We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room was comfortable but nothing fancy. The grounds around the hotel were very tired and needed updating. Front desk staff were efficient and check in went very smooth. Access from the parking garage was limited as a set of direct stairs were blocked off and it did not appear there would be any effort to repair. One of the elevator was also out of order during our stay. Appears the property was recently sold.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I was happy to read that you had a comfortable stay. I was also happy to read that our front desk was efficient in your check in. We strive for good customer service, and I am happy that it seems our desk staff made a good impression.

You are completely right, this property been sold. Our new owners agree that we are bit dated, which is why we are currently undergoing a full remodel of the property. Once this remodel is complete, we will have a property that will be modern and up to date.

This, unfortunately, can cause some limitations with our parking, which is why we have those stairs taped up for the time being. The construction crew is using the top floor of the parking garage, so that area has been blocked off for guest safety. Once our hotel is fully updated, our parking should not be as problematic.

We would love for you to stay with us again, especially once we are remodeled. We hope that we can make your next reunion trip a pleasant and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

July 16 - 19, 2014 -Terrible Mildew in the bath tub, AC would never shut off, elevators seldom worked and when they did work the floor you selected was not the floor the door would open up to. Broken coffee maker, paper thin towels that were shredded on all sides. I was quoted $129.00 a night but was charged $169.00 a night. The manager did correct this after several phone calls. Would I stay here again? NO!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillybeanfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I was sorry to read about how poorly your stay went in your review. We do want our guests to have the very best experience they can at our hotel, especially during conventions. The lapses in the room have been reported to the respective department heads, and action has been taken to fix the problems for future guests.

One of the reasons we are currently undergoing a full remodel is to update our facilities, which will better accommodate our guests. We are excited to say that the hotel will be completely new, which includes everything from the A/C to the Bathrooms, the coffeemakers to the elevators.

I apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the rates. Although we did offer a discounted group rate of $129.00 based on 1-2 adults in each room, additional person fees were specified in our group agreement. I am glad that our manager was able to resolve the situation for you, and try and make up for what went wrong.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again, especially for next years convention, when we will be fully remolded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We called them on the phone to make a reservation. The staff went out of their way to make our reservation and check in easy and they were very accommodating. The hotel is going through renovations so some of the floors are closed. The lobby was ok. Our room had not been updated yet. We had a ceiling tile that was up a little bit and we called the desk and someone came up within a few minutes to fix it. The room was quite. We didn't hear any hall noise or from the surrounding rooms. We parked in the lot next to the hotel so we didn't have far to walk. I think this will be a great hotel once it is remodeled. Enjoyed the breakfast options.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tlroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I am happy to hear that your stay went so well.

Our front desk is trained to provide the best experience they can for our guests. From the review it sounds like they succeeded in making your stay a good one.

I can't agree with you more about the remodel. I hope that you will come see the hotel once it is done, as I am sure that you would enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a nightmare! First of all the parking there made me pray to god a superhero was going to appear around the corner to escort me to the hotel. Once inside I felt like the lobby was a little dated like the 40's.
The room was okay until I looked in the sink and noticed several hairs. The decorative pillow had some kind of stain that I'm sure would glow under a blue light.
The straight up at 7:00AM the drilling began. When I called and asked what the hell was going on they said they had signs up informing everyone that they are under construction from 7 to 7.
Really??? You couldn't tell me this as I was checking in?

Ya avoid this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback, as any information we gather helps us to improve our guest experience.

I was upset at hearing about your room's condition, as it was not up to our own standards. I will be making the housekeeping supervisors aware of your experience.

We do apologize for the parking inconvenience. As you yourself noted, our hotel lobby is out of date. In fact, we would say that the hotel, at the moment, is out of date. That is why we are excited about the new renovations going on right now. We will be changing the entirety of the hotel from our current out of date model, into a new modern product. The unfortunate side effects of this remodeling are the diminishing of our parking stalls, and the noise that can be created by the construction.

We do try to make all of our guests aware of our construction, as we want every guest who stays here to have the most enjoyable time that they can. We will redouble our efforts to make sure everyone knows about the construction times and procedures.

We hope you will reconsider staying with us when we are fully remolded and reopen as a Holiday Inn Express. We would love to try and make a better impression, especially once our construction is complete.

Michael Howe
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I only stayed one night here but the staff were friendly and helpful, My room was a decent size but what I did like about this hotel is there 24 hour gym and pool area I made good use of there gym after arriving late in the afternoon and after finding a place to eat and a bit of sightseeing !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller69692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay last September! We are pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful. We are glad to hear you took advantage of our 24 hour gym and indoor pool area.

Our hotel is in the process of renovating our guestrooms & public spaces. Later this year we will be doing a complete renovation of our fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Upon completion, we will officially become a Holiday Inn Express.

We hope you will return to our hotel to check our our Holiday Inn Express next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really weird experience. I had reservations for a five night stay and after the first night I had personal reservations about ever staying here again. I will not. The room looked decent and the desk staff was pleasant but that's where the fun ended. While the beds were comfortable I quickly became concerned about housekeeping. After our first night we made ourselves comfortable and went sightseeing in the morning. When we returned to our room we found our personal health and beauty items were missing. Shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, hair clips and bobby pins, everything personal my daughter and I had brought, $50 worth of personal products. I immediately reported this to the front desk and came away very unsatisfied. I reported it again to another person at the desk and they seemed unaware and unconcerned. I asked for a call from the manager and never received so much as a peep from anyone, no apology, no explanation, nothing.
As they supposedly try to conserve resources at this establishment they ask that you reuse towels but if you want new ones you are to place them on the floor. Second night the towels and wash clothes I had place on the floor were back on the side of the tub...hung out to dry..after they had been on the floor. Gross. Third day we slept in and told housekeeping that that room was now empty at about 10:30am. They were still working the floor but when we came back that night our beds were not made and no other housekeeping chores had been attended to.
More> Construction workers and housekeeping use the guest elevators. One housekeeping guy didn't even roll the extension cord up on the vacuum and let the cord trail behind him while he was talking on his cell phone headset very loudly in a private conversation while the elevator was full of guests. An unprofessional slob. Room had filthy windows inside and out.
Now I am not sure if linens were clean or just refolded.
A guy was reporting his car stolen at the desk on the 4th morning of our stay.
By the time we checked out my daughter was disgusted with the place and I was about ready to blow a cork. I will be contacting Corporate further with my complaints. Not expecting anything in return except personal satisfaction that I voiced my opinion.
Good. Bedding, breakfast if you don't expect variety. #1-biscuit, eggs, potatoes, extra fat bacon or the #2- pick two of toast, muffin, cereal or yogurt. yay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We appreciate you coming forward with your concerns and wish to offer our sincerest apologies for your experience not meeting your highest satisfaction. Unfortunately, we (Managers) were not properly made aware of your concerns and wish to remedy your experience at our hotel. We have met with each party involved and are taking proactive measures to prevent future concerns such as yours. We are in hopes you would please be willing to contact us and provide us your contact information so we may communicate with you personally regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel was under construction, but they were very clear about the working times, so we knew what to expect. What stood out to me most of all was their customer service. They went above and beyond what I ever expected to make sure that my stay was pleasant. The front desk staff was very helpful & so willing to aid me with everything that I needed! Even when I had transportation issues the day I was supposed to leave, they came back & picked me up without a complaint. Since it was so last minute, I ended up staying with friends at a different hotel that night, & yet they STILL brought me back to catch my transportation the next morning! Above and beyond the call of duty - I was so so impressed. I highly highly recommend The Shiloh if you want to be treated with kindness and care. My husband was able to rest easy knowing that I was taken care of and safe while traveling by myself - all thanks to the awesome front desk staff.

Room Tip: Don't plan on sleeping in while they are doing renovations :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Shilo Inn Salt Lake City for your recent. We greatly value your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant.

It's true that our hotel is currently undergoing renovations. Renovations are currently taking place on the 2nd, 11th and 12th floors Monday - Saturday from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. We are glad to hear that our staff was successful in communicating with you regarding construction times, so you knew what to expect. We are thrilled to hear that our customer service exceeded your expectations.

We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service. We are glad we are able to accommodate your transportation needs.

Our renovation is well underway and we are in the process of converting our hotel to a Holiday Inn Express by January 2015. We hope you will come and visit us again next year. Next time, please bring your family. There are so many family friendly attractions and entertainment venues nearby.

Thanks again,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#26 of 75 in Salt Lake City
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#28 of 75 in Salt Lake City
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 206 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1909 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: £86 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy our fully renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel, featuring the new Formula Blue Prototype Design for Holiday Inn Express. Guests enjoy our premier location directly across from the Salt Palace Convention Center, within walking distance of City Creek Shopping Center, The Gateway, Historic Temple Square and hundreds of restaurants and night clubs. We are centrally located just minutes away from Interstate 15, Interstate 215, Interstate 80, Highway 89, the Amtrak Station and Salt Lake City International Airport. Our non-smoking Holiday Inn Express offers easy access to attractions including Capitol Theatre, Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway Children's Museum, Energy Solutions Arena, Great Salt Lake, Utah's Hogle Zoo, LDS Temple Square, Lagoon Amusement Park, The Leonardo Museum, Natural History Museum of Utah, Red Butte Garden, Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center, This Is The Place Heritage Park and Utah State Capitol. Guests can enjoy a plethora of amenities including: Free Hot Breakfsat, 24 Hour Indoor Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Fitness Center, guest laundry, Business Center, free high-speed wireless Internet access. Parking is available for a fee. Airport transportation is available through Taxi, Super Shuttle or UTA Trax for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel
Shilo Hotel Salt Lake City
Shilo Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Shilo Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing