We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent value”
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Inn
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Brighton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent value”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Having trawled through various hotel booking sites looking for accommodation in SLC, others beat the Metropolitan in terms of price. However on further investigation they had VERY poor reviews and I felt the Metropolitan was probably an okay place to stay. It was so much better than I had expected. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was plenty big enough and very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and there was enough choice. Location was great - close to the freeway and to the city centre, easy to find and plenty of parking. The hotel has a pool, which was the deepest pool we had come across at hotels. All in all, this hotel is a good choice for somewhere to stay in SLC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmainbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    98
    49
    18
    19
See reviews for
40
74
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a very nice motel. The outside could use a little sprucing up and the continental breakfast was OK, but the rooms and accommodations are great. Very comfortable place to stay at an affordable price. Easy access to the freeways and no additional fee for parking. We were able to walk to Temple Square (a mile or two?) and the light rail is nearby as well. I liked it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and did not notice any noise. Ask for a quiet room away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here. It was was clean and in a great location, it took about 20mins to walk to the Temple. The price was low as I found a good deal on Priceline. The breakfast was ok, parking was convenient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed at the Metropolitan three times during the Outdoor Retailer shows...it's an easy walk from the convention center...it's clean and the staff is helpful. It's a bit of a no-brainer when available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowdy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Although some of the hotel looks a little dated, the room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful, which is far more important. The hotel is close to both the freeway and the city centre, yet it manages to be very quiet at night. Fairly basic breakfast but better than nothing - the cakes were good (for later!) There was also a good view of the mountains from the front.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely staff, 24 hours. Terrific location. Excellent breakfast. Easy parking. We really liked this independent hotel. The price is very good. We liked the art deco furnishings. The room was smaller than some, but very efficient. Once we figured out the screwy Salt Lake City street system, we found ourselves in a very central location. We weren't far from Temple Square, Pioneer Park area, and a short ride to "This is the Place" Heritage Park, a great attraction. The Great Salt Lake Park is nearby...and, while it wasn't inviting to take a dip in the salty lake, we did learn much about the amazing eco-system of this historic body of water.

Room Tip: Lower floors easier access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This place is great value for money!! Very friendly staff, rooms are spacious. They have a laundry facility which was handy while traveling. Free parking and free breakfast. Would definitely recommend. It's much cheaper than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Property: Metropolitan Inn
Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing