We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Tabernacle Organ Recitals
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Half-hour recitals featuring the world-famous pipe organ in the Mormon Tabernacle are offered free of charge nearly every day of the year, holidays included. Performances take place Mondays through Saturdays at 12:00 noon, and Sundays at 2:00 p.m. A second performance is added on Mondays through Saturdays at 2:00 p.m. between Labor Day and Memorial Day. The doors open 10 minutes before each concert. Admission is free and open to all people of all ages. Those attending should come to door #11 on the east end of the Tabernacle, near the flagpole.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
503 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved the recital. Gave me a new appreciation of organ music. Very comfortable setting. Loved the lighting that accompanied the music.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    45
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
291 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Most fantastic sound!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have heard several great organs, but I have to rate this one the best. Just be sure to get there in time to secure a seat. When the doors close - that's it! We barely made it and so happy we did!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleepy2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must see on SLC visit”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful recital on huge historic organ. Lovely acoustics with out speakers. Recommend tour of The Salt Lake Lake Tabernacle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“See the tabernacle but stay for the organ recital”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Earlier in the day we walked temple square and went into the tabernacle. It's impressive. However, the organ recital brings it to life. The organist demonstrated the acoustics but shredding papers and dropping pins - unbelievable. It was like it was right next to us. Then the organ music started. I'm not a huge fan of organ music but WOW! It's a must do.

Helpful?
Thank BKSNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing, park city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Organist, Program, and Venue”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's free, it's world class. Go listen. It's only 30 minutes, but the program is varied and excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank colec432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tabernacle Organ Recitals also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Tabernacle Organ Recitals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing