We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
pennstatekelly
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel and fantastic location!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Great, helpful staff! You can get anywhere in the city from this location. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennstatekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    269
    108
    34
    11
See reviews for
100
99
32
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have stayed here several times for work. The service is wonderful and it had been updated since my last visit. Check-in is quick and efficient, the rooms are decent size and clean. Valet was very quick getting your car.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Of all the hotels in Salt Lake City in which we've stayed, this Marriott Hotel (now called Marriott at City Creek) is simply the best. It is ground zero to Salt Lake Temple Square and the new City Creek Center mall (the hotel is attached to Nordstrom). The hotel feels like coming home every single time we stay here, and the staff is courteous, helpful, and is attentive to your every need. Rooms are large, clean, and well-maintained. Given how long this Marriott has been here, it is a testament to the quality of the hotel and staff; it is booked full more than it is not. Thank you Marriott City Creek for never disappointing us.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Temple Square. It doesn't get any more beautiful than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antimony, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed Saturday night for our anniversary and loved, loved the location. Being right next door to the new City Creek Center is certainly a plus. What a jewel for Salt Lake City. Upon arriving we were quickly greeted by a member of the valet staff with a warm friendly smile and welcome, easily moving into the nice lobby for a quick check-in. There was a convention (this Marriott is right across the street from the SLC Convention Center) so we had a wait to get up to the 14th floor. Corridors were nice and clean as are the rooms. Our room, with a king bed, was spacious and clean with an awesome view out of the floor to ceiling windows of the SLC valley, looking south. Room was updated and showed no wear. Bed, like most Marriotts was super comfortable with comfortable linens.

The bathroom, although clean has had a lot of use. The towels were coarse feeling and not very comfortable...seemed cheap. The water controller in the shower was loose and moved around when operating it. There MUST be mold in those walls. However, always nice to have Bath and Body Works toiletries provided.

Room was really quiet with minimal noise from the hallway. It was really a nice night away, I would certainly stay again and I feel anyone would enjoy their stay.

One of the best features is this hotel being in the heart of downtown. So many incredible options to eat and within a simple and relaxing stroll. People watch and shop in City Creek and do not miss walking Main Street.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teek4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I had the pleasure of a club room on the high floor with access to concierge lounge. The room had a balcony (only the club rooms have balcony) facing east with a wonderful view of the mountains and the city. The room was very spacious, bed was comfortable, and the balcony had chairs and table for sitting outside. The food in the lounge is of high quality - not a big variety but a few hot snacks/dishes and a lovely cake for desert. The lounge is as always a very good place to relax and e.g. check your emails in a quiet atmosphere. If you wan't a wider variery of coffee/cakes, Starbucks is located in the lobby. Furthermore, you can't beat the location. Right in the center next to Temple square and next to the brand new shopping mall with Macy's, Nordstrom etc and a good food hall. You don't need a car to get around from here. Hotel front staff was smiling, helpful and very welcoming and made me feel like they actually cared dearly about their guests, which is not always the impression you get when arriving at a big chain hotel. I tried also tried the breakfast restaurant "Elevations" in the lobby area. The best breakfast I had in US and in a long time. The eggs were made to order, bread and fruit were of high quality and had everything else you would want in the morning. Service impeccable. Simply the best! Also very convenient there is a Hertz office at hotel that made it very easy for me to drop off my rental car. All in all a perfect experience. I would definitely go back to this hotel again when in Salt Lake City whether for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyride007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Salt Lake. One block from temple square, salt palace, and dont forget the fabulous new City Creek Mall right next door. The staff are always very friendly and knowledgeable and willing to help. A few things you should know, Internet in the rooms will cost you $12.95 per day (normal in higher-end corporate owned hotels) unless you are on a company rate that includes it, or your are a Marriott Gold or Platinum member. Also this hotel does not own their parking garage, so parking is $12 per day which is the norm in Salt Lake. The City Center Marriott and also the Hilton charge for parking. Its a city people! It costs money to park a car where there is limited space! Other than that, the beds are extremely comfortable and rooms are average size. The bathrooms are a little small, but very luxurious with granite counter tops. Most of their rooms have fridges, and YOU CAN CALL THE FRONT DESK TO REQUEST A FRIDGE! They will bring one up to your room for no additional cost. The pool is a good size, the roof opens up when the weather is nice. They also have a hot tub and dry sauna in the locker rooms which are very nice. Also breakfast is not included, but the buffet in the morning for $17 in the restaurant is very delicious and well worth it. I have stayed at several hotels in downtown SLC and this is by far my favorite. You wont be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Request a fridge when you check in if needed, and ask for a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida (home of the Gators!)
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It pains me to write such a negative review on my favorite chain of hotels, but the truth is (in my opinion), you would do much better staying elsewhere.

First, they charge $12.95 for 24 hours of internet use. That is "per connection" not per device!!! Granted, if you're a gold rewards member you get it for free. During check in, I told "Brian R." that I would be a Marriott gold within the next 30 days. Didn't make a difference to him. No leniency, $12.95 a day. Of course I was here on business, with employees, thus had TWO rooms... that get's very expensive for something that in this day and age, should be free. Oh, and their suggested solution? "We have free internet in the lobby" - incredible!

The room was clean, spacious and well equipped though the carpet was old and appeared dirty (I wore socks at all times, my own barometer). The room had a bottle of "VIP Water" which looked almost identical to the single FREE bottle many hotels give you upon check in - surprise, it was not free ($3.50). No refrigerator or free breakfast, like most Marriott hotels. The AC was loud. Valet parking was $18 a day. In their defense, the valet guys were nice and did a nice job of handling our team.

Caleb asked me at checkout how my stay was. I told him I was not happy and certainly would not be staying at this hotel again. The service, the expense and the attitude the main reasons. Though he was apologetic, he offered no assistance, nor did either of the other two at the counter listening to me. What I was hoping, and expected, was to hear someone say, "I apologize for the problems, let me get a manager for you to discuss this with". I wasn't looking for a discount, just someone in management to listen to my concerns. An upset rewards member, only 8 stays away from 50 nights (in the first five months of 2012), should not have to "ask". Nor should I have to pay for internet, again, in my opinion.

In closing of the longest review I have ever written... though I love the Marriott chain, adore Salt Lake City, until they make some changes, I would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johndfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Property: Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Address: 75 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1590
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing