we could expect for our stay and chose to rent a lovely townhouse condominium even closer to the heart of SLC. Your loss Grand America, we would have been terrific guests!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Front Office Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear K J -

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience with us. Your open feedback is valuable and appreciated.

I am truly disappointed that we provided a poor reservation experience at our front desk. We strive to always exceed guest expectations and provide consistent service. I sincerely apologize that we were not accommodating in making your reservation and for the inconvenience this may have caused in making travel plans for your daughters graduation.

Please know that we are taking the necessary steps with our staff to ensure this type of misfortune does not happen again in the future.

Do not hesitate to contact me personally for future travel plans to Salt Lake City. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand America and see to the details of your stay.

Tony O'Brien
Front Office Manager
The Grand America Hotel
Direct: 801.258.6619
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Grand America Hotel is the best of the best in Salt Lake City. The facilities are impeccably kept, the service is the best I've experienced and the location is prime. I love this hotel and will stay there again and again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is incredible. I have been staying here for about 5 years now whenever i come to Salt Lake City. Everything about it is top notch. The restaurants, gym, lounges, pool area and service, the spa. Everything! Aside for being beautiful aesthetically, the service is unmatched. This is a true 5-Star property by any definition. It's what every hotel should strive to be. I personally think this is one tier above your average Four Seasons or St Regis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I went to Grand America to enjoy their formal tea.
We enjoyed being treated like royalty!
There were 12 different teas to choose from, black, green and herbal, as well as 5 different types of hot cocoa.
We were pleased with the 3 "courses" served to us throughout our experience.
I thought there would be tiny tastes of food, like a snack, but it ended up being more than I could eat for lunch.
I think the funnest part was a weird looking object in a tall wine glass, the steward came over at the beginning and explained that it was a flower. He added very hot water to the glass and we got to watch the flower hydrate and fill the glass. It was cool! It made a green tea that you could drink if you wanted to after it was fully hydrated.
Fun experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Care8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Care8875-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a pleasure to hear you had a wonderful afternoon tea experience. We hope you'll join us again soon! Until then, we remain at your service.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Absolutely top notch hotel; staff and service. Very accomodating in every way. Food was great, people friendly and rooms immaculate. Beautiful view of downtown and the mountains. Every Five Star Hotel should be this good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisbuff1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear tennisbuff1000-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind words and will pass them on to our staff. If your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City in the future, we hope to welcome you as our guest once again. Until then, we remain at your service.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing