We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool treehouses and a very well done B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool treehouses and a very well done B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We came here because of the treehouse concept, but not only were the houses cool (we stayed in the Shitake - perfect for a family of four) but the owners have also done a great job with the B&B. The bath house is clean and well appointed, the breakfast was great, and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in the "Cottage" which is secluded and quiet. Watched deer play underneath us every night. A quick walk down to the main house for an outstanding breakfast. (wifi there if you really can't live without it) 20 minutes from Oregon Caves. 10 minutes from town. if you want a quiet peaceful place, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I struggled hard and failed to find something that I did not like about our visit. The reservation process was painless via a quick phonecall to Jodie. Our treehouse was perfect for us and was clean comfortable and very well provisioned. Phil made us a really nice bonfire and we loved the view and the sounds around the fire. We took along some cheese and wine and enjoyed a lovely time around the fire. The entire property is a paradise and the breakfast was delicous and spectacularly presented. If you are in the vicinity you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. The caves is a great add on for a trip to the treehouses.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage and loved it. There was a cute little loft that worked great for our daught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marktatham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We’ve stayed at several B&B’s across the country and although it was neat to be in a tree house there weren’t many special touches around to really make the experience stand out. We loved the idea of staying in a tree house but this place was missing the “wow” factor for us. Maybe our expectations were too high but the actual tree house felt more like a cabin on stilts and pretty generic. Property was well kept, cabin and bathrooms were clean, and the pets were great! (The dog and cats seemed more excited to have guests then the owner, Phil.) Breakfast was good but again seemed generic consisting of pancakes, bacon, and fruit. This was not served in the tree house as the website said it was in the main house as the family wasked around & cleaned. Overall we’re happy we got to experience this place but don’t plan on going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMasonClanOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I completely enjoyed our stay at Vertical Horizons. It was a splurge to stay there and I'm rather happy that we did. We stayed at the cottage which was great for our daughter (4 1/2), she loved sleeping in her loft and out of the three tree houses it was our favorite (nice porch). The setting is beautiful, breakfast was fantastic. The bath house left a little to be desired but no biggie. After making our own dinner on their grill, the owners lit a campfire and had plenty of willow switches for roasting marsh mellows. I thought this was a great touch. Would we go back, likely not as it is expensive but we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oregonlahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Had a wonderful peaceful stay in the Calypso at Vertical Horizons. The treehouses are spotlessly clean and beautiful. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners hospitality was great. If you want a great night sleep in a clean treehouse this is the place to go! We stayed at the other treehouse place which is very unique but it was far from clean and peaceful. If you have a bunch of kids that you want to run wild go to the other treehouse place. Go to this place for a well built, beautiful, clean, private, peaceful treehouse experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julann71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We found Vertical Horizons on the internet researching our Oregon trip. We were really looking foward on "sleeping in the trees" but actually here is how it was in reality.

First you have to pay in advance, and leave your credit card details. The other thing is that this place is kind of hard to find, to be fair they send you instructions how to find it, but it is really kind of out nowhere. The actual entry to their lot is hard to find, especially at night and you have to pay close attention to the "house"number.

Being there,the family led resort has 3 treehouses, we got the calypso, a main house (their private, where the breakfast is served), a bath house and a pool. The bathhouse is down at the parking area (free parking for guests), and is very clean. Towels are there, always clean and fresh to take. The treehouse itself was not that hard to access and adventurous as we thought. basically a trail is leading up to the hill (its build on a little hill so you walk up and then access the actual tree house over a wodden bridge. The house itself is lovely, build directly on 2 trees. (treetrunk is actually in the middle of the room. we had a half bathroom in the tree, with flushing toilet actually and running warm water. no shower though, this is only located in the bathhouse. Also there is a little fridge, a little table with barstools. Electricity of course. All in all the place is very lovely .

On the website they actually advertised that you will get breakfast to your treehouse but actually its buffet at the main house. Its quite original, nicely presented. They also have treeclimbing courses, you can do a cavevisit (close there) or go for walk in the woods. They also have a greak swing (very long swing from a tree) and a hammock, everything can be used by guests.

The general evaluation is medium because all this is fine but not for about 250 Dollars per night! Thats just too much for what is offered. We understand that this construction costs a lot and such, but its just too much money for sleeping in a log cabin that is build around a tree. To be fair they have free wifi in the trees..

The kind of negative comments result definitely only in the high price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise

Property: Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
Address: 3305 Dick George Road, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a state of the Art Treehouse Bed and Breakfast, pristine grounds, local organic foods, fun activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing