We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most expensive pizzas in town”
Review of Big Apple Pizzeria

Big Apple Pizzeria
Ranked #352 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the most expensive pizzas in town”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Loved the consistency flavors and atmosphere, wish it was a little less expensive i'd get more if it was.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatrickG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NY-style pizza in SLC, UT”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Originally from NY I was beyond thrilled that - while I was living in UT - I found Big Apple Pizzeria. They serve authentic NY-style pizza, no joke! It was like I had never left home. I also had their garlic pull-aparts which were just as delicious. Prices are reasonable and service is at the expected pace of a pizzeria. Please, support this business and have a slice of the best pizza in SLC!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Better than average take out”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Big Apple is convenient for us, so we order out frequently. The pizza is New York style with a good crust as long as it is not overcooked, which happens occasionally. The calzones are excellent; the eggplant version is a favorite. Remember to ask for extra marinara for the calzones, as they rarely put any in the box. The Greek salad is wonderful and comes with enough dressing for more salads later. I have eaten in a couple of times, but it is not pleasant. Very hard laminate booths, bright lighting, and a television blaring.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank echolaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Pizza at a Fantastic Price!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have been going to Big Apple Pizza for a long time. It's great food at a great price!

We especially like going for lunch. They have screaming deals! $4.95 for a slice, a drink, and a salad. Or you can also get 2 slices and a drink for $4.95! They also have a spaghetti lunch special but we've never tried it. Pizza is definitely our reason for going!

The place is family owned and run. The owner, John can be seen out chatting with his regulars as well as with new folks making them feel right at home. Try this place, you won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tuckiefried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
195 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best NY Style Pizza in Utah!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We've been enjoying Big Apple for the past 10 years. We're sad to see the Ft. Union store closing since we're about 35 min away from the Millcreek location, but we'll keep on going.

Recommendations:
Garlic Knots
Extra Large Cheese and Extra Large Ham (gotta get at least one pie too many so you have leftovers!)
Call ahead and have them making your pie while you drive in, and eat in the restaurant.

Join their email list for specials
Sign up your kids for the bday free personal pizzas.

Thanks John and crew for your hard work, your pizza is the best in the State!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Apple Pizzeria also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Big Apple Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing