We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great- except for one big problem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, United States
1 review
“great- except for one big problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel was clean, well-located- real close to city transit train and downtown Salt Lake City- we walked to get on it. Booked the reservation well in advance and was told our reservation included breakfast buffet- but then we were turned away- spoke to front desk and they didn't believe us- not good. Pool & jacuzzi are in serious need of updating- other than that our experience was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    308
    123
    51
    28
See reviews for
268
222
55
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colo.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

As service goes, I'd stay across the street at the Sheraton before I'd go back to the Doubletree. The bed was uncomfortable, and the water pressure in the shower was dismal. Service was OK, but nothing I wouldn't expect at a Best Western or lower quality hotel.

I'll admit it didn't start well - the clerk couldn't find the reservation because he kept spelling my last name incorrectly. As a result, the guest who arrived (with no reservation) a few minutes after I did received the last two cookies. I don't really care about the cookies (my son did), but it was just one more frustration from a hotel chain from which I've come to expect more, and seem to be continually disappointed.

Walking back from dinner, I was with my teenage son and a friend who was in town on business. We were stopped twice by panhandlers (one of them quite aggressive) on the hotel property, coming out of the parking garage.

Finally, this hotel may be fine during the week with more business travelers, but the weekend it's given over to a wide variety of folks who are less than "family friendly."

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zushi, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had an unexpected one night stay in Salt Lake after an airline delay. This hotel is beautiful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Fresh cookies at check in we're fantastic, rooms were lovely and the location is excellent. We were blocks from Temple Square and the beautiful new City Creek mall. Room service was delicious and quick. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley, west sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel very late, at 0530 hrs - thanks to late arrival of amtrak (but more of that in another review). Because of our late arrival we were offered a late check out at 1400 hrs at no extra cost. We were very grateful for that. Very nice suite. Shower, bed etc all fine - no problems at all. The girl on reception answered all my questions in a very efficient manner. Location is fine - Is just a short walk to the main street. The view from the bedroom was great - mountains in the distance! My partner had breakfast which she said was fine. If you do arrive by Amtrak take a taxi to the hotel - although it isn't far - approx 5 dollars.

This was my first experience of staying at a double trees hotel - it was a good one. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willow178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Anthony, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked two rooms. Both were clean and quiet. Our grandchildren loved the pool. I loved breakfast and the warm cookies - the kind staff gave me extras. The beds are VERY comfortable - not too hard and not too soft. The location is good with convenient freeway access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rodnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here with our two grandsons. We had an enjoyable time. Everything was clean and orderly. The boys loved the pool and the cookies. Our breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff was understanding of the children's needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean and the service was good. the complementary breakfast was very good. Great value for the rate we paid. The family enjoyed the stay and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Address: 110 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City with a warm welcome, at this inviting hotel. We will even greet you with our delicious warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Ideally located in Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah, our full-service hotel is only seven miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC) and nearby many Salt Lake City attractions. Visit the Historic Temple Square or wander around the fascinating Family History Library. We are also situated nearby a Salt Lake City TRAX Station, providing easy transportation to many attractions.Choose from a delightful range of suites within this Salt Lake City hotel. Each of our stylish suites feature modern decor and are rich in comforts. Enjoy modern amenities such as LCD TVs and wireless internet access. Stay active and work out in the fitness center or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool.Choose from tempting menu creations in the hotels inviting on-site dining venue, Stephen's American Bistro Restaurant. Enjoy freshly prepared favorites ranging from colorful salads to tasty steak and chips. The hotel bar also offers a relaxing spot to unwind at the end of a busy day.Host an important meeting or special event at this downtown Salt Lake City hotel with a range of flexible meeting rooms. With 6,000sq.Ft of flexible meeting and banquet space, including the latest AV equipment, our professional staff can organize any event. Corporate guests will also appreciate our 24-hour business center with wireless internet, printing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Embassy Suites
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing