We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

First, the good news: they are remodeling this property, and the new rooms look amazing.

Now, the problems with this property....

Parking: this hotel offers only surface parking, and none of it is secure. It's not in the best neighborhood, so park at your own risk.

Misleading advertising: to look at the promotional pictures, you would think that this hotel has balconies. They do, but you can't use them. They're sealed off.

The website said there was a top floor restaurant with views of the city and mountains. That is long gone. The only restaurant/bar is a diner on the ground floor.

Based on the website, It was my hope to have a nice romantic dinner at the hotel, with maybe a glass of wine on the balcony of our room as the sun set. None of that was possible. Due to Utah's ridiculous liquor laws, you can't even buy a glass of wine at the bar and take it to your room, nor can you buy a bottle of wine at the corner store. You can have a bottle of wine delivered by hotel staff, at a ridiculous markup and 17% surcharge, but even I'm not that dumb.

Plus, at check-in, they charged me an extra fifteen dollars for a room with a view, even though I had already paid for a "tower" room. And the pool was closed.

All in all, I was very disappointed in this hotel. Salt Lake City is a backwater town in a backwater state, and if this is an "upscale" hotel, you might as well save your money and stay at the Motel 6 across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    234
    182
    131
    122
See reviews for
138
204
62
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My 3 children and I stayed at Red Lion in SLC for 4 days while attending a conference. Staff were very helpful, rooms were comfortable and quiet. Nice and close (1 1/2 blocks) walking distance to the train system. Ate at least 1 meal, sometimes two each day at Red's diner. Good food (large portions: my daughter and I often split one meal between us), courteous staff. By the third morning, the waitress knew what my kids wanted before they even asked. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKDkids3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Used bringfido.com to find a pet friendly hotel, as we were moving cross country with our golden retriever and cat, and needed a place to stay near Salt Lake. The hotel itself was very nice. Really friendly staff, very welcoming of my dog, even had a treat ready for him when we arrived. However, I had some serious issues with our room. Our toilet wasn't working 100% (wouldn't refill), the carpet was wet in spots when we walked in, and the room wouldn't get cold no matter how high we cranked the AC. However, Red's Diner downstairs had some good food (we ate there for dinner and breakfast) and the hotel is in a great location, just a few blocks from downtown. Great access to restaurants and coffee, was able to take the pup for a gorgeous walk in the morning. This is a high 3. For the price we paid (no pet fee), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinedale, Wyoming, Usa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Using booking.com the Red Lion was half the price of the nearby Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inn (where we normally stay) so we thought we would try them. Excellent location a few blocks from most of downtown. The hotel has renovated a lot of the building and the room we had was one of these. Comfortable bed, high definition tv with desk and armchair/ottoman made us very comfortable. Our only negative comment is that we had a 4th floor room overlooking the nearby gas station and experienced a lot of early morning noise from delivery and other trucks. However we shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank WyoBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights here and it was an ok place to spend. Great location because u are right by all freeway entrances and downtown salt lake is just a few short blocks away.
Check in was hectic and the lobby is small so it sounds loud all the time. The toilet paper is like sand paper, but the rooms are fairly large. I think they are remodeling so there is the smell of new carpet and the air conditioning is set so u can't get it below 65 and I found the room super hot even though I had the door open it never really cooled down so I wouldn't want to stay in hot weather. Housekeeping does a good job, however almost everyday the cable had issues which doesn't make for a happy guest. For what I paid by booking on hotline I was satisfied.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lori t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

the staff were all eafer to help and knowlegable about the hotel. the rooms were quiet and clean the lounge was a little small but comfy and the service was a true delight. i will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

the hotel is a little old but not bad ... lots of airline people stay here ... shuttle service to and from airport saves time and money staff really nice ..they let me stay in the room until 2;30 without charge which was perfect for what I needed . the reseraunt was good enough , a diner really the French fries were fantastic..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nivea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#25 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing