We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the ambience, not the breakfast. ”
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Grand entry way, sweeping staircases, old rickety elevator where you could turn the light off once inside (for kissing in the dark), quaint smallish rooms for snuggling, and a memory foam mattress for an outstanding night's sleep. Only a few blocks from Temple Square and downtown SLC with excellent freeway access. Only 2 drawbacks: First, there was no dedicated parking structure owned by the hotel. We had to pay a few dollars to park on the street. Second, the continental breakfast consisted of a few very small muffins, bottled juice, and cups of yogurt in a big bowl of ice. We went down the street to Little America where they have an amazing breakfast buffet. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars. Last of all, the price was RIGHT!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Steven,

Thank you for your comments. As guest satisfaction is very important to us I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel during your visit to salt lake. I appreciate your concerns on the parking. Unfortunately, like many other companies in the downtown area the parking is owned by private individuals. Please know we are always looking into new ideas to help our guest with this inconvenience. The complimentary continental breakfast is new to the hotel and all feedback regarding it is very important to us and help improve our offerings and exceed guest expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed at the Peery Hotel for 2 business trips to SLC and its been great. The beds are very comfortable and they have nice pillows, not too firm and not too soft.

There's lots of great restaurants in walking distance like Eva's Bakery and Naked Fish. I felt very safe going for morning and evening runs right from the hotel as well.

The complimentary breakfast is so-so. They should get goodies from Eva's! :-)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 340 which was big room with a large sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to salt lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

All we wanted was a good night's sleep, but that was not possible here! Our room was literally shaking from the noisy band in the bar down below. At 11pm we asked for another room, and the staff reluctantly moved us to one that was at least motionless, if not actually quiet. It is totally unacceptable for a hotel to rent rooms directly above a bar where they are hosting such a rowdy party. This hotel might be acceptable during the week, or if the bar is closed, but not at all if a band is playing. We should have listened to other TripAdvisor reviews and stayed somewhere else, but we were lured in by the "historic" claims of the Peery. Turns out it is an older building with cheap, replica furnishings, small rooms, and few of the usual amenities found in other hotels for similar prices. It was clean, but otherwise, not worth the money or the trouble.

Room Tip: Absolutely stay away from rooms 240-260, directly above the bar and overlooking the parking lot (for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMA-PDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you received during your stay. We are looking into other options for our guests during private functions. It is customary to have the attendees of the parties in the rooms directly above our restaurant space. I apologize that we booked you into a room during one of these private functions. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for three nights at either end of an RV trip through Utah. The hotel is very pretty, nice rooms with very comfy beds. It's big selling point is its location - ten mins walk to shops, near loads of nice bars and restaurants and just ten mins to the main sights and Temple Square. I'd definitely recommend as a base for visiting SLC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was looking forward to celebrating our Anniversary in this historic hotel as the online pics were fantastic. We arrived and checked into our room just fine. We've LOVE staying in older hotels and were quite pleased with the updates and decorations-beautiful sideboard in the lobby, nice furnishings all around. We chose to stay in a King suite which was nice as it faced the north side and was away from the street traffic and the noisy air conditioner unit. Was surprised as to the location of the bed and armoire/TV-every time we opened the bathroom door, it whacked up against the edge of the armoire-forget having both the bathroom door AND the armoire door open at the same time/caused some aggravation during TV watching. Problems really arose when we got home from dinner later. There was less than 1/4 of a small roll of toilet paper left and NO additional rolls were to be found. My husband went down to the front desk to get more while I stayed to take a bath. NO TUB STOPPER!! I did my best to use a plastic cup that had been left in the trash can (maids forgot it?) - no other cups to be found - and tried to use physics to keep the water from draining. Meanwhile, the front desk staff couldn't find the key (?) to get more tp, so my husband got in the car and drove FOREVER to find a store open at 11:30p to buy more. Frustrating night, to say the least. We then went down to have coffee and there were no coffee cups, only plastic water glasses (just like my new tub stopper). 2 nights, no tp/no stopper/no help...the staff was NOT helpful in our plight - finally received ONE roll of TP the second day of our stay. Called the management to explain our plight and they swore they'd comp us a free night - that was 7 months ago and not a word since. SO sad as this is a great location, a VERY comfy bed and a quaint, historic hotel-the only reason I left ANY stars. Will ONLY stay there again if it's free. They need to be reminded that they're in the "service" industry!

Room Tip: If you DO choose to risk staying here, ask for a room on the north side looking out over the back pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Drear Lauren T.,

Thank you for responding to my email request for additional information and bringing these concerns to my attention. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. I have addressed the issues with our staff to prevent this from happening again.

We look forward to your next visit.

William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Prime location one block away from Salt Lake City convention center. The building is charming but old. Room size is OK but space is poorly utilized. Bathrooms are very small. Desk space is very limited. Light complimentary breakfast in the [gorgeous] lobby every morning in a nice atmosphere with good classical music. Internet is free in the lobby and 10$/day in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South East corner are on top of a restaurant. Can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKassardjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast served in our Grand Lobby. Your feedback is very important as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A classic old hotel that has been refurbished; rooms are pleasant, not super large with a nice bathroom. When we arrived a young man was practicing on the lobby piano in preparation for a concert he was giving next door in the arts center. We were enthralled with his recital of Bach, Rachmaninof (((sp?), as were the delightful and helpful hotel staff!! The hotel staff quickly checked us in and took the car (for a very modest $10 valet fee). The hotel does not have a restaurant associated with it, but the MarketPlace Grill is just steps away, and it serves terrific seafood for dinner and fabulous eggs benedict for breakfast. This is a hotel with character and by staying there you do contribute to preserving a piece of Salt Lake history!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed one of the talented musicians performing at the Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center. Many of the musicians stay with us and are always a delight for our guests and staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Address: 110 W Broadway, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peery Hotel, established in 1910, is a historic landmark hotel whose architecture is rooted in the Early Prairie and classical revival styles of the time. The renovation of this Grand Dame pays homage to the many time periods during its operation, thereby creating true American Heritage style. The interiors have a "collected over time" feel with unique and unexpected art throughout. Many vintage inspired pieces are mixed with some of the original antique pieces creating a fresh historic feel that is more unique than the heavy traditional hotels of old. The hotel is inclusive and accessible to the business and vacation traveler alike. The Peery is a historic hotel with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, North America
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing