We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious and wonderful surprise in a residential area”
Review of Em's

Em's
Ranked #121 of 1,391 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Been here, near the capitol for years.
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A delicious and wonderful surprise in a residential area”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We looked this place up and just went for a quick lunch while in Salt Lake City. Food was simple, fresh and delicious! Service was so friendly and their music a rulings were right up my alley (80's alternative!). Highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank SpartanGirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good organic food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Em's location is in the residence area of Salt Lake downtown, just a few blocks from the Conventional Center. It is a charming restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamacat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I'm not sure if it's that scallops appetizer (beautiful, beautiful texture; really pleasant start to the meal), or the service--our server remembered our table three months after we'd last been in--but each time I get home from Em's I write a little review of them on their Facebook page. Since they're just slightly off the beaten path, the restaurant feels like a little secret. Elegant, intimate atmosphere, surprisingly affordable pricing--perfect venue for a romantic night out or a "show off Salt Lake" restaurant to visiting friends and family.

Best of all, Em's offers a consistent experience: amiable, professional servers; delicious, artfully presented entrees, and a growing feeling that you're among friends and living the good life. Go here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
586 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“How did I miss this little gem???”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I took my bride out for a little anniversary dinner. We had a recommendation from a friend and ended up being an amazing little place near the capital. We both went with the Ahi Tuna and had an appetizer that I would go back for every day if I could. It was the smoked salmon and crab roll appetizer. It is a very cozy little place and I am sure very busy. We had reservations and were here early for a saturday night. I would have to add this to one of my favorites in Utah.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cozy and Good”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this restaurant. It has a nice cozy atmosphere in a residential neighborhood. There are only about a dozen tables. But luckily I didn't have to wait. The service was very good (thanks Seth) and the food is delicious. I'm planning to go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedondoSurferDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Em's also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Em's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing