We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
206 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Central Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The Salt Plaza is very central to downtown Salt Lake (right across from Founder's Square, the Temple and all that), a perfectly nice hotel, and a better value than the chain hotels in the vicinity. The appointments were a little old-fashioned if you care about that, and the hallways and elevator smelled kinda funky, but all in all it was a good deal downtown.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rhopelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear rhopelain

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on-line. As you pointed out we have the perfect location in Salk Lake City. Aside from Temple Square, we are also directly across from the Convention Center and the newest shopping mall in the valley. We just finished the remodel of all the sleeping floors and rooms, hence there may be that "New Hallway" smell.
Thank you again for you kind review

Regards

Roger Vlaanderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    326
    122
    26
    20
See reviews for
159
204
101
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very good hotel. I highly recommend it. Yes, it's not luxury:) but the room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the city. Location is great. We was walking around easily. Parking lot is perfect and it has a view of the downtown as well. Price is very affordable for this kind of hotel. It's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guesssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guesssss

Thank you for taking the time to review the Plaza Hotel. We strive to be the best in customer service, and have to agree with you that it is a great location. Located directly across from historic Temple Square and the new downtown City Creek Mall as well as the convention center.

Thank you again for your review

Roger Vlaanderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a road trip. Good hotel in the center of town.Very close to all the sights especially The Temple and The Tabernacle, also close to the shopping area. Good beds and facilities. Reasonable price. Breakfast buffet good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jillip

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay online we are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. You are completely right the hotel offers the best value in the downtown area , with the best location. We are also directly in front of the light rail train system which will get you anywhere you need to go in the valley.

Thank You again for your kind review.

Roger Vlaanderen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Plaza Hotel is usually my first choice of a place to stay when I visit Salt Lake City. It is literally in the heart of the city, but you can usually find a room here for around $100 a night. It is right across the street from Temple Square and the Salt Palace Convention Center. It is well within walking distance of the Gateway Center and the City Creek Mall. It is on the same block as the LDS Church Family History Center, which is a huge draw for people interested in geneology. It is also a very short walk from the LDS Church Museum of History and Art. The staff has always treated me very well. The views are pretty great too. There are 13 floors, and you have a great look at the Salt Lake Valley from all directions. Just to the East is Temple Square, the heart and soul of the LDS (Mormon) Church. My favorite is to try and get a room on the north side. At night, the lights of the State Capital and the LDS Conference center are very nice, as they lie just at the foot of some spectacular mountain scenery. To the East, you can see the massive Wasatch Mountains that tower above the city, and to the west, you can watch the planes take off and land. Just out front of the hotel is the Trax transit light rail system. It is very easy to get anywhere in Salt Lake with Trax or with Busses. The plaza is really only about 20-30 minutes from Park City, the main ski resort of Utah. If you come to ski but don't want to pay ski resort lodging prices, I recommend the Plaza.

Room Tip: I like the view on the North Side, but the South side is good too. They have suites available too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagebrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sagebrusher


Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your repeated stays with us here at the Plaza. We couldn't agree with you more. This is by far the most convenient place to stay for any and all of your Salt Lake City visits. In addition to our location it is so convenient to have a restaurant on property that has a superb buffet daily.
We are Proud to have so many long time repeat guest like yourself.

Thank you again

Roger Vlaanderen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at the Plaza as part of a one week event with Ancestor Seekers. The hotel itself is old and somewhat out of date. The furniture in the lobby is worn and sort of sad. The walkways in front of the hotel entrance are dirty and overgrown. The restaurant is dark and gloomy. A take out cup of coffee here is twice as expensive as a cup from the lobby gift shop. The rooms however, are clean and adequate.
Housekeeping was completed early in the day. The location of the hotel is incomparable. It is next door to the LDS Family Research Library and across the street from Temple Square. The folks at the desk are very helpful, cheerful and informed. The parking garage is just steps away from the desk and only $5 a day to park. There is a very nice shopping mall across the street which I would recommend for restaurants.
On a side note, I was surprised at the number of "pan-handlers" who seemed to be everywhere.
While not at all aggressive, it was a little disconcerting. There was always one in front of the hotel.
My recommendations to management would be to get some new lobby furniture, clean the walkways in front of the hotel and trim the tree that overhangs the walkway in which it seemed a million birds were roosting at all times. Once the tree is trimmed, the walk will remain cleaner, and the flowers in the little garden below will get more sun which will help them grow.

Room Tip: You'll probably want to open the sliding door to get some fresh Utah air....choose a room on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Pamela W
Thanks for taking the time to review the Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your business! Ancestor Seekers is a wonderful time here at the Plaza Hotel. I was concerned about a few of your statements. As far as the hotel being old and somewhat out of date.....The hotel was built in 1972 . The architecture is of that time period, which also means the rooms are larger then some newer hotels, which our guests appreciate. I checked the walkways in front of the Hotel, which are concrete with flower gardens...so I do not understand what you meant by your comment. Our maintenance crew cleans this area daily, although there was some leaves from the trees. Your suggestion to trim the trees is noteworthy and I appreciate that suggestion. The restaurant offers family style dining in a casual atmosphere. I counted a total of 27 windows in the restaurant before replying to this review .As far as the lobby, here is a recent comment by another reviewer "The lobby area is lovely too ... people are always meeting up there so the nice chairs and couches are appreciated." We do agree the lobby needs to be brought up to par with the sleeping rooms. The lobby is scheduled to be remodeled...Thanks for your opinion. Please stay with us again

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was in a great location to Temple square,shopping,church museum, and even their bus line was almost out the front door. Their shuttle from the airport was also a bonus and the driver very polite and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant had a very good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price. The bed was also very comfortable. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Deborah H ,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. Location, Location, Location..

Please come stay with us again!


Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munroe Falls, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Salt Lake Plaza while attending the Stampin' Up Convention. This is the third year I've stayed there during the convention and once again I shared a room with two other ladies. The location is the BEST ... just a very short walk to the Salt Palace (SLC's convention center), City Creek, lots of restaurants, and the Trax stops right in front of the hotel!
The rooms were recently renovated ... I appreciated the new carpet and linens, but I really liked the old arrangement better where they had a bench (for seating or luggage) and an open rack for hanging clothes ... this area is now just wasted space! They bumped out a spot in the room for the new closet, well hidden behind a lovely mirror ... this takes up some space and I had to call the front desk to find where the closet was! LOL I was happy to see the rooms still have the small refrigerator and microwave and though we never watched it, the room also had a good sized flat screen TV.
Speaking of the front desk, the staff there, and throughout the hotel, have always been very helpful and kind. At peak times, they could have a few more people to speed up the check-in process, but everyone was very helpful and patient.
The lobby area is lovely too ... people are always meeting up there so the nice chairs and couches are appreciated. Plus the hotel has a computer available in the lobby for guest to print their boarding passes and there's even a scale to weigh luggage!
I will definitely stay at the Salt Lake Plaza again because the LOCATION is the BEST and the staff members have always been great too. And although the price is good, I was a bit surprised that there was a daily charge for the safe which we didn't use. The person at check-out was happy to remove this charge when I asked about it, but I'm sure many people don't bother since it isn't large (a dollar or two a day) ... this adds up when they're charging everyone this fee. Oh, but the parking is very reasonable ... only $5 per 24 hour period with in and out privileges ... very reasonable for a downtown area! :-)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have the sink outside the shower/toilet area which is very helpful when sharing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lj1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear lj1225,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Plaza Hotel.

Our customers define who we are. We will keep trying hard to offer a great value and a wonderful memorable experience for our guests.

Thanks again,

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Property: Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing