We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location, has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Decent Location, has seen better days”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this Red Lion after booking it on Hotwire. For $100 I can't be too terribly disappointed. The Pro's: Location is a nice breezy walk to downtown, Free Parking, Very helpful Staff, clean and Comfortable beds. Cons: Elevator sounds like it needed some serious maintanance. View, I was on the 12th Floor and had a view of not much. Windows, filthy, hadn't been washed in a looong time. I'd say anything over $85 you could do better. There's was nothing horrible about this hotel but nothing spectacular either. Just another older, highrise hotel.

Room Tip: One tower seems more renovated than the other. Ask for newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    238
    187
    139
    134
See reviews for
148
214
65
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swanland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We only spent a night in this hotel and didn't really avail ourselves of the services. That said however, we found the room clean and comfortable and had a good nights sleep. We didn't experience any problems during our stay and found the staff we spoke to helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stay in and around Salt Lake 6 times a year and wanted to try someplace different than the Hilton family of hotels that continue to raise rates. I found the Red Lion to fall above the Hampton but not as nice as the Garden Inn. I was on the 9th floor and the room was very peacful and had 2 very good nights sleep. Food options are close by and it is a nice walk to downtown shops and mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Love this hotel. I always enjoy my stay. Great location, comfortable beds, clean rooms, very accommodating staff for the most part. The only issue I had was that the young gentleman that checked me in did not recognize my membership and refused to allow me to pay cash at check in, which I have been able to do at every other Red Lion I've stayed at. Luckily a friend in my party had a credit card we could put down. What would you have done if I didn't have a credit card to put down? Cash is the most reliable form of payment...... I would like to mention though that Steve, Margie and Latiya (sp?) were very accommodating when we made our reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montoya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a shame. The Red Lion is a decent hotel in a good location with pleasant helpful staff. The bed was comfortable and the room quite well equipped and then they spoil it with a lack of attention to detail!!!!
Our room had a ripped net curtain. The blind at the end of the corridor was visibly broken and the rubbing strip at the entrance to our room was only attached at the top and came away when caught quite gently. None of these things spoiled our nights sleep or the comfort of our stay but did highlight a worrying lack of attention to detail. Ideally the hotel needs a refurbishment but failing that a change of approach is needed from those responsible for maintenance. It wouldn't take much effort to put this place right.
Other reviewers have commented about a lack of eating options in the area. Actually there is an excellent one. The Bayou is only two blocks a way. We walked and felt safe. They have a stunning range of beers and serve good, well priced cajun food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

In need of renovations.

Staff was great. Not necessarily a bad location but some sketchy folks in the parking area. Very awkward layout. If you have a few beers you might spend some time finding your room. Diner was good. Lobby Lounge feels like a hallway.

A three star. Not really worth over $50 bucks a night.

Decent.....

Room Tip: Shares a parking lot with Brewvies. Cool place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrodgerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is my second visit here at this Red Lion. They exceeded my expectations again. I absolutely love this hotel. I travel with two husky puppies which is not always easy. Everytime I turn around someone is grabbing the door for me, or saying hello. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room service is fantastic as well. I will continue to stay here when I come to visit my U of U student :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing