We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifties' motel”
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Garden Inn
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fifties' motel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This inn is probably owned by Comfort Inn but not up to their standards. A fifties’ type design. Clean and comfortable with space for two queen beds. Staff anxious to please and respond almost immediately to a request. Typical continental breakfast but slow to replenish offerings. Rate attractive for late September but some other more upscale motels offer similar prices. Walkable distance to all major attractions downtown. Free shuttle from and to airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    40
    80
    65
    122
See reviews for
66
81
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is gross and disgusting. Very dirty, entries to buildings have never been cleaned cement was dirty never seen a power wash or mop. All the rugs in the halls and rooms very dirty and sticky. Furniture dirty. Thought i was in Tijuana Room service started banging on door at 8am to clean came back several times until I had to yell at them to leave me alone until checkout. What a rip off the place needs a total over haul and new management.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am no cleanliness dramatic, however this place was really bad. Smoke smell all around (in a non-smoking room), stains all over the carpets and walls, including the bathroom (housekeeping really does not recognize red blood spots on the white toilet here). Very messy around the rooms (glass, paper, cans, ...). Would never dare to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakub_Kintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here over the weekend while we were in town for a concert. We were looking for a cheap place to lay our heads and shower before driving home the day after the show. This place was perfect! I'm surprised it's gotten so many horrible reviews. Our room was perfectly clean and served it's purpose. Our towels were brand new! The gal at the front desk was so awesome and nice.
Yes it's true as one upset reviewer said, there aren't a lot of channels on the TV. OMG! Whatever... Don't stay here if you are looking to hunker down and be entertained in your room...
The location to downtown is incredible and the value you get for what you pay is more than satisfactory. I'd stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle building... That's where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myndi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here one night on our way from South Dakota to Arizona, and picked it pretty much for being one of the cheapest downtown options. We ended up enjoying a decent night's rest, a good clean shower, and a par-for-the-course breakfast (compared to similarly priced motels/inns/hotels), and I can't complain about the service as they were friendly and helpful. Being able to park our car just in front of our room was nice too, and the hotel property seemed quite nice (though some parts could use some maintenance). It's certainly a plus to be a stone's throw from the tourist hotspots downtown, so all in all I can't say there was anything wrong with the Royal Garden Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOACeulemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood Valley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I don't want to sound like an over dramatic princess but this was honestly the worst place my family and I have ever stayed in. The room was filthy. Stains on the carpet, stains on the furniture, ripped stained mattresses. Broken glass in the pictures on the walls. Make up stains smeared on the walls, wall paper peeling, holes in the walls, black stains on the tub and toilet. The tub faucet was broken and the bottom of the tub was smeared with black grime. It makes me sick to my stomach just to think about it. It was horrible. The service was awful the breakfast was uneatable. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked and paid for a room for my husband to stay in Salt Lake city as he had a 8 hour lay over at the airport. Since it was less than 24 hours I made the reservation under Expedia as usual, made sure the confirmation went through and sent him email confirmation with the reference number. When he arrived at 1am (after a 15 hour flight) he was not given a room even thought he showed the email, refused to speak to a manager and charged for the shuttle to bring him back to the airport!
These people have no idea of how to treat a costumer. By that time was too late to look for another hotel and ended up sleeping in an airport chair for 4 hours.
I called Expedia and they apologies and sent me a voucher but the hotel Royal Garden Inn refused to give the money back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Property: Royal Garden Inn
Address: 154 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing