We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Theater”
Review of Capitol Theatre

Capitol Theatre
Ranked #41 of 151 things to do in Salt Lake City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic landmark that is home to the Ballet West, Utah Opera and Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company.
Jerome, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Capitol Theater”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family recently attended the play, "Wicked," at the Capitol theater in Salt Lake. We have gone to many plays here. The quality of the traveling troupes have generally been good.
It is an old theater and is beautiful.
The seats are pretty close together. The rest rooms are small and crowded.
There is parking close by.
When purchasing tickets online, be sure you have their actual site. There are some outside dealers who tack on huge fees for their services.
All in all, attending the Capitol Theater is a great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tonianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spamalot”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Old world decor, not too big so all seats are close enough to get a good view. The show was hilarious and very well produced. At the end there was an interactive event that had a member of the audience being invited to the stage for photos with the cast and a special commemorative prize.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alanandcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss Utah 2014”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a highlight of my year - 48 contestants vie for the title of Miss Utah. They are talented, smart and definitely beautiful girls.
This year the venue had been UPGRADED and it is even more functional and beautiful than before. New seats, a change in the pit orchestra location, and a new lobby. The change is continuing as a bigger, better Arts Center moves in next door.
Love the Venue - love the event!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“First class service from staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked to see Memphis the Musical during our stay in Salt Lake City whilst on a tour from the UK. We had booked the tickets in good faith not realising it wasn't from the theatre itself. A problem arose with the delivery and collection of the tickets at our hotel, which would have meant us most likely missing the show, if it had not been for Laura at the theatre who stepped in and helped solve the problem. We cannot thank her enough for her help, and we went onto to watch an amazing show. I hope she reads this review as we were not able to go and thank her properly as we were leaving early the next morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the ambiance”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love to go to any production since the accustics are wonderful no matter where you sit. Small, quaint. One thing, though, is go quickly at intermission to the rest rooms because the line forms fast and gets long.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank thekaysvillekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing