We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Salt Lake Plaza for one night for the convenience of it being across the street from Abravanel Hall. This is an older hotel without all the bells and whistles. The hot tub was unappealing and the fitness room only had 3 machines. BUT the bed was so comfortable and the room was sparkling clean. It was quiet with a great view of the city. It's a quick ride to the Gateway on the tram that stops outside of the hotel. Parking is only $5 a day. If you need a good room with a great bed I highly recommend the Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan012222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    352
    126
    27
    21
See reviews for
172
217
108
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My adult daughter and I stayed for here for 3 nights at the end of December. We called when we arrived at the airport and the shuttle was there in 20 minutes. The shuttle was also right on time to take us back to the airport and both drivers were curteous and friendly. Check in was quick and easy and we were given an upper floor room as requested. The hotel is older and there were a few minor nicks and scratches on the furniture, but overall I thought the room was clean, tasteful, and comfortably well-furnished. There was a large flat-screened TV with tons of channels, an easy-chair, an upholstered bench, and a large desk. WIFI was free and fast. There is an additional sink outside the bathroom which was convenient for two ladies sharing the room. There was also a refrigerator, coffee-maker, and a microwave. The beds were wonderful and EXTREMELY comfortable. One of the best hotel beds I have ever slept on. The room was spotless and good-sized and even thought we faced the street, very quiet. They also have a parking garage for $5.00 per day.

The only complaint I would have is the toiletries provided were not great. I would suggest bringing your own shampoo, conditioner, and soap (we didn't because we flew with a carry-on only and figured we would use what was at the hotel).

The staff and service were wonderful and friendly. They answered every question we had with a smile. I think the hotels where I live in California could learn a thing or two about customer service from the people in Utah :-)

We ate a few times at the restuarant next door and felt it was fine. The restuarant is like a very nice coffee shop and not fine dining. Every dish we had was tasty and a good-sized portion. It was also reasonably priced. You can order food to go and take it up to the room if you wish. The service was fast and friendly.

There is a nice gift shop in the lobby where you can get snacks and also a library. The lobby was very comfortable and it was wonderfully decorated for the holidays.

The hotel is located right next door to Temple Square and within walking distance of many of the city's sights. There is also a Trax station right across the street.

Next time I am in Salt Lake I will definately stay here due to the wonderful service, great location, convenient airport shuttle, convenient restaurant, and nice rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Penninsula
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel is back-to-back with the Family History LIbrary. Very convenient. However, their restaurant is a separate entity, with slow service and moderate food quality at best. It has improved over a few years ago. No alcohol on premises, but the Marriott is only a block away and has a great bar.
The parking garage adjacent to the hotel is only $5 per day for hotel residents.
Rooms are inexpensive for downtown SLC, they have some meeting rooms but not fancy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I was going to the Family History library for a few days and wanted a hotel nearby. This was the best deal and totally worth it. Very nice staff. Great location, literally across the street from Temple Square, and behind the Family History library. I was able to walk all over and felt totally safe. *Another plus is the free shuttle to/from the airport with a very nice and friendly driver**

The room I had was a King size bed, with a separate couch, table, desk. Very roomy. Another plus free wireless internet and a refrigerator and microwave. If you need to stay in downtown Salt Lake City, I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We requested an accessible room as Joanne uses a wheelchair often. The room was delightfully set up for accessibility. bar fridge, micro-wave, coffee maker, large flat panel tv, 2 queen beds and a roll in shower/washroom area that was so easy to use. Room door was standard size but washroom door was purposefully wide and everythng was accessible from the wheelchair. This is an excellent hotel, offering incredible access to the Trax system, the Salt Palace convention centre, the beautiful Temple square and it's gardens and a host of restaurants although the one in the Plaza hotel(RJ'S) is not good(low prices but the food is not good - staff is excellent though!) The shuttle driver and counter staff are very helpful and will bend over backwards to help you with car rentals, maps of the area, etc. Yes, we've been a few times already and would definitely return. The only reason we did not give them an excellent note on Sleep Quality is that like many other hotels, they"ve opted to fill half the bed with big pillows that are all way too thick to allow proper neck/head posture while sleeping. We rolled up the comforters and did fine with those in lieu of proper pillows.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ta10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We just stayed three nights. We booked for two initially and extended. The hotel is extremely well located downtown and near the temple and its attractions. The shops are a short free tram ride the other way.

We had a king room which was excellent. It was well serviced each day and the staff are excellent.

This is a good choice of hotel. However, the associated restaurant is a bit ordinary. On the last night we found Blue Lemon Cafe just up the road opposite the temple entry and it was great. Also, the cafe in the Joseph Smith Building was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

If you're in Salt Lake to do family history at the Library, I recommend staying at the Plaza Hotel. It is literally right next door to the Library and Temple Square. They have a free Airport and around town shuttle (recommend tipping) so you can save money on a car rental. They are close to some very good restaurants and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The only caution is the restaurant on site - ordered one meal, breakfast, that was expensive and not very good. But, the Radisson, Blue Lemon and Mormon restaurants were a block away and excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing