We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Logan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Pay so much for so little. Small room, parking is extra, internet is extra. Poor cleaning job. My sister found black hairs on the bathroom floor. AC didn't work properly, so I woke up in a sweat and couldn't get it any cooler.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ryan T,
I apologize to you for the poor experience at our hotel on your recent visit. Ryan, can you email me with some specific information regarding your recent visit (dates, and your room number) and I will respond so we can regain your trust and confidence in the Hilton Salt lake City Center.

Sincerely,
Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Jeff.Protzman@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    483
    197
    80
    30
See reviews for
187
275
93
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton and enjoyed my stay the rooms were very clean and the staff was very nice. The indoor pool was good from what my business associates said and I would stay there again. The bellhops were nice especially the older gentleman working the front door.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deltabluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were kept up all night by a thundering a/c unit, which was also inefficient. Phone call to front desk was futile, promise of call from a/c engineer never kept. No call; no sleep!!!! Would not stay at this Hilton in Salt Lake, other locations maybe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear William M,
Thank you for your posting, and recent visit to our hotel. I apologize to you for the poor experience at our hotel. I have taken action to address the air conditioning problem in the guest room you occupied. I have also sent you a personal email today with detailed information on how we will work to regain your confidence and trust with the Hilton Salt lake City Center.

Sincerely,
Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't believe we ,got such a great deal on this hotel! Booked on the Hilton website--purchased the package that included Internet and parking. We were on a road trip and only needed the hotel room for one night--4th of July.

Upon check-in, were told they upgraded us to a pure room on a higher floor. The room was incredibly clean and offered a great view of the city. We were able to watch several fireworks shows from our room!

This downtown-located hotel is near several bars and restaurants, all within walking distance. It's also very close to the convention center.

We had a problem with a clogged toilet. They sent maintenance immediately to address the issue. We really appreciated that!

Overall, quite pleased with the stay and would definitely book it again if back in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RCWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just arrived here after long days travel. Got 15 year old scrubbed up and proceeded downstairs to find somewhere we could sit and have a game of cards and snack. No casual restaurant. Dark dingy looking expensive steak house and can't sit and have drink in there with 15 year old but can't take drinks out into lobby area ("no open drinks"). When I asked what we were supposed to do one member of staff suggested I buy a can from the gift shop and sit with that whilst another (Scott Lee who had assured me I could get a drink at restaurant and sit in lobby with it) rolled his eyes about me to another guest. Welcome to Salt Lake City!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LornaT350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear LomaT350,
I have reviewed the circumstances that you describe with Scott Lee, our Front Office Supervisor. He does remember the conversation about looking for a place ot play cards and have some snacks, he did not understand that your daughter age 15 would accompany you to the bar area. I apologize to you for the poor impression we left you with due to this interaction and confusion.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a luxury hotel you would expect the service to be good. My room smelled and they came in and tried to fix it with an ionizer and I stayed. What made me angry was I had ordered a wooden box at the conference and that was stolen by the maid Rita. I had to go and order another one. I was also angry about the concierge. One young man got me a cab and did an excellent one. Another man recommended I walk from the hotel in 88 degree heat to a nearby museum He should have told me to walk up to the mall where the train station is and I could have taken it to courthouse to see the exhibit and back to the mall since I had to stop at apple store. it would have saved me minor heat stroke when I was tired from jet lag and not sleeping and got sores from getting lost and walking in the heat. The other thing i noticed is the concierge gives out recommendations for restaurants with his name on it so I thought he might have a kickback with the restaurant. The same guy told me I would have to ship by ups or fedex from the hotel when the US post office was only 2.5 blocks away. I got so I used the concierge at the Shilo inn nearby or the visitor center at the convention center rather than use the hotel concierge.
Other than that there is a pool. The room is nice with a mini fridge and nice chair table to sit at as well as a desk and 2 beds. The room was nice. The service was poor. I took a paid shuttle from the airport rather than take the train. The maids change every day so you won't have the same maid twice. it's clean no bugs, nice bath. good location near the convention center. The rate was high due to the convention. An older hilton but wasn't bad except the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiles030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Smiles030,
I have reviewed your comments posted from your visit to our hotel. I apologize to you that our Concierge was not more helpful. In regard to our housekeeper Rita, she has been employed here for over 20 years, and is a trustworthy team member. I had it hard to believe that she would risk her job by taking one of your personal items. She has serviced thousands of guest rooms with easy access to personal items, jewerly, cash and other valuables and I have never in 20 years had anyone question her integrity or her honesty. I don't think she took the box.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here just for a night to rest, traveled from Las Vegas to Washington state. I can see this hotel is dated. Hotel was so busy at the time of our visit, there's a lot of guest due to a conference going on. They need to label which elevator is going to higher floors. Room is a good size. Dated furnitures in room. Huge bathroom but noticed counters are very dusty, we had no time to complain because we were just tired and wanted to rest for the night. Small tub. Good small size fridge, had 1 bottle of water inside for a fee. Noticed left-over foods inside the fridge, i guess it's from the previous guest before us, which i found very nasty. They need to work with their housekeeping. Very disappointing since this is Hilton. Had to pay 4.99 for wifi, which is spotty sometimes. Had to pay $18 for valet parking. Valet people are very courteous. Will try other hotel in the area if we'll visit Salt Lake City again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#26 of 75 in Salt Lake City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Salt Lake City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Property: Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Address: 255 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Salt Lake City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with spacious rooms and an indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Salt Lake City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Salt Lake City Center North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing