We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Annual business trip usually lands us in Downtown Salt Lake. This year we stayed at the Red Lion. It was pleasant and comfortable. The SOFT PILLOWS are my favorite. The room was a great size and the price was right. They were under construction in some parts of the hotel, specifically on our floor, which made for a noisy afternoon at times. Otherwise, a stay worth repeating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

It has everything you need and nothing you want. I stay in hotels about 90 days a year. The beds here are the softest I have experienced. If you need support for neck/back you are in for a long night. You can also hear each door in the hall as people come and go.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbnboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The red lion Salt Lake City Utah is a good stay for the price range....It is close to downtown. They have shuttle service that will take you where ever you need to.

This trip was strictly for family vacation. The check in was fast. We asked for a roll away bed and it was up to the room fast. The rooms are nice and up to date. The beds are soft and if I can get a good nights sleep anyone can. The air actually kept the room cool as needed. There is a microwave and mini fridge. Always needing to keep drinks cold for the kids this is a major plus. The balcony sliding glass door actually opens and you can stand out and view the pool below or the mountains by the great salt lake.

The pool area is nice. They have nice seating for those who just want to watch and a big pool and hot tub for those who want to get wet...

The outside noise was a little problem for my son sleeping by the sliding door/window.....but was just the normal sounds of a big city.

I will be back a recommend this to anyone traveling to SLC.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is a gem in Salt Lake city, Utah. A very reasonably priced hotel and almost in the center of the city. Staff are helpful and courteous. You are served with good breakfast, which is included in the tariff. There is a shuttle between the airport and the hotel every half hour. I even took the shuttle to Temple Square, and the driver willingly obliged.
Rooms are very spacious and clean. On one day, the room was not cleaned up - probably we stayed inside the room for a long time during the day - and when this was brought to the notice of the manager, the housekeeping was at the door within ten minutes.
This hotel is highly recommended in Salt lake city.
Ramesh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RameshMysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I read some of the reviews about the work going on, I call the hotel for myself. They were very help for, only two floors they were stil working on, and they would try not to but anyone on the floor. We were put on the towel
July 9th the place looks very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For the money, you can't beat Red Lion. They're a wonderful hotel chain that I've stayed at in many locations. The room here was nice and clean, the amenities were what I expected, and Red Lion always comes through with good food at their restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Metro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived as a tour group and wanted to check in at 4pm but were told the rooms were not ready owing to a "Miss Utah " beauty contest . it was also not possible to use the bar without also using the restaurant so if you dine outside as we were committed to, then you go thirsty or drink the hotel tap water when you get in. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but I suppose catering for one or two tour groups does stretch the resources. Overall not in the great tradition of USA hopitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. I do want to apologize for your rooms not being ready when you arrived to check in and that you received poor service in our restaurant. We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £69 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing