We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genealogy Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Victoria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Genealogy Trip”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel was right next door to the Family History Library and across the street from Temple square where the Mormon Tabernacle & Mormon Temple are located. This trip was with a group of people a genealogy search at the Family History library there were 31 people in our group & the hotel was great accommodating all of us.

Room Tip: I had a corner room which was large and quiet. I understand that the floors from the 10 th floor &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Pamela L,
Thank you for your comments. It's always great to hear from our genealogy guests. It makes it so convenient that we are located just steps away from the one of the largest genealogical libraries, because it gives you that much more time to be able to search for those ancestors!
You are right that our rooms 10th floor and above have been recently remodeled! I am also happy to say, that starting in April, they will begin the second stage of our remodel!
As always, we appreciate you and your kind words about our hotel. We hope to see you next time you and your group make their way to SLC!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    342
    123
    27
    20
See reviews for
167
214
106
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Plaza is literally next door to the Family History Library, across one street from Temple Square (Mormon Tabernacle, Temple, etc.) and across another street from the Salt Palace (conventions). Accommodations were great, employees were friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to and from airport (the only hotel in town that does this!). Work out room (treadmill, stationary bike, elliptical), hot tub, outdoor pool in warm weather, convenience store/gift shop, JB's restaurant (which also provides room service). If I ever visit Salt Lake City again, this will definitely be my place to stay.

Room Tip: I was on the south side, 12th floor, corner room (1219). Loved the views from the balcony! Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpokaneAngel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear SpokaneAngel1,
Thank you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy all of our amenities as well as our downtown location. I am also very pleased to hear that you had a good experience with our staff. I will definitely pass along your comments to them so that they can keep up the great work! Thank you for making the Plaza your place to stay in Salt Lake City!
We will see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Check in was a breeze and all the employees were super nice. We stayed in a room that has been renovated and it was great. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and our whole stay was quiet and cozy. The restaurant had great food and we were within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Salt Lake. I would definitely recommend staying at the Salt Lake Plaza.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 12th floor at the end of the hall and it was quiet as could be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Kelli G,
Thank you for your comments. And thank you for the recommendation!
We take pride in our hotel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room on the 12th floor.
Like you mentioned, we are within walking distance of so many different restaurants and attractions, so it makes the Plaza the place to be downtown with our central location!
We appreciate you and hope to see you next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I had two stays at the Salt Lake Plaza Hotel within two weeks recently. I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and although not a 4-star hotel it is very good. Many of the rooms have been renovated since my last stay and I must say that it is a very good update. The renovated rooms are modern in apprearance. The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and the rooms quiet. The rooms have WiFi that I found to be plenty fast and usable. You don't have to use a password to get on to the hotel WiFi.

They haven't gotten around to remodeling the lobby yet but is is functional and clean. They have two computers and a printer set up in the business center. Although they are slow, they are functional for simple tasks like printing your airline boarding passes or browsing the web.

On my next visit, there was a genealogy convention in town so all the rooms were booked but they let me have the "honeymoon" suite at the regular room price. Don't get excited, this was a 1 bedroom suite that was definitely 1970's in style. It didn't appear to be used much but it was clean. My wife and I joked that it should have an age limit for renting this room. It doesn't have a separate shower, but the shower is in the giant jacuzzi tub. Getting into the high-sided tub to take a shower is something best left to 20-somethings for the required physical agility. Hopefully this is a room that is coming up soon on their renovation list.

You can't beat the price here for a convenient downtown hotel and the location couldn't be better. Book a stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear NHDave,
Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear that you've been a frequent guest with us this past month and that you enjoyed our new renovated rooms. We are excited about the future for our hotel as they are starting the second phase of our remodel this year!
We are happy to be able to provide our guest with the best service we can and like you said, "You can't beat the price here for a convenient downtown hotel and the location couldn't be better."
We look forward to the next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our family of five spent a fantastic night here on a trip to SLC to see the Utah Jazz play. Hotel is within 5 min walk of the sports complex so you can walk to the game and leave the car parked at the hotel. (5 star plus right there!!) Beds were very comfortable and the entire stay was without a complaint. Enjoyed the fact that its literally next door to temple square and we were able to walk the 5 minutes to see the "Spoken Word" at the old tabernacle. Location is what makes this place great. Only advice I would give out. The restaurant next door (JB's) is actually quite tasty in regards to food for the price, but the service was and has always been questionable every time I've eaten there which is at least 10-12 times. Guess I'm just a sucker for a good Club sandwich and a cheap salad bar. There are several really good places to eat nearby if you don't mind a short walk. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear BrotherBoggs,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Plaza! Our location is definitely something we like to brag about being so close to nearly anything you need right here downtown, so I'm glad that this was a "5 star plus" for you. As always, if you are looking for somewhere new to try for dinner, talk with one of our bell staff or front desk crew and we can hook you up with some awesome local favorite recommendations! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town!

Kind Regards
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox, Oregon
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived by train from Chicago after midnight. We were very tired and seriously in need of sleep, so the kindness of the desk person and the speed with which he was able to process the reservation and get us on our way upstairs was very much appreciated.

The room itself was quite clean and well designed, although my wife and I really prefer to have nightstands on each side of our bed, and that wasn't available.

The view from the room was interesting and appealing, housekeeping was efficient and timely, and our overall stay was definitely very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear damand,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear our front desk staff was able to get you up to your room quickly so that you could rest in our pillow top mattress beds! They are some of the best downtown has to offer! It sounds as if you may have stayed in one of our smaller compact rooms, which would explain the one bedside table. And while these compact rooms still come with all of our standard amenities, they tend to be just a bit smaller than a regular room. Our larger rooms have the double bedside tables. Be sure to check out our newer remodeled rooms too next time you're in town. They are gorgeous and we're excited to hear feedback from our guests!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you are going to be spending a lot of time in Salt Lake at Temple Square and want a mall nearby this is the place for you. You are within walking distance to Temple Square and the
Conf.erence Center. Beautiful views, and great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 563Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear 563Sandy,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized downtown location. We're a genealogists' dream location since the family history library is right out our back door! It's the closest you can get downtown! We hope to see you again next time you're in town!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing