We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Grand America Hotel was outstanding. We ended our vacation in SLC after spending a week in Yellowstone National Park and Grand Tetons. I am sure going from staying in cabins and the long drive to SLC made us appreciate the hotel a little but from the time we pulled up in the drive until I checked out five days later it was wonderful. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and the staff is outstanding. The first night was total leisure and we had a great time. I had meetings after the first night and the meeting accommodations and service was perfect as well. The grounds are very well manicured and beautiful. During our lunch breaks it was great to sit in the garden and return calls! So if your travels take you to SLC for pleasure or business, it is worth your while to check out the Grand America Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathe913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    209
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
212
381
50
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went to this hotel based on another persons recommendation. Had the sad luck of being there when Les Schwab, a Midwest tire place, was having there yearly " meeting", if you can call it that. I've never seen a more inappropriate and foul mouthed group. The pool, which was supposed to be family friendly was transformed into a beer guzzling, blow up ball fiasco. At one point there was 2 large blow up balls and one football being tossed around like fools. Two women with newborns were disgusted and left after their children were almost hit at high velocity. The most ridiculous part of it all is that the staff and hotel did absolutely NOTHING...............Over $300 a night for this.......???my wife and I have decided to leave early and get out of here. I'm appalled not only at the level of inappropriateness of these so called "managers" from Les Schwab but at the complete disregard for all other patrons at the hotel. This group was a bunch of hoodlums. Shame on this hotel for not governing these people better. Do yourself a favor, save your money and head somewhere else or, at the very least call and ask if they're hosting any conventions the days you'll be there. One things for sure........I won't be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgl1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Director of Guest Experience at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear rgl1100,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand. We were saddened to read about your experience and very sorry your stay was not enjoyable. We do pride ourselves in being able to accommodate the needs of all different guests with different needs. We do recognize when these needs disrespect other guests and make every attempt to ensure we rectify the situation. We would welcome the opportunity to personally discuss your stay with you. Please reach out to me directly at afitzgerald@grandamerica.com at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Annie Fitzgerald I Director of Guest Experience
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed two days at the Grand America on business in the month of June 2014.

Exterior

The hotel’s exterior is attractive and stately. The grounds are well-kept, and the vegetation is managed exquisitely providing a visual anchor for downtown Salt Lake. The hotel is tall and easy to spot from virtually anywhere in the city. The hotel features arching access routes with valet and a rotating main lobby door. Music is piped through the exterior softly, adding a layer of depth, most of which is classical, and in some respects, very Disneyesque.

Lobby

The hotel lobby gives you a sense for what the hotel is all about: you are surrounded by massive marble slabs, stunning rugs and tapestry’s, crown-molding, chandeliers, and real hand-carved wood furniture. All of this, and it is tastefully assembled.

Checking in was a most pleasant experience: the receptionists were attractive, professional, and very engaging. Though I had a little difficulty understanding my receptionist, whom spoke multiple languages no doubt, I was able to affect my business with no issue. I noted that all three front desk receptionists were well trained, delivering the same information to guests with delicate care.

From the lobby, one can access the rest of the hotel – rooms, lounge, restaurants, retail, and the quite expansive business and convention space in the back, all surrounding an amazing rather large and fancy courtyard.
There is a piano and a full-sized harp in the retreat next to the lobby bar. I even saw the harpist play the harp. When was the last time you saw a harp played in a hotel lobby?

Room

My room was on the 7th floor in the middle of the hallway, overlooking the courtyard and towards the mountains to the east. I heard no external noises (outside of the hotel) from within the room, but in full disclosure spent very little time in the room save for sleeping, showering and whatnot. Light control was very good – that is, it is sufficiently dark for those sensitive to light. The room’s temperature was regulated to my satisfaction so I never bothered hunting down the thermostat.

My room came equipped with 2 Queens. The queen beds and linen were clean and extremely comfortable.

The entire room was spotless including the bathroom, towels, and tub area. The fixtures were brass and the shower had an adjustable shower head. Lighting was perfect, and the bathroom came with a hairdryer and various other items. Conveniently, the bathroom is a multi-room layout: there is a separate sink and vanity apart from the rest of the room, nice if you have multiple people in the room preparing for the day simultaneously. The toilet is in a separate small room with a door – also very convenient. And the tub and shower are separate, and of course quite nice. Like the rest of the hotel, all marble and hand-carved wood. The water pressure was excellent, and there was never a loss of hot water.

The room is equipped with an electronic safe, a small refrigerator (stocked full of very expensive snacks) and an Iron and Ironing Board. There are multiple of accessories as well like robes, etc. There’s a TV with a remote control which I did not use.

Staff
The staff throughout the hotel was exceptionally professional, friendly and courteous. As wonderful as the hotel is, it’s the people that make the difference, and they certainly impressed me.
Retail
I didn’t shop at the various small retail shops in the hotel, but they looked very inviting, and employees of these retail shops were as pleasurable and professional as the rest of the hotel staff.

The spa had a plumbing failure during my visit, so it was closed down. It sounded quite damaging and I bet it was going to cost a lot to fix. I never planned on using it, but it looked nice through the window.


Summary

There so much to say about this hotel and so much I’m sure I’ve missed, but I think I could summarize by saying that this is a world-class hotel with world-class employees. I doubt there is a better hotel in Salt Lake, and being from Las Vegas, you’d be hard pressed to find a better hotel in my city – and that’s saying something. I was told what the company paid and the price was discounted. It was extremely competitive. I’ve paid more to stay in a hotel (Grand California Adventure) and got FAR less. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that plans to have a memorable stay in the Salt Lake area. It has amenities for the young to the old, for a large family to the lone executive. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UNLV_RUNNIN_REBELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear UNLV_RUNNIN_REBELS -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand America. We are humbled by your kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
767 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was delightfully surprised on my first trip to Salt Lake City when my cab driver took me to the hotel. My first impression is that it is very grand... lots of marble and woodwork, large pieces of furniture with oversized fresh floral arrangements, staff dressed in sharp uniforms offering their assistance. I had to wait about 10 minutes to check in to this hotel, and was very happy with the room I was given (1183). My room was huge... a foyer, a dressing room, a bathroom with a separate room for the toilet, a bedroom and a living room. There was also a tiny balcony (big enough to stand on, but not big enough for a chair) with an amazing view. My room faced east, and I greatly enjoyed watching the gorgeous sun rises each morning. From my balcony, I also had a marvelous view of the formal gardens on the ground level. Such a nice surprise.

The decor is reminiscent of something from the victorian area, but the room was well equipped with plenty of outlets and a comfortable desk chair. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed the turn-down service each night.

Our meeting was held on the main floor in the Grand Salon room... which was actually two very large room with extremely high ceilings. There were two large marble fireplaces in our room, as well as floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking yet another courtyard with easy access to step outside.

We had both breakfast and lunch in the room... the food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Just walking through the hotel, not matter if I encountered a manager or a housekeeper or a store clerk or a receptionist... every single employee would make eye contact and give a greeting. Very nice experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear breoni -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was also at the square dance convention, and was very impressed with how the convention was handled. There were tables full of gleaming pitchers of ice water in every dance hall. Brunch buffet and seated dinner banquet for approximately 800 people were handled smoothly and the food was delicious. The only glitch in the arrangements was that the convention thought they had arranged for use of the outdoor pool for an hour of dancing, but the pool management said they had not been notified. We were able to use the pool for half an hour, but not allowed to use any sound equipment.

All the hotel interiors are really beautiful and ornate, with terrific attention to detail. The carpets are especially lovely, In our room we noticed that everything else in the room was color-coordinated with the floral carpeting. Room towels were large and plentiful. Elevators were quick and soundless. The ladies' rest room near the banquet hall contained 22 individual stalls (floor to ceiling doors, marble floor and walls) , 17 mirrors and 10 chandeliers. There were chandeliers everywhere -- the hotel must employ at least one full-time chandelier cleaner. Be sure to notice the spectacular flower arrangement as you enter the hotel, and the window displays at the hotel's toy store.

We felt entirely pampered and spoiled -- it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khoffDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear khoffDenver_CO -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand America. We are humbled by your kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

By far the best hotel in the city. The hotel and rooms are decorated very well. They have spared no expense down to the details. The service is excellent from the valet to the front desks to the room service. Top notch all around. Love staying here.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California,USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We booked a junior suite with a king size bed.
Room was super clean with very nice furniture. Bathroom had marble decor an was super clean as well. Wifi ( free) was very fast and line never drop. Fitness center had state of the art machines. Service was always friendly and efficient ( less at the restaurant...). Swimming pool could have been a little bit larger ...but nothing to complain about.
Overall, very nice hotel at....decent price!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing