We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Chinese food ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David's Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
David's Kitchen
Ranked #847 of 1,379 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
“The best Chinese food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I love this place. I recommend it to anyone who loves fresh food and understands that Chinese service is not always about making you feel all warm and gooy inside. Give them a chance and I know you will love them too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mfericks4769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Potstickers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The potstickers are the best. I like how the server just asks, "Potstickers for everyone" and brings out an order (for our table of 5 it was 3 potstickers each).

The food itself was just so-so. My moo shu pork had no flavor. My sample of a friend's general chu chicken was just OK. And the walnut shrimp that everyone raves about just looked gross to me — the sauce was very sweet and looked like snot.

I'll go back for the potsticker any time, but I may make those my meal rather than ordering an entree.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Worst Chinese Food Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I don't understand the good reviews on this site. I double-checked and it is the same place I ate at today. AWFUL! We ordered the General Chu's chicken. The chicken was weird tasting, like it was thawed out too long and had almost gone bad before it was cooked. It was awful. The Kung Pao was no better. The only thing I ate was the Lo Mein, soaked in MSG of course, even though I asked and they said it wasn't. I should've known it was gonna be bad when the food showed up a minute after ordering it. If I had wanted Chinese fast food I would've gone to Panda Express, which is fine cuisine by comparison to this joint. On top of everything the server/cook had a serious attitude problem. $30 down the drain and a stomachache later, I warn you to stay away!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merced_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

My family loves this place! The pot stickers and the walnut shrimp are to die for! My brothers will not go to Salt Lake without eating here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average, not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Average "Chinese" food. Other Chinese restaurants around may not have the location "Davids Kitchen" has, but do have better, authentic Chinese cuisine.
If your looking for authentic 'Ethnic' cuisine, try the Thai place that just opened, next door.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TWK435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Kitchen also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to David's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing