We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodging experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lodging experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just needed a place to crash for a night out downtown. This hotel was perfect! The room we got was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was clean and welcoming. I'm kind of a Starbucks junkie, so it was great that there was a Starbucks right next door! I was also nice that the hotel was relatively close to the Trax. I will definitely stay again when I need a place downtown. Please thank your staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time review our property. My staff and I strive to provide the best service to all of our guests and we are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you are a fan of our location and the Starbucks in the parking lot! If there is anything we could have done better during your stay, please feel free to contact me personally.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Salt Lake City area.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn SLC Downtown
marianna.gamboa@hilton.com
801-364-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    251
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
277
359
54
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randlett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

HGI is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I can't recall if the hotel has HDTV. When I want to relax I enjoy watching HDTV. What I don't appreciate is the huge hike in rates during busy times.Those of us who show our loyalty by staying at HGI should not have to pay the increased rates unless we ask for a specific room like a suite which costs a little more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ramalda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest service survey. My staff and I strive to provide the best service to all of our guests and we are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Just to clarify, the rooms are indeed equiped with HDTV. If there is anything we could have done better during your stay, please feel free to contact me personally.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Salt Lake City area.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn SLC Downtown
marianna.gamboa@hilton.com
801-364-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I went to Salt Lake City to visit a friend and were hoping to drive to Yellowstone Park (4-5 hrs) for a few days. We had a Jr Suite which was lovely. Hotel facilities were excellent with a good exercise room and a nice pool which was unfortunately having some work done on it during our stay. They had a small restaurant and bar which we enjoyed. They also had both a marvelous buffet breakfast or you could order from a menu. Easy to get to downtown SLC . Front desk staff gave us some great recommendations for sight seeing. Unfortunately Yellowstone was closed due to government shutdown so we decided to extend our stay in the area -- hotel was close to fully occupied but the staff worked with us to get us a room even though we had to move. They also accommodated an early shuttle run to the airport for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. My staff and I strive to provide the best service to all of our guests and we are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that we were able to accomodate your change in itinerary. I apologize for the pool not being available for your use, though. If there is anything we could have done better during your stay, please feel free to contact me personally.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Salt Lake City area.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn SLC Downtown
marianna.gamboa@hilton.com
801-364-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west valley, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just a getaway from the kids and this is a great place to stay. Everything was clean and the very warming environment. the staff was incredibly knowledgeable of the area and of their own hotel. Including the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased to hear that your experience here was a pleasant one. I know how important those short get-aways from the kids can be, and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and relaxing. My staff and I value the comments and suggestions of each of our guests. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything we could do to make your next stay with us even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Salt Lake City area or when you just need another night away from the kiddos.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a very good property, with comfortable rooms and quick access to local dining and attractions. The breakfast is better than most HGIs, with a short menu offered rather than the normal checklist. My wife used the exercise room and was very pleased. The staff was as competent and friendly as any I've experienced.

I wavered on 4 vs. 5 stars for 2 reasons:
1) If you get a king sized bed, they use those dial your hardness mattresses. It didn't mattered where we dialed ours, it felt like a cushion top on sand. I'd prefer a traditional mattress.
2) Rooms on the West Side have a fairly unattractive view. Given the neighborhood that's unavoidable, but if you want pleasant views out your window go for a room facing East.

They have wonderful Jacuzzi rooms available which are great for a romantic weekend. But the compromise on those is they are on the side of the hotel with the less desirable view.

Room Tip: East side for the views. Jacuzzi suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased to hear that your experience here was a pleasant one. My staff and I value the comments and suggestions of each of our guests. I apologize that you didn't find our Garden Sleep System beds desirable, but glad that everything else about the hotel made up for the discomfort. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything we could do to make your next stay with us even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Salt Lake City area.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back home from Reno. We didn't have a reservation but the front desk staff was very accommodating. They said they would give us a room on a quiet floor and it was a great room. Very clean and updated. I would stay here again when we are in salt lake.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfreeze67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased to hear that your experience here was a pleasant one. My staff and I value the comments and suggestions of each of our guests. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything we could do to make your next stay with us even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Salt Lake City area.

Sincerely,

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nv, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a medical emergency that forced us to travel from Elko, NV to Salt Lake. The patient was released at 6:00 am, I had already been up for more than 24 hours and needed some sleep before attempting the three-hour drive back to Elko. I called Hilton HHonors to see if we could get a room in the Salt Lake area and the very helpful operator I got contacted the Hilton Garden Inn and arranged for a room at short notice at a great rate due to our circumstances. The manager at the Hilton Garden Inn was also absolutely terrific and offered us the room through the night if we wanted it. The only complaint I had is that the room we were in was fairly noisy (first floor and you could hear traffic outside) and the windows needed better placement of curtains to block sunlight. I was also somewhat concerned about security in the open parking lot at the downtown location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Tj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSLC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our guest service survey. All of our staff strive to provide the best service possible to our guests and I am pleased to see that we were able to achieve this during your stay.

Thank you again for your input as it is with guest comments that we are able to better our daily operations. I apologize about the noise in the room. I hope that the rest of your stay made up for the inconvenience. If there is anything further we may assist you with or if you have any further comments, please don't hesitate to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Salt Lake City area.

Marianna Gamboa
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 250 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing