We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As everyone says, this is a lovely hotel with great service. What it lacks are the common things that make staying with a family even better. I wish it had in room coffeemakers and a place to hang wet swim suits. The pool is wonderful, but you have to search for it (in the spa and take an elevator). You shouldn't really dress in your bathing suit to get there because you have to go through the lobby to find it. They have dressing rooms at the pool area. If you just want to have pizza in the room, you can get it, but it's quite expensive to order room service. The Santa brunch and tea looked lovely, but since we were unaware of it when we booked our rooms, we couldn't participate as it was booked up. There is no free breakfast included. So if you're traveling as a couple or a single adult, this will likely have all you need. As a family, we did enjoy the toy store and decorated windows. We ate gelato at the little cafe/gift shop. It was a lot of fun because the lobby was more than just a hotel lobby. There was Disney channel in the room. Liked the chocolate chip cookies they had near check-in. Valet parking was expensive, but convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    221
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
227
397
50
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a great hotel. The fine detail that was put into this hotel exceeds most other 5 star hotels. The friendly service was also great. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who seeks the very best .

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the nearby mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Having spent nearly 200 nights in hotels this year, it is rare that I actually hate to leave a hotel. The Grand America is opulent, clean, huge rooms, terric service etc, etc, etc... Really a wondeful experience!

Everyone at this hotel seems to understand customer service and the detail to luxury and cleanliness exceed anything I can remember in recent travel.

When you check into this hotel you feel as though you have stepped back in time without forgoing any modern luxury, They offered me an upgrade to a suite for $30 which I declined and I honestly can not imagine a nicer room (700 sq ft) than the standard room I received!

I happened to be staying there on a snowy day in December with Christmas music constantly playing in the backround, it was so nice I would describe it as surreal!

I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

For those of you who read my reviews, you know I try to provide information that is helpful, fair and honest. This hotel has so much to recommend it. The rooms are just about perfect ---large, with sliding doors that open to a Juliette balcony, the beds super comfortable, there are double sinks in the bathroom, separate tub and glass enclosed shower and lovely amenities. The robe and slippers are plush and turn down is early and efficient. Wifi is included in the rate and parking, at $13 a night, is fair. The people are lovely, the spa excellent, the fitness room is large with great equipment.

The only shortcomings are the concierges who are not quite as knowledgeable as they could be and, because of the size of the hotel, the lobby and the valet parking can be jammed during busy times. Upon our arrival at the hotel, the car lineup was so long we couldn't even get on to the property. As the line slowly moved to the hotel entrance we gave up and self-parked. We were surprised no bell people were located by the hotel entrance in the garage. We had to go up to reception and then go back down to the car with the bell person to get our luggage --- a very strange system.

But these two negatives are minor and did not affect our visit. We would definitely recommend the Grand America.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family (3 people) stayed at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. As we were researching hotels in the Salt Lake area, this hotel stood out as one that offered luxurious accommodations at a reasonable price while being in the heart of downtown. (We have stayed in several wonderful hotels so were interested to see how this one compared based on price/location). We drove up to the hotel and were impressed with the immediate greeting from the door man, the gorgeous lobby, and the fact that we were greeted and "introduced" by our last name to the check-in rep! Check-in took less than a minute and we were on our way to a garden view -really a beautiful patio/pool view- 2 queen suite. While walking to our room, I noticed the beautiful craftsmanship of the wood - everywhere; the gorgeous decorations, the pleasing aroma of the hotel and the clean and beautiful carpeting. The room was wonderful: 2 queen beds in a separate bedroom, divided by French doors, a living room with a sofa, 2 chairs, 2 end tables, a coffee table, a flat screen TV, a desk and a bar. There was a walk-out balcony that opened to the lovely pool area. There were 2 closets, extra pillows, blankets, robes and another flat screen TV in the bedroom. Bathroom was huge (and beautiful), with a large soaking tub and a separate glass shower, plenty of towels and a toilet separated from the bathroom - nice amenity. Every evening, there was a turn-down service, complete with chocolates, slippers, next day weather forecast and a breakfast menu. The room was "meticulously" clean and there was a room check by a supervisor "after" the maid has finished to make sure all was perfect. Also, the air con/heat was very good. It was like having forced air in your home, with a thermostat. You didn't hear it running and the climate control was very comfortable. The hotel was decorated for Christmas, with beautiful trees throughout, piped Christmas music, store windows decorated, much like Macy's does during the holidays, and best of all: a life-size, handmade gingerbread house! Spectacular!!! Oh, and warm chocolate chip cookies in the lobby for all to enjoy! Now for the service....Perfect! EVERYONE (and I mean that literally), was extremely customer focused and made it their job to make sure that we were taken care of in every regard. Clint and Marcie (concierge) were fantastic with dining options, travel to ski resorts in Park City, lift ticket discounts, directions, etc. The hair dryer in our room stopped working so I called for a new one and within 5 minutes, one was delivered. Being from Chicago, we were shocked by how inexpensive the hotel, dining and breakfast costs were. We enjoyed Americano coffees in the beautiful lobby lounge, with a view of a 20ft. Christmas tree on the patio complete with strung lights on the beautiful topiaries, every morning for $4....yes! We used valet daily for our rental car and the cost was only $18 vs. $13 for self park. It was worth it since the wait time was less than 3 minutes for the car to be retrieved. In Chicago, that service would be upwards of $40 per day. Food at the hotel was good but eating at a hotel is not something we typically do since if food options in the area are abundant, and they were. I CANNOT conceive how anyone could ever rate this hotel less than stellar. It was perfect in all ways and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this incredibly beautiful hotel with its AMAZNG STAFF AND AMENITIES. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you're looking for luxury and relaxation at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: There are 700+ rooms. Ask for a suite, one of 300+. You'll appreciate the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethesights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear lovethesights-

Thank you for providing your valued feedback regarding your stay with us! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us were impressed by our property and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Every other 5 star hotel I have previously stayed in I now consider second rate, as they do not offer large plates of warm chocolate chip cookies in the lobby close to the reception desk.

With fairly intense meetings over 6 days I didn't actually leave the hotel for a stretch of 2-3 days, normally this would be mentally troubling but the combination of gym, food options, service and design of the hotel kept me sane.

I echo others' comments about the bathroom/dressing rooms which were a step above in terms of space and practical design.

As a completely random aside, the combination of dry air, carpets and metallic doors led to quite a few humorous static electricity shocks.

Room Tip: The view facing East seems preferable - mountains are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mehmet K -

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad to hear you were pleased with your stay and were able to enjoy a lot of the amenities at the Grand. We will share your kind comments about our cookies with our bakery department and are glad you were able to enjoy them! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand America Hotel upon your next visit to Salt Lake City!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestbed
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a nice pleasure to stay at the Grand America. Beautiful, Clean and attention to detail. All the employees were attentive and helpful. I was here on business and wish I had taken a few days to enjoy Salt Lake. I definitely will return. Very large rooms with incredible bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.9 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing