We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treehouse but only for two people who like extreme closeness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
california
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice treehouse but only for two people who like extreme closeness”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

September 20th of this year we took our family of four to Oregon Caves. We thought staying in a tree house would be fun for our 13 and 11 year old. Although the Shitake( the largest) was nicely appointed...it was way too small to accommodate all four of us. The owners gave us a single mat and some thin blankets and very flat pillows. Very uncomfortable for those who slept on the floor. Also there were only two 'deck' type chairs ( no desk)...so no writing or relaxing.
High price for the experience!
And I wouldn't go for a romantic getaway for two, either...since I like somewhere to relax and read a book or write in my journal and close a door when I go to the bathroom (not a curtain).

Room Tip: Go in the summer if you want a better experience and so you can spend 99 per cent of your time outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seridipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Even though we've visited here before, we always enjoy our time in 'the Cottage'. The cabin is very clean, and the view of the surrounding mountains lovely. We've seen several deer while relaxing on our deck, as well as 10 wild turkeys. Each morning we walk to the main road and munch on blackberries that grow wild on the side of the road before a delicious breakfast. Being up in the trees is very relaxing. Vertical Horizons is a great home base for visiting local wineries as well as the Oregon Caves and the redwoods in CA. On this trip we visited the Smoke Jumper Museum outside of Cave Junction and it was very interesting. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures to pick the treehouse that works best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CO
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our family of three stayed in Shiitake and had an amazing time. It is obvious that the owners take great pride in the property by the care of the tree house (it was immaculate) and the well cared for grounds. The breakfast was organic and locally sourced, and it was delicious. This is the place to go if you want to relax and unwind. There are also activities so you won't be bored, and that will also keep kids engaged. There is a pool, horseshoes, volleyball, tetherball, hammocks, disc golf, picking blackberries, a couple swings, you can climb the trees (this is an official activity you need to schedule with Jodie & Phil), etc. There were board games and coloring sheets in the tree house as well. There is another tree house place a little ways away that we went to to go ziplining at, and what a difference it was! We were SO relieved that we didn't end up staying at the other place... Vertical Horizons is so much more relaxing and seems to be more about honoring nature and the trees and just enjoying the surroundings. The showers are in a separate building, which I was worried about, but was pleasantly surprised by how nice they were (one for men and one for women). Our hosts, Phil & Jodie, were very kind and provided a wonderful environment for us to spend part of our vacation in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tawneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed in Shiitake. Treehouses are built as sturdy as can be. Safe. Well decorated. CLEAN. Each are unique. The owners have thought of everything. All the comforts of a hotel room (minus the showers. showers in a seperate building) refridgerator, heater, tea kettle and electricity. This unit did not have internet yet. Not a problem for relaxing. But the main house had wifi in case needed. Plumbing for toilet and sink. Warm water. Comfortable beds. Good funiture for the space. These units are small.(thery are treehouses) had plenty of room for my two 10 year olds. Peaceful, quiet. Perfect for decompressing. Breakfasts are 5 star. organic and local everything, from strawberries to the bacon. Call to see if they can help with gleuten free. The property is woodsy, organized and as clean as aforst can be. Pathways to everytwhere. Campfire every night. Three small ponds.Owners are very responsoble, respectful, professional people. Phil is a classy dude. I think he is a true artist inside. Does everything to his best with style.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a great place to find some peace and quiet...in the canopy of the trees! Phil, Jodi, and Cosmo are the perfects hosts of this beautiful property. We stayed two nights in the Calypso...nothing better than the huge trunk in the middle of the room! The treehouse was nicely equipped with real coffee/tea mugs, a electric teapot, instant coffee, many tea choices, a nice little frig, games, color pages and crayons, and the sweet little 1/2 bath for convenience. The bathhouse is clean and has everything you need. Cosmo, the official greeter (complete with his own business card!) made out stay extra special. We had just lost our dog of 13 years and are still really grieving so seeing Cosmo greet us was a nice start. Little did we know that he would sleep on our deck all night! It was really special. The breakfast is definitely something you won't want to miss. I can't remember the last time I had fresh whipped cream on fresh strawberries, yum! There's lots to do and close to many attractions like the Redwoods or Crater Lake. We will definitely be back! Next time we will choose the Cottage which doesn't have such a steep hike. For those of you who pack everything like I do...you may want to rethink that after hiking it up the trail to the treehouse! Pack lightly...but definitely go!

Room Tip: The Calypso is perfect for two people. The Cottage looks great for maybe two adults and a kid or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadtripRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a great time at vertical horizons. The treehouses were warm and cozy with all of the comforts of home in a unique setting. The property is very quiet and peaceful. You can walk through the area, pick blackberries, pears and apples, or relax on a hammock or by the pool. We even played frisbee golf one morning. The hosts are friendly and fun, and a delicious gourmet breakfast is served every morning. I recommend this place if you are looking for an out-of-the ordinary and memorable vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Calypso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT5763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Vertical Horizons is a wonderful experience - highly recommended. My husband found it because I've always said I wanted to sleep in a treehouse. It's several miles outside of Cave Junction which is a small town. You drive past several ranches to get there and arrive at a pretty compound with the host's home, the building with showers and can see the three treehouses nestled in the trees above. The treehouses are spaced nicely. It has a great rustic feel to it - peaceful and charming. We stayed in Calypso, which was delightful. The tree comes right up through the middle of the treehouse and the decor is tasteful with a quilt on the bed. The treehouse has a porch outside with a beautiful view across the landscape. Another nice thing is that the place was equally comfortable for couples, families, etc. We were there as a couple but other folks had families with them and it was comfortable for all.

Breakfast is hearty, made with local ingredients wherever possible. We had locally-made sausage and bacon, berries and other fruit along wth eggs, pancakes, etc. You can go down to get coffee while you wait for breakfast, which is served outside on the porch.

Apparently there's another treehouse-hotel in the area but our understanding is that the other one doesn't have the peaceful feel of Vertical Horizons and that it's higher-intensity with a focus on zip-lining. Hopefully if owner Phil ever builds a zip-line at Vertical Horizons (we suggest not) he does it in the same tasteful way that the treehouses were done.

I'm not sure how reviewers could find Vertical Horizons mediocre. To each his own, but for us it was just what we expected - rustic, charming, peaceful and unique.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise

Property: Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
Address: 3305 Dick George Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9623
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a state of the Art Treehouse Bed and Breakfast, pristine grounds, local organic foods, fun activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing