We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room, great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We just stayed three nights. We booked for two initially and extended. The hotel is extremely well located downtown and near the temple and its attractions. The shops are a short free tram ride the other way.

We had a king room which was excellent. It was well serviced each day and the staff are excellent.

This is a good choice of hotel. However, the associated restaurant is a bit ordinary. On the last night we found Blue Lemon Cafe just up the road opposite the temple entry and it was great. Also, the cafe in the Joseph Smith Building was good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

If you're in Salt Lake to do family history at the Library, I recommend staying at the Plaza Hotel. It is literally right next door to the Library and Temple Square. They have a free Airport and around town shuttle (recommend tipping) so you can save money on a car rental. They are close to some very good restaurants and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The only caution is the restaurant on site - ordered one meal, breakfast, that was expensive and not very good. But, the Radisson, Blue Lemon and Mormon restaurants were a block away and excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

IMy husband and I stayed at this hotel in September this year. Only for one night as we were touring the National Parks. The Hotel was lovely but the restaraunt that was attached to it, JB'd Family Restaraunt I think it was called was awful We ordered surf and turf. The picture on the menu was lovely but the food was awful the steak you could have soled your boots with it. I coundn't eat mine at all. My husband did manage to eat his but only just. We only ate there because it was too late to eat anywhere else and they stay open till late. Breakfast in the hotel was served there also and the buffet breakfast was not much better. Not recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This looks like an older hotel that has been completely refurbished. Large, well decorated lobby; a small reading library too and a gift shop.

Our room was large and nicely decorated. Very good for the price! The pool is very small but nicely kept and the hot tob area is very clean and great.

The on-site restaurant is not fancy but fine, esp. the salad bar; and affordable. Parking is on-site, below ground and free!

Checkin etc. was just fine. Pleasant staff. The location is right across from Temple Square, walking distance to many places downtown.

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PeterBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We spent two nights here as a side trip from Yellowstone National Park, so my mom could do some genealogy research at the Family History Library, while the rest of us (my husband, brother, and step-son) explored the area. This was the perfect location, and we were very pleased with our hotel rooms. The rooms had balconies, but you need to request that the doors be unlocked, as they are unsafe for young children otherwise. We only had a problem with a mildew odor in the bathroom of one of the four rooms that we had (room 1111), and our solution was to keep the bathroom door closed. The other three rooms were fine. Everything looked sparkling clean, so just don't know where the odor was coming from in this one room. There was a restaurant in the hotel, where we had a nice breakfast each morning. There was a $5 daily fee for parking in the adjacent parking structure. All of the staff were friendly. A light rail line is available outside the hotel, and some areas of the city are within a "free zone", accessible from the rail line at the hotel. There is information in the hotel services binder in each room that describes the transit system.

We enjoyed this hotel very much, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukn2lrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I arrived here and I had the impression to be brought back to the 50s. Everything was old-style. My room was big, but it is almost all the positive I can say about it. The furnishing was old, dirty and consumed by the time and the use. The bath was very small and I think it was in plastic, not a classical bath, which I am used to. It was also quite nosy because there was a building being built just in front of my room. Positive was the free wireless internet access and the free airport shuttle, which you have to book a day before, to be sure to have a place. However, the stuff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Salt Lake Plaza Hotel is a block away from Temple Square in downtown Salt Lake City and, thus enables easy walking access to all the interesting landmarks of the Mormon church's headquarters. Downtown is also within easy walking distance, with restaurants, shops, and elegant apartment buildings already in place and large areas still being constructed. The hotel has a shuttle for easy access to the Salt Lake Airport. The rooms are large and clean with a pool and fitness center. The price is very reasonalbe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujuBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.8 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#27 of 75 in Salt Lake City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#32 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing