We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed overnight before going up to Park City for the week. Room was clean and spacious. On site shop offers for sale food items, beverages and toiletries - very convenient. Breakfast was great in variety and taste. Although there was a pool, fitness room, etc. we did not make use of them but they looked clean and inviting. Location convenient to all areas and interstates. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    344
    92
    20
    18
See reviews for
218
280
53
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

With a four-man ski group, we were very pleased with the Cystal Inn, Downtown SLC. Proximity to the main Interstate routes to ski resorts and within walking distance (two blocks) to downtown area were very convenient. The hotel is easy in-easy out with multiple entrances and exits, parking is plentiful. The rates were reasonable and we took advantage of a Stay & Ski package that was offered. The hotel itself offered large rooms with two queen beds. Room included microfridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen tv with satelitte channels, couch, coffee table, table and two chairs. Room and all furnishing were fairly new and very clean. A double sink was located in the room and seperate from the shower/toilet room. We had no concerns with anything involved with the room itself. Beds, pillows, and linens were all very comfortable. The FREE all-you-can eat buffet breakfast exceeded expectations in quality and quantity. Buffet included various cold and a hot cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, make your own toasted breads, and baked goods. Each morning offered two egg choices, pancakes or french toast, potatoes, and bacon or sausage all which changed each day. All in all, the breakfast easily met everyone's tastes and needs. A bonus when you do not have to leave the hotel to seek breakfast. An indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, small fitness room, laundry, small lobby convenience store, and vending machines rounded out the offerings. Entrances are accessed from the outside by hotel card key only to increase security. Front desk staff will go out of their way to help you in a very friendly and courteous manner. We had alot of contact with Marie and she was awesome. Obviously, we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at the Crystal Inn Downtown and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

For a facility near downtown, this is a good value especially if you use a third party booking site. The complimentary airport and Family History Library shuttle service is convenient. It is nice to see lobby is frequented by local law enforcement keeping an eye out for trouble in the area. There's a Denny's next door and other restaurants nearby. Quite rooms.

Room Tip: On the fourth floor, there was no noticeable traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room, comfort of the beds, and the breakfast - truly a buffet and delicious. Easy access on and off the interstate made a short trip the the ski slopes. Downtown was not far away either, and we explored the Temple Square area also. Staff was friendly. Laundry cost was most reasonable I have encountered (had a surprise load we needed to do). Parking included too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013ForeverYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I checked in on January 2014. The rooms are dated. The carpet was old and looked dirty. The pillows are of poor quality. The fridge doesn't keep food cold enough to keep from getting bad. This hotel in my opinion needs to be remodeled. It reminds me of an old Shilo Inn the way the rooms are layed out. It is a good location close to downtown but there is better options.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nvdsl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was nervous when our airline provided this hotel for us when our flight was over-sold. A decade ago we often stayed in a sister property in Logan, UT, when we went back to this property last year the over-powering stench of cigarette smoke caused our daughter to have an acute asthma attack, and these were in the "no-smoking" rooms. Fortunately there was not a similar problem with this property. The air in both our room and the public areas was fine.

The shuttle picked us up at the airport in a very timely fashion, however, in spite of our pleas to wait for help, the overly-energetic driver shoved my husband's scooter into the rails in the back of the van causing a huge break in the body of the scooter. Not only was there no apology, but there was no acknowledgement of damage. This made our one night at the Crystal Inn exceptionally expensive for us.

Immediately upon checking in we made arrangements for our return to the airport the following morning. We wished to leave at 9am. In the late afternoon the front desk called and said that there was no room for us on the 9am shuttle, and we would need to leave at 8:30am. Then, near bedtime we were informed that an airline crew needed to leave at 8:30am and we would need to leave at 8:00am.

This hotel is a bit worn around the edges, but the bed was comfortable. The linens were satisfactory, and the TV was adequate. The room was good sized and the decor was not unpleasant. It was an average hotel room. With the exception of the shuttle driver, the staff of the hotel were professional, but not particularly personable. One did not get the impression that one's business was valued or appreciated, but perhaps that is because they knew we had not selected the hotel ourselves.

The hotel enjoys a fairly convenient location to the light rail system. During the afternoon we walked the three blocks to the train, and took it to the mall. As it was a Sunday there was not much open, but we enjoyed a movie and managed to get back before it became dark and overly cold.

The dining choices in the near neighborhood of the hotel are dismal. It was very cold and stormy outside, and we opted for Denny's because it was just too cold to go anywhere else. The hotel did offer a buffet breakfast, which we did not eat. It made no sense to us to get up even earlier to eat at the hotel, as we had to leave for the airport one hour ahead of our schedule.

All in all, our experience at the Crystal Inn was not terrible, but it was not spectacular either. This is not a property I would necessarily return to if I had the options normally available to me in this city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The public areas are very dirty, and i don`t know if the hotel is under renovation, because the room number and some places are new, but there are other details that are broken, without painting. The front desk is very confusing about our request as a guest, for exemple i try to get one package delivered after we checked on sups website and the front desk didn`t find it, after lot of work and they telling us that it wash`t delivered the manager fid it over the front desk table.
After my check in i didn`t like my room in the first floor, because there are a lot of noise coming from the second floor, when i came to front desk and ask for a room in the hightest floor they told me that it`ll not be possible and i will have to upgrade my room, after some conversation, they gave to me a room in the 4th floor, and there aren`t any amenity different than the other room, only the location. So i notice that there wasn`t any upgrade situation, they just want to give me a room in the 4th floor, to reserve those rooms for crew, that always came from the airport to stay for one night and need some silence. The breakfast is very good, there a lot of options of food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodrigo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Property: Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Address: 230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing