We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Using booking.com the Red Lion was half the price of the nearby Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inn (where we normally stay) so we thought we would try them. Excellent location a few blocks from most of downtown. The hotel has renovated a lot of the building and the room we had was one of these. Comfortable bed, high definition tv with desk and armchair/ottoman made us very comfortable. Our only negative comment is that we had a 4th floor room overlooking the nearby gas station and experienced a lot of early morning noise from delivery and other trucks. However we shall return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank WyoBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights here and it was an ok place to spend. Great location because u are right by all freeway entrances and downtown salt lake is just a few short blocks away.
Check in was hectic and the lobby is small so it sounds loud all the time. The toilet paper is like sand paper, but the rooms are fairly large. I think they are remodeling so there is the smell of new carpet and the air conditioning is set so u can't get it below 65 and I found the room super hot even though I had the door open it never really cooled down so I wouldn't want to stay in hot weather. Housekeeping does a good job, however almost everyday the cable had issues which doesn't make for a happy guest. For what I paid by booking on hotline I was satisfied.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank lori t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

the staff were all eafer to help and knowlegable about the hotel. the rooms were quiet and clean the lounge was a little small but comfy and the service was a true delight. i will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

the hotel is a little old but not bad ... lots of airline people stay here ... shuttle service to and from airport saves time and money staff really nice ..they let me stay in the room until 2;30 without charge which was perfect for what I needed . the reseraunt was good enough , a diner really the French fries were fantastic..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nivea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January, and again in April. It is in a good location and easy to get to with a GPS. The January stay was not a good as one would expect from a Red Lion Hotel. The April stay was better. The hotel is being renovated, and the construction noise and smells were not so pleasant. Two of the six elevators were out of service, and a third elevator only worked periodically. The staff was very friendly and good to work with. We ate one meal in their on-site restaurant and did not particularly care for quality of the food. There are many restaurants nearby within walking distance. We will stay there again, hopefully after the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Request a room in a wing away from the construction and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Friendly, accommodating staff. Nice remodel. Comfy beds. Great location downtown. Red's Lounge has great breakfast. DirectTV and channel options were great. I am terrible with names, but the woman who checked us in was super friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lala_Nuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve. Room was nice and clean. The event held in the hotel was lots of fun however it was not put on by the hotel. It was a great night. Our stay was almost ruined when we went to check out. We were charged a $280 fee for smoking in our room; however my wife and I have never smoked a day in our lives. We got the run around for several days before we could get the charge taken off. The hotel manager was horrible about returning phone calls. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello, and thank you for letting us know about your stay. Please accept our apology for any error on our part regarding the smoking fee. We’re happy to know that it was resolved to your satisfaction and regret any inconvenience this caused and any negligence on our part to respond quickly to your concerns. We’re also glad to hear you enjoyed the New Year’s event at the hotel and the room. We hope to see you again soon, either to ring in the new year or a weekend getaway. Best wishes to you and your family, and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#39 of 75 in Salt Lake City
374 reviews
1 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing