We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour!”
Review of Mikado

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mikado
Ranked #733 of 1,394 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Restaurant details
SLC, UT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've been going to Mikado in Cottonwood Heights for almost 10 years and it is still one of my favorite sushi restaurants. The playboy roll, the red dragon and salmon crunch are my favorites, but I've never had a bad sushi roll at Mikado so I think you're safe with whatever you order. The service is a little slow, but I guess that's the cost of good sushi. I also really like the tempura vegetables and miso soup. My wife loves the ginger salad. The restaurant is never very crowded so it's nice to go on a weekend night and get right in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluebullet94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We love the bountiful location, the best service and chefs! We love the Kipy rolls, the best sushi rolls we have had.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
1 review
“Bad Bad Bad”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

There were plenty of tables and spots open at the sushi bar (room for 20+) and we walked in 20 minutes before "Happy Hour" ended. There was conveniently a 25 minute wait... Nice bait-and-switch. Food has gone downhill over the last 5 years, taste is less fresh.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Monday specials”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Sushi was good. Not bad, but maybe not the most amazing. But really the pull is the reasonable prices for the quality you get, and they do have a small flare for super spicy "challenge" rolls. They also used to have a decent selection of rolls for discount on Mondays. Not sure if that is still going on.

If you want to be a big boy or are a sucker for challenges, do the Death Roll challenge. If you're habituated to very spicy peppers, then the habenero extract they put into your tuna roll won't go over too bad. Otherwise, it's going to leave a chemical burn in your mouth that won't go away for 10-15 minutes. Good luck.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank John_Gaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average sushi / teriyaki place”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Decent food, but nothing to write home about. Left satisfied but feeling like I was looking forward to going again. When thinking of places to go have lunch with friends/colleagues, it's not on my list even though it's right across the street! Service is decent, but can be hit-or-miss.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikado also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing