We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi option for families”
Review of The Happy Sumo

The Happy Sumo
Ranked #324 of 1,390 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi option for families”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Overall, we had a really great late lunch at Happy Sumo. The service was excellent. The atmosphere is very laid back. The prices were pretty on par for what I expect for a downtown place. In my opinion, the specialty rolls have a little too much going on with too many ingredients and sauces. However, both my husband and I loved ours once we were able to decide. The thing that stood out for us was how kid friendly it was. We eat out with 2 toddlers and the Lil Sumo Bentos were the best value of any kids menu we have ever come across. The kids loved the set up of the Bento and had a great time with it. Good option for a family in the mood for sushi when you are in the Gateway area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Meadows, Idaho
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

After an 8 hour drive and checking in to our nearby hotel we were looking for something quick and close. I am not a sushi person, but love Japanese food and we were not disappointed. The service was fine and the food good. We were able to enjoy our dinner with a nice glass of wine and just unwind from the trip. This was my second experience at this restaurant and will not be my last. It is also a great place to eat before or after a movie with the theater being just up the escalator.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and light”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The sushi was great I had the spicy tuna and my wife had a california roll. We ordered the Thai stir fry and it was great. Ask for an extra side of the Thai peanut sauce because it did not come with a lot of it so it needed more for the flavor. The service was great and a decent price

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Incredible selection of sushi rolls”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located inside the Gateway Mall. Plenty of seating both tables and sushi bar. The servers were very nice and attentive. The menu was GREAT! It not only had a huge selection of rolls but it also had photos and description of every roll. Would definitely return and recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
378 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi and wonderful assortment. ”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant had an extensive sushi menu with everything from asparagus to wasabi. There was every imaginable combination of seafood and veggies and each roll was large and filling. We shared 5 different rolls each better than the next and all super fresh. Rolls were each about $14 give or take. Service was fast and excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Happy Sumo also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to The Happy Sumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing