We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing - it made me write a review!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly amazing - it made me write a review!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I travel around the US on business for possibly 1/4 of my work time. Normally I save reviews on Trip Advisor for really terrible places or during family vacations, but the Grand America has made me make an exception.

This is without doubt the best hotel I've stayed in, in the US.

Amazing staff, generous and clean rooms, brilliant attention to detail and nice touches like turning down your room for your return in the evening.

It's a little more than other hotels I typically stay in but it is offset by an amazing experience. I don't normally think this, but I'm going to come back with the family. It's that good!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Kester B -

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America Hotel with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    221
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
227
398
50
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Every visit to The Grand America is exceptional, this occasion was no different. The staff were incredibly attentive from the moment we arrived to the moment they helped us into our vechicle upon departure. Bradley from the front office was incredibly helpful, we mentioned it was a special occasion and he was able to offer us an incredible room on a high floor with the most stunning eastern view of the Wasatch mountains.

In-room Dining and uniformed services were exceptional, and the housekeeper who came for turndown service was very helpful in getting us additional ice, and seeing that we were comfortably settled in our room.

Everything was spot-on. My loyalty to the Grand continues to grow with every stay, I think The Grand America offers the finest experience in downtown Salt Lake, and their service standard rivals that of some of the finest luxury hotels in the world.

Room Tip: East facing higher floors offer stunning views of the grounds, downtown, and the Wasatch Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasmbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We get to SLC a bit to visit our daughter who is at the University. We generally try to stay at the Grand as it simply a wonderful hotel. It lives up to the expectations one has at a higher end hotel. Especially, the nicely appointed rooms. And, of course, very courteous and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a walk. If you have issues with that, definitely inquire about a closer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I didn't chose to stay at the Grand America but I may well in future. Staff make or break a hotel . A basic level of cleanliness, upkeep and a decent standard of furniture are needed , sure , but people make the fundamental difference. The HA staff were , every single one , friendly , approachable , accurate and genuine. The décor was not what I usually would go for but it blends into the background when you feel good about the place. Nicest surprise was a superbly equipped gym.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent three nights at the Grand America and it was wonderful. Our room was beautifully appointed and we even had a mountain view from the first floor. The staff was very friendly and professional; the concierge was very nice and patient with people. The bathroom was all marble, the bed very soft, but comfortably so and the room, even though it was on the first floor, was very quiet. We loved the harpist in the lobby area. My only complaints and I feel awful saying it, but the toilet paper was cheap and thin. Also cell service was limited inside the room. I needed to go outside onto the patio to talk or text. But none of this would keep me from coming back and feeling like royalty again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lynn P,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Feedback is very important to us and we sincerely thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to hear we have earned your confidence with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand America upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My spouse went on a business trip to Salt Lake, and I tagged along. We are regular travelers to New York and other major cities, and The Grand America Hotel was an unexpected delight. This hotel can stand alongside the finest hotels in the world. Our room was huge, and amazingly clean. Pillows appeared to be memory foam, so a bit to warm for us, but such a small point to make for a great stay. This hotel definitely strives for excellence. The lounge off of the main lobby was delightful to hang out in. Most days, they had a talented harpist play there, and service was always attentive. We visited in February. From the looks of things, their courtyard garden must be spectacular in the warmer months. They have only a single restaurant, but there are numerous good restaurants within walking distance. This hotel should consider adding a smaller "Haute Cuisine" restaurant to the property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimNepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Visited the Grand Am for a business conference in Feb 14 and was very pleased with the accommodations, service, and food. The bars were lively (but not overcrowded) and rare to find in SLC. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed. Convenient location with restaurants nearby (TGI Fridays was less than a block away for the drinkers.) They have a very nice childrens boutique that I visited and didn't even have my daughter with me.

Ps. The chocolate chip cookies in the lobby are amazing.

Would definitely return!

Room Tip: The higher floors have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandBenHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear JenandBenHan-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand America Hotel. We were delighted that the service quality and facility met your expectations during your business trip.
We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
2.9 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing