We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have not been in this hotel for many years and was nicely surprised now to see it has been updated, the lobby is fresh and modern and so are the rooms. The kids loved the swimming pool, staff was very friendly, and the buffet breakfast was delicious. We drove to the hotel and it was so easy to access with the car - plenty of parking in the front. The hotel's location is on the outskirts of the University research park, University hospital and Huntsman Cancer Institute, Moran Eye Center, etc, are all a couple of minutes drive away. Besides this, the hotel is also a couple of minutes drive from the historical park, the zoo, golf course, Foothill shopping mall and restaurants. It is a nice location for skiers as it is located high on the East foothills with easy highway access to all ski resorts. Plus you have a great view of the greens around the hotel as well as to the mountains on one side and the city below.
We had invited friends and family for a buffet brunch and it worked great as we could use the entire back space of the dining room, separate from the other guests. Good food and firendly staff.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, a junior suite and a deluxe room for kids. The junior suite was nice but the delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    161
    47
    44
    13
See reviews for
109
86
26
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We were here for 3 days during their renovation. The staff was so friendly that it didnt bother us. The shuttle took us everywhere and with one phone call they picked us up right away at most of places nearby. Drivers were so nice. Room was clean and quite. Customer service was amazing.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank violet12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at the Marriott Salt Lake City University park for a conference last week. I had a great time at this hotel. Here's my review:
Room: I got a free upgrade to a junior suite, which was very nice and appreciated. The room was bigger than most jr. suites, with a large "living room" area that had a mini-fridge. The bedroom area was good-sized as well. Bed was comfy with tons of pillows of every level, from soft to firm. Bathroom was small but updated. Everything was very very clean. No gross carpet or weird smells, nothing like that. Everything looks recently updated including the furniture.

Hotel area: Modern-ish decor with an open atrium area. Despite the atrium design there was no disturbing echo like some hotels of this style. Very lovely and comfortable multi-level lobby and peaceful bar area. Nice fireplace feature adds ambiance. One of the nicest Star Bucks I have ever visited in a hotel. Conference facilities were more than adequate. Elevators were reasonably fast. Grounds were well kept with lovely views of the mountains. Good location to downtown. Taxi fare to the mall/temple area of downtown costs about 12 bucks. Shuttle will take you to very close restaurants. A good bakery is at the bottom of the hill (about 5 minutes walk).

Service: My limited interactions with staff were pleasant and professional. The shuttle driver was very very nice and took us to the top of the hill briefly so we could take pictures of the city below. The staff in the hotel restaurant were overwhelmed at lunch and did not charge my bill correctly, however they quickly fixed it. Housekeeping was great and discreet.

Negatives: Not much negative to say, as I loved the place and would stay again for sure. The food at the restaurant was hit or miss. I had chicken one day that was terrible but the next day I had halibut that was delicious. The staff was not prepared for a large lunch group and we waited for lunch a very long time but later in the week they got their act together. Honestly I would just go to the bakery for lunch at the bottom of the hill. Also it would be nice if the shuttle would run people downtown and the airport. It's not that far. They will drop you off at the train station and you have to make your way from there. Still, it was nice that they offered a limited shuttle service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner are quiet. Junior suites are large.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vivace21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This Marriott has been updated and is very nice. The place is clean-the lobby quite nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a nice size and very comfortable. Salt Lake is a very compact city and easy to get around, so this was the perfect place to stay. You can get almost anywhere from here in 15-20 minutes. The rooms were clean and the bed comfy.
I would highly recommend this Hotel for everyone. We would stay there again next time we are in Salt Lake.

Room Tip: choose a mountain view- WOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobswifecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Came into town a little late and stayed at the Marriott. Good choice in hotels, but didn't get the full experience since I came in late. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The town looked interesting and perhaps I will have the opportunity to stay longer next time. Good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

In town for convention. Not only is this hotel in a beautiful mountain view setting, it is also next door to U of U. The staff has been absolutely wonderful. They have made my stay very comfortable. Have been over the top accommodating - Now, I am a Marriott rewards member but only basic level. Great place to stay and close proximity to ski resorts too.

Room Tip: ask for mountain view - may be every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloftenforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's not a new hotel, but like most Marriott's I've stayed at, it was a good experience. I loved seeing the blown glass masterpiece suspended in the hotel by the famous artist Chihuly. The hotel is a blend of elegance and industrial. It all seemed updated to me. We didn't use the pool, or have the breakfast, but we did enjoy the room. It seems to me as a Salt Lake City native that it is in a good location for those who are doing things at the University of Utah or at the Huntsman Cancer Institute or any of the other medical facilities associated with the University. The only complaint I had was that I could hear people out in the hallway. The walls seemed a little on the thin side, but not enough so to stop me from coming again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing