We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morrisville, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room was very nice, and the beds comfortable. However, the air conditioning was very loud. Also, the breakfast, which was included in my rate, was not worth it at all. Overall, the room was a good price and the hotel convenient (but don't choose it because of breakfast being included).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    238
    189
    140
    135
See reviews for
150
216
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel overall is very nicely decorated and clean. It is in a convenient location. Our room was newly remodeled and it was beautiful. The staff at the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. The Red's Dinner had decent food but will say I thought the food was way over priced, especially the breakfast. Joining the R&R Membership club was great to get a reduced rate. Our rate was very reasonable! I would definitely recommend Red Lion to anyone and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room was nice and the price was reasonable. But we had to wait for 30 minutes to get checked in. The majority of the time was waiting for the housekeeping staff to update the list of rooms that were available. Then when we got to our room, it was still being cleaned so we had to go back down 11 floors to get another room. Of the three elevators, only one was in service. This was very disappointing compared to other Red Lion Inns we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to be checked into a room that had not been cleaned and I apologize that you had to go back to the front desk for a different room. . We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Bargara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

clean room, great bed,good view, friendly staff, cute little diner, fridge. coffee making which is always good to boil water for a cuppa
lovely clean city. really enjoyed seeing all the mormon stuff
free tram is just 5 mins away
all good at this motel
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Rooms clean and comfortable with the usual amenities, hotel slightly out of town centre. We ate in the Red Lion Hotel Diner and was disappointed, the menu was basic and the service was poor even though there was only 6 in the diner. There was a hefty service charge and for the first time ever we did not leave a tip as the service was so slow. Desserts were all frozen and defrosted nearly in front of your eyes and heated in a microwave and tasteless.
We had 2 Salmon Salads and 2 basic sweets £55 dollars excluding drinks- it was not value for money so would suggest that you walk out to check out other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunworking53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My experience at the Red Lion was awful. I booked a stay on Priceline and was traveling with a friend. Priceline's rules state that each room you book should accommodate two adults, and when we checked in they gave us a room with one queen bed. I asked for a room with two beds and they said they were oversold by ten rooms for that type. They explained that I had a king room and that should accommodate two people, but again, the bed they gave me was a queen. Complained again and got an actual king bed in a room that was oddly shaped like a trapezoid, had the dirtiest windows I've ever seen, and found a bunch of used q-tips behind the nightstand. The place was just odd. My bedside lamp was broken and the deadbolts to our room and the adjoining room didn't work. The people working at the front desk were unhelpful, didn't orient us to the amenities at all and didn't care about our comfort or satisfaction in the least. It was clear that they were just interested in moving travelers in and out with as little effort as possible. The wifi didn't work the entire time we were there and the place was so packed with people that it felt like we were staying at a dorm. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larauva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service during your stay. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of cleanliness in your room. I would like to apologize for our staff not providing you with a warm and friendly service upon your arrival as well. Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently at the Red Lion Salt Lake Downtowner and had a great time. The rooms have recently then renovated and I found them to be very comfortable. Really appreciated having a microwave and refrigerator standard new furnishings were nice and beds were very comfortable. My kids really enjoyed the pool and spa. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank walkinabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Property: Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing