We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific convention experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was also at the square dance convention, and was very impressed with how the convention was handled. There were tables full of gleaming pitchers of ice water in every dance hall. Brunch buffet and seated dinner banquet for approximately 800 people were handled smoothly and the food was delicious. The only glitch in the arrangements was that the convention thought they had arranged for use of the outdoor pool for an hour of dancing, but the pool management said they had not been notified. We were able to use the pool for half an hour, but not allowed to use any sound equipment.

All the hotel interiors are really beautiful and ornate, with terrific attention to detail. The carpets are especially lovely, In our room we noticed that everything else in the room was color-coordinated with the floral carpeting. Room towels were large and plentiful. Elevators were quick and soundless. The ladies' rest room near the banquet hall contained 22 individual stalls (floor to ceiling doors, marble floor and walls) , 17 mirrors and 10 chandeliers. There were chandeliers everywhere -- the hotel must employ at least one full-time chandelier cleaner. Be sure to notice the spectacular flower arrangement as you enter the hotel, and the window displays at the hotel's toy store.

We felt entirely pampered and spoiled -- it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank khoffDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear khoffDenver_CO -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand America. We are humbled by your kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

By far the best hotel in the city. The hotel and rooms are decorated very well. They have spared no expense down to the details. The service is excellent from the valet to the front desks to the room service. Top notch all around. Love staying here.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Carid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We booked a junior suite with a king size bed.
Room was super clean with very nice furniture. Bathroom had marble decor an was super clean as well. Wifi ( free) was very fast and line never drop. Fitness center had state of the art machines. Service was always friendly and efficient ( less at the restaurant...). Swimming pool could have been a little bit larger ...but nothing to complain about.
Overall, very nice hotel at....decent price!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love this hotel- the service is top notch. The views extend to the mountains and the views of the flowers and grounds are soooo beautiful. I will let the pictures speak. I have stayed here twice for business and how they return here again. I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank swimdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear swimdiva-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

At every turn, this elegant hotel earns it's 5-star rating, and extravagant prices. You will find ultra modern amenities and friendly, unpretentious, professional staff. Super fast elevators never leave you waiting long. The light rail runs right in front of the hotel, and connects to anyplace downtown. The view is magnificent from the upper rooms. The restaurants and pool area are fantastic. I did not want to leave...

Room Tip: The valet parking is well worth the price difference from self park. Some of the best interactions w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78armadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I attended a square dance convention at the hotel, staying in a king executive suite. The hotel is top quality with very professional staff, large rooms with lots of amenities, a superb shower, excellent beds, and beautiful art work all over the hotel. Free wi-fi! The food in the several restaurants is also very good with excellent service. The Eggs Benedict I had was probably the best ever. The only drawback is prices. The room price for our convention was not bad: $190/night for our suite, but food and services are very high: around $50 for breakfast for two, and the same for a half bottle of wine with room service. Good view of the fireworks from our room. And I had to call room service to stop the maids from bothering us, five times in two hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights in executive suite. This is really an excellent hotel. Well located. Very professional staff. Rooms are nicely decorated, and beds excellent. Service was very good. I am hard to please, please but this hotel is top notch, so I must give it 5 stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Robert -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £169 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing