We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was at the Salt Lake City Hilton on Temple Street. Price was high $250) a night. However, they gave me nothing but 4 walls and a bed. Water was in fridge but there was a $3 charge. Internet was $9.95 a day. Even worse, the internet is slow and kept disconnecting. Reviews of this hotel have shown that this is a long-term problem that management is unable or unwilling to fix. Restaurant food is a rip off. A continental breakfast was $18 plus tip and tax. A steak was $45 for an 8 oz steak. Give me a break. Stay away from this hotel. Take the Marriott anytime over this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sanford C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sanford C B.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments in your post. We are in the process of upgrading our wifi / internet speed in the hotel. We anticipate having the upgrade completed by the end of August. This will greatly enhance the speed and connectivity for our guests. We appreciate you feedback with regards to our food and beverage pricing as well. It's important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback to make sure we understand the value of our products in the market place.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I love this hotel! It was so nice and very clean! Elevators were quick considering how many of us were there! Pool was beautiful and the pool balcony was a perfect spot to get away and enjoy some peace and quiet in the sun! Only complaint was the Wifi. It was terrible!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed on a top floor, what a beautiful room and what a fantastic comfortable bed! Upscale decoration, well functioning bathroom with luxury amenities. No sound from other guests. Definitely worth the money. We parked our car in the garage beneath the hotel, very convenient. Walking distance to the Mormon complex, State Capitol and the lovely City Creek Shopping Center. We felt sorry we only stayed here for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at the hotel on other occasions and found it to be lovely. The beds are great, AC works well, staff friendly enough. My problem comes with the wifi. I read all of the negative reviews before booking this hotel again. My company pays for all at our meeting to have internet access in our rooms so I didn't worry about the negative reviews. Well, if given the option next year I will not choose the Hilton. The wifi was spotty at best. I have stayed at the "step sister" Hampton Inns all over the country. Those hotels include wifi and breakfast in the cost of the room. I would think that Hilton could get this right.

Room Tip: Choose top floor on west side of hotel for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sljtba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Salt Lake City Hilton hotel was the perfect place to stay while visiting the area. The Hilton is centrally located, and provides a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere, with exceptional cleanliness and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is a typical Hilton. The accommodations were above average, but not exceptional. There was a lot to do on my trip and there was nothing special that made me stay in the hotel. There were a few issue with the hotel as well.
The furnishings had several blemishes. The desk, night stand and bathroom vanity all had major scuffs and dents in them. That didn't bother me really. Two other things did.
The in-room coffee maker was not clean. When I opened the top to pour in water, there was build up on the inside. I left it open, hoping that housekeeping would notice it, but they did not. There is a Starbucks down stairs.
Also, the elevators were SUPER slow. many times, it seemed like only one was running. I was on the 10th floor and on two occasions decided to take the stairs.
The hotel is ideal for events at the Salt Palace and is in walking distance to several bars, restaurants and other locations.
The one HIGHLIGHT was that the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We had a question for the concierge, but they had left for the day. The bell hop was taking a question from another guest, so one of the valets came in and answered our question.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfraga212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel is ideally situated, couple of blocks from the lovely Temple Square and Beehive House, City Creek Shopping Centre, round the corner of the Capitol Theatre and is well placed for a variety of restaurants. The Capitol is within walking distance (some of it is an uphill climb). Our room was large, well appointed and very comfortable, and the hotel itself is spacious and modern. The staff were pleasant and helpful, especially when we had a problem trying to check in online for our flight home.

Wifi is free in the lobby area, or can be purchased with a breakfast package to enable you to have it in your room. Our first night was part of a tour we had just completed where breakfast was included, and as breakfast was plentiful with a variety of things to choose from, we decided to purchase the wifi and breakfast package.

We thoroughly enjoyed and 2 night stay in Salt Lake City. If you are there on a Thursday, you may be lucky enough to listen to the Tabernacle Choir rehearsing, we saw them in the cavernous Conference Centre, also within walking distance of the hotel. Would thoroughly recommend staying at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#28 of 76 in Salt Lake City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 76 in Salt Lake City
1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 76 in Salt Lake City
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Salt Lake City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Address: 255 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £100 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Salt Lake City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with spacious rooms and an indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Salt Lake City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Salt Lake City Center North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing