We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I come to SLC a lot because my son is a U of U student. I have always stayed at the Guest House on campus but now I travel with my dogs. So we looked for a hotel that accepted pets the Guest House does not. The Peery did just that. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Very historic. My only problem and why I rated this hotel average is because the convenience items were missing. Such as a coffee maker, microwave, or small fridge only silver tray service for breakfast...etc. The toiletries didn't match brands either which was strange. (Shampoo different brand than conditioner etc) Our experience was pleasant but slightly inconvenient at times.

Room Tip: The parlor suite was very nice. Sat on the corner of the floor. Gorgeous room very elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    161
    81
    50
    49
See reviews for
63
168
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great location, nice hall and large double beds room, but ....
The wifi in the hall is very slow, if you want it in your room you have to pay $10 per day.
The private parking lot next to the hotel will cost you $16 per day. The breakfast is not included and is only available in the room where there's only a small table.
Definitely not worthy the price we payed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Cricca72,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience.

Allow me to personally apologize for any aspect of your stay that did not exceed your expectations.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss any aspects of your stay further with you and can be contacted wpowers@peeryhotel.com

William Powers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place was okay. It is a boutique hotel, which means it is old. The first room we had was spacious and had a King bed. The windows over looked the roof and into the room across from ours. It wouldn't have been a big deal, except our pull down blinds wouldn't stay down, so there was no way to get privacy. They quickly put us in a different room. It was a lot smaller and didn't have a clock. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They offer fresh lemon water and starbucks coffee in the lobby. The bed was a memory foam mattress and dreamy. The room was clean and the linens smelled fresh not like bleach. Parking was $12/night. The location is ideal, with several local restaurants and bars in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runmommierun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Peery is a lovely small historical hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The bathtub was nice and deep. Our King bed was comfortable. They have memory foam matresses. The rooms are a little small and parking is a hassel. Also you will be charged extra to use the internet in your room. There is no charge to use it in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Peery is a gorgeous historical landmark from 1910. Great place for an "old world" experience. The room was small, and there wasn't a desk, but OMG the bed was amazing! Worth the price just for the sleep quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina7167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Location was excellent, nice and quiet. Lots of charm. It's been some time since being back in slc. The bar closed way too early. As far as location, all the good places to eat were within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawntordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We love unique properties. This one caught our fancy despite a lot of the negative reviews. A charming harming lobby is the highlight. We waited patiently as the desk clerk Garrett was texting or playing a game when we arrived at the desk. The other knucklehead at the desk, Joe, just glared at us. We waited a couple of minutes and were finally acknowledged and four of us checked into three rooms on the third floor. We were warned to take our luggage up with only one person in the elevator as the elevator had already been stuck once that day.
I took the luggage up and the other three walked. The automatic leveler on the elevator was off a couple of inches. When I returned the cart I was told "it is normal", I told them it is not. I vowed to walk up and down the the three flights.

The room--nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed and nice linens, but tiny.The bathroom tinier. Think RV or boat size. Again this is not a room for large people.

It gets better folks!..We returned from dinner at about 10.30 after parking next to the rip-off lot next door. There was a car parked against the hotel blocking a fire exit door and fire escape.
I went in and asked the desk clerks if they knew about this was told by Joe "It is perfectly OK." My answer was it is not and that I would call the police. I was told in a loud rude angry voice, "You will NOT call the police" I said excuse me and had that repeated to me even louder. I told him I was going to check and told him if the car was not moved I would call the police. It was moved.

I went back to the desk to thank the clerk and was told to "Leave the lobby, now!! as I have finally calmed Joe down and was told again "Leave!"
We went out for a walk and returned at about 11.30PM. I wanted to ask the desk clerk about AM breakfast options but skipped it since Joe was in the lobby with shirt tails out hanging out in the lobby glaring at us with hate and venom.

The next morning we walked through the adjacent parking lot to get some coffee and another car was under the fire escape and blocking the exit door. I spoke to the manager when we returned. He said he would take care of it immediately. It was there 30 minutes later when we checked out.

The air condition vents are noisy, kind of like sleeping near the airport. There was a take out bag of food with empty containers and dirt plates in the hallway for 15 hours. That's from check-in to check-out. The night blinds sort of worked, in the other room they were in tatters.
The manager Simon Pugh is an arrogant liar.

I will be posting appropriate photos to the Salt Lake City Fire Authority.

Read the other posts.. For an upscale property they got to be kidding.

Internet access $10. per day.
We were on the road for almost two weeks,WI-FI was free everywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you really want to stay here. The average size in many rooms is tiny .Many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Property: Peery Hotel
Address: 110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peery Hotel, established in 1910, is a historic landmark hotel whose architecture is rooted in the Early Prairie and classical revival styles of the time. The renovation of this Grand Dame pays homage to the many time periods during its operation, thereby creating true American Heritage style. The interiors have a "collected over time" feel with unique and unexpected art throughout. Many vintage inspired pieces are mixed with some of the original antique pieces creating a fresh historic feel that is more unique than the heavy traditional hotels of old. The hotel is inclusive and accessible to the business and vacation traveler alike. The Peery is a historic hotel with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, North America
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing