We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is great!”
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Place is great!”
Reviewed 6 April 2006

What a wonderful place! We stayed here based on a positive write-up in Fodor’s. Great location, beautiful lobby with starbucks coffee always available. We had a king suite and the room was very nice and huge! We only paid about a hundred bucks via their website. Marble bathroom and sink, sofa, coffee table and a work/card playing table, free coffee and water. The staff, while not numerous, bent backwards to meet all your requests. The head bellhop (Joe Ortalano) was a great source of info as to where to eat and see, and he also checked us in and took care of getting our luggage to our rooms. When we checked out, I called for my car which was valet parked. The young gal who answered was also working the desk. We took the elevator down, and the car was already there (the gal on the desk went to get the car). Like I said – the staff isn’t numerous but they went the extra mile to do what they can. I highly recommend this place. Next time instead of staying slopeside of near the mountains for skiing, we might just stay here and drive each day. It’s about 35-40 minutes to Alta/Snowbird or Solitude.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    169
    82
    52
    48
See reviews for
66
173
57
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2006

we are the best sports when it comes to travelling, so we spent valinteens day at the Peery. They lost our reservation and "upgraded" us to a very chilly room. There is no room service so we got take out at one of the restaurants in the building. At 4:30 am their garbage collection service started banging on the building, we had to laugh. Not much sleep here. Get a room with a street view and make sure your reservations are in order.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank earing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2006

The historical Peery is not for everybody. If you prefer large chain hotels with standard rooms and ammenities, try elsewhere. The Peery is a boutique hotel, and although some of the rooms are small, they have great character. I'm not sure the exact age of the building, but it has been really well maintained and is by far the most unique hotel in downtown SLC. Staff is incredibly nice and very helpful. One drawback for me -- lousy buffet breakfast. Otherwise, I'd have rated it higher.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wandering-scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2005

My husband and I just returned from a business trip in SLC. We stayed at the Peery for one night, and I am so glad to be back. The city itself is undoubtly gorgeous, but the hotel, which is quite misleading from its lobby has some of the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Our room was basically 10X10, (not exaggerating in any way)..the bathroom is directly infront of the bed and the sink does not even fit in the bathroom, so it is placed next to the bed. The rooms are fairly old and not up to par like other hotels rooms (i.e. Marriott..). It was very hard not to feel clausterphobic. If you must stay here, choose a room with a king bed, not a queen, unless youre traveling alone. The location is great, but there is a Marriott just around the corner that looked a lot nicer, (I find that Marriott's are pretty reliable hotels). I hope this helped.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suzan_michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2005

Hotel is good, but rooms are very small. I asked for a larger room and was given handicapped room, the only larger room in hotel, I was told.
Buffet breafast was reasonably priced and plentiful, but I would have preferred an a la carte menu. Rooms are very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

The Peery Hotel is the find of the year as far as I'm concerned. It beats any of the other so-called first-class hotels I've stayed in. The service was uncompromisingly friendly and helpful. The accomodations were superb down to the last detail. The views from second or third floor rooms of the mountains and city were spectacular. This is an historic hotel in a location that can't be beat in Salt Lake City. It's walking distance to any number of great restaurants, as well as a wondeful restaurant called Christopher's just off the lobby. The lobby itself is somewhere you'll want to sit in and just relax. Other niceties: free high speed internet at the business center, Starbucks stations on each floor in the morning, classical music in the lobby. Reasonable self-serve parking just steps away from the front door -- or valet if you prefer. If you like old-style elegance this is the best buy around!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

The hotel is amazing. It is like entering a time machine (built in 1910 and still looks perfect). The entire staff were great. The room was beautiful and comfortable.

The cons were minor, but here they are: you could park cheaper across the street ($5/day vs. $9/day at the hotel). Standard single bed rooms are small.

Our experience was wonderful and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Property: Peery Hotel
Address: 110 W Broadway, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peery Hotel, established in 1910, is a historic landmark hotel whose architecture is rooted in the Early Prairie and classical revival styles of the time. The renovation of this Grand Dame pays homage to the many time periods during its operation, thereby creating true American Heritage style. The interiors have a "collected over time" feel with unique and unexpected art throughout. Many vintage inspired pieces are mixed with some of the original antique pieces creating a fresh historic feel that is more unique than the heavy traditional hotels of old. The hotel is inclusive and accessible to the business and vacation traveler alike. The Peery is a historic hotel with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, North America
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing