We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE says it all”

Market Street Oyster Bar
Ranked #127 of 1,493 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 54 West Market Street
Transit: Public transportation, via TRAX light rail and the Utah Transit Authority coach system, is provided into-and-out of downtown Salt Lake City, with the Gallivan Plaza Station only one-half block from The Oyster Bar's front door. Travelers should take advantage of the transit system's "Free Fare Zone" in The Oyster Bar's downtown area.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Service was good, food was average. atmosphere was by far its best point. Did say the food was average? yep, that says it all. Pricey too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've eaten here on two separate trips to SLC. It's a block and a half from the Capital theatre which makes it a good choice either before or after a show. Friends said breakfast here is excellent. Dinner was very good, but no better or worse than similar fish and steak restaurants in other cities. We have lived in Seattle so have been ruined for good fish. The fish here is prepared well, though not overly creative. That's probably just fine for most people. The chowder is quite good and the salads a stand out. Entrees are fine but priced a bit high, though this is a big city downtown restaurant. Service is brisk and efficient. We weren't rushed but even though the place wasn't full there was a feeling of wanting to turn the tables. This is a good, solid choice of a place to eat well in downtown SLC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bnneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at Market Street Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave such a nice review! If you do plan on going to the theatre or an evening event after dinner we do offer a complimentary shuttle to & from the show. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I give this place a perfect score. To "die-for" clam chowder, fresh blue point oysters for 99cents ea and a lunch crab louie out of this world. My waiter was Johnathan --his excellent service topped it all off-- It doesn't get any better....

Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at Market Street Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you John! Our Clam Chowder has been a favorite since we opened our doors over 30 years ago, and we've never changed the recipe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My colleague and I were NOT impressed with service or food here. We were here on business & wanted to try something different. We should have chose another restaurant. Our dinner took over 2 hours with drinks, apps, and entrees. We had to ask multiple times for water refills and we saw people that came in after us that were served & completed their meals before we even recieved our drinks & apps. Not impressed at all. When our food did arrive, the fish was cold, yet the mashed potatoes were piping hot...like from a microwave. We waited another 20 minutes to ger our checks after we gave our credit cards. Total waste of time & money at this place.

Thank Karissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at Market Street Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Karissa, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm terribly sorry we could not meet your expectations with the service you experienced. I've shared this with our management team so that we may improve on those things. If you happen to be in Salt Lake City again please let me know ahead of time, and I would love for you to give us another chance to make your experience a positive memorable one.

Thank you,
Steve
steve@ginc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

you would not believe it is possible to get as good sea food, so fare from the sea. But everything tasted fresh and was well prepared. The service is good, you must accept a fairly high noise level.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freshseafoodslc, Public Relations Manager at Market Street Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Peter, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave such a nice review! As you found, It is possible to get fresh seafood in a land-locked state. We like to think of the location of our restaurant as the 'middle of all oceans', most of our seafood is flown in every day. Hope to see you again soon when visiting Utah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Street Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Market Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing