We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AS GOOD AS IT HAS BEEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Lincoln, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“NOT AS GOOD AS IT HAS BEEN”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Service during this stay was not up to the standard I'd known in the past. It was clean and confortable however, breakfast items were missing and short of basic things like butter and fruit. Icemaker didn't work, took a week to get it changed out. Housekeeping repeatedly forgot to replace towels, soap, shampoo... The spa went out of order on the 4th day of a 2 week stay there and was never fixed. The execise room still does not have sanitizing wipes of anything to wipe the equipment down with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    219
    103
    45
    36
See reviews for
242
129
34
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackfoot, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It was a beautiful facility with efficient and pleasant staff. However, it is in a scary neighborhood where a large number of homeless people loiter and a lot of crime occurs. We felt concerned for our safety walking to nearby attractions and even hurried from our car to hotel door in the parking garage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice. I enjoyed it immensely both times. Nice rooms, with kitchenette. Hotel restaurant was a Sport Bar called Izzy and Moes, and they had HUGE TV's. I'd gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the north side. You can see the Mormon Tabernacle and see the sports complex up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMillerxpedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. I really enjoyed the hotel and the many amenities that were offered. It was down town, right near both of the malls. The only down side of the hotel was the close proximity to the park and the homeless shelters.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tornia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and located within close proximity to many things in the downtown area. Close to shopping, tourist sites, dining. The one and only downside to this hotel is it is very close to a couple of areas where the homeless hang out. We never had any trouble as we walked everywhere but I was a little uncomfortable. If my husband had not been with me, I would not have walked anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBreshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This location in Salt Lake City, I consider it my home away from home. The staff are all friendly and it is very clean from the rooms to the lobby! The continental breakfast varies every day, so you do not get bored. I was very pleased with the fast internet access. The rooms are very roomy, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

If you were blindfolded and driven to this hotel, taking the blindfold off as soon as you enter the lobby, you'd think this was a top notch hotel, which it is, once you're inside. The hotel itself is very nice, and the rooms are fantastic. Modern, clean, and plenty of room to make yourself comfortable. I can't really find any faults with the hotel, it delivered everything we wanted, and is very convenient to downtown Salt Lake City, and the airport. The problem with this hotel is the area in which it is located, as when you're driving in, you can't help but notice the very significant homeless population living across the street in the park, and walking around the streets to and from the multiple homeless shelters and missions. While they never once bothered us, and did not appear to be bothering anyone else either, I have to admit we locked the car doors while driving to and from the hotel. The free parking underneath the hotel is not monitored, and anyone can walk down there, so we felt the need to watch our backs down there, just as a precaution, necessary or not. There is no security in this hotel, and anyone can access the parking area elevator and have uninterrupted access to the entire hotel. With that many homeless people concentrated right in this area, I would have expected at least some form of deterrent. Now with all that said, all of my negative comments here are based on my perception, and like I said, even with all those concerns, not once did we have any problems whatsoever. We actually really enjoyed our stay here, and would gladly recommend this hotel to others. Just watch your back, which really is good advice at any downtown hotel in any city.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#41 of 75 in Salt Lake City
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 423 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#31 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new unique and 8-time award-winning Homewood Suites by Hilton is one of Salt Lake's newest and finest all suite hotels. We are located in the heart of the vibrant Gateway district. You are within walking distance of all of the city's finest restaurants, shops, and entertainment. In addition the hotel is situated within minutes of Salt Lake's business district, airport, and governmental offices. Make the Homewood Suites Salt Lake City Downtown your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites, Slc Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Salt Lake City
Homewood Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Downtown
Salt Lake City Hilton
Salt Lake City Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing