We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of enchanting and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

No other place in the world is like this. If you want something different and original this is the place for you! The drive up the mountain to get there is beautiful (but I would not do it in the dark as there are very steep drop offs). It is in a lush, green enchanting forest and then all of the sudden coming up out of the ravine is the chateau. You still have a lot of mountain above you once you reach the Chateau. Beyond unique and quaint, you simply must stay at the Chateau even if you are not physically able to do the cave tour ( the entrance of which is across the street). When you step inside you almost feel like you should whisper. It will take you back to the 30s or 40s instantly. They have so many things that have been kept original. Six stories, the top 3 having rooms. I would suggest a deluxe queen room. Most of those have great views. It is basic in terms of "not being updated, " but you will love the once in a lifetime experience. They do have a variety of room types, so just pick something that suites the number of travelers. The bed was very comfortable and the linens seemed new under the historic bedspread. You could take the bedspread off and use the comforter and sheets easily. Everything was clean. No TV or air-conditioning, but they did have a fan in the room along with original steam heat radiators. Yes, the plumbing and radiators might cause some noise or creakiness, but you have to over look that part and soak in the beautiful experience of the scenery and historic value of the place. The staff was excellent, knowledgeable and seemed local to the area which was nice. I LOVED the view out the windows sitting in the lobby and the dining room. Did I mention that there is a REAL babbling brook going through the dining room. Too cute to miss!! The dining room food was only fair. I can't say that it was amazing, but the view and service made up for it. I would suggest arriving before dark and enjoying your evening with a book and drink in the lobby, and then do the cave tour the following morning if you can only stay one night. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Queen Rooms seem to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodiChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Friendly, friendly, friendly staff. They waited for us for our late check in. Small room but so unique and historic. Don't look for the Waldorf here but it is such a special place and part of our nation's history. Definitely worth staying to be a part of that and be close to the magical feeling of the area and the caves.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Oregon Caves Chateau is one of the most peaceful, beautiful, hidden gems in Oregon. We checked in last week (on opening day) and the staff were absolutely fantastic. We got an economy room, and it exceeded our expectations...while it was very basic, it had all we needed, the view was still fantastic, and we had the sound of the waterfall as background noise.

The food is quite good - the dining room is expensive, but you get huge servings. The Cafe is wonderful...so atmospheric...obviously, anything that has to get brought up the mountain is going to be more expensive, so I didn’t have an issue with the prices.

The building itself is gorgeous and very tasteful/low-key compared to the other National Park Lodges. Yay to no phones, no cell reception and no TV…everyone should spend a few days disconnected…really! There are the cave tours (a MUST DO), great hiking trails for all levels, books, games, and the gorgeous great room/lobby area…I recommend a two night stay, and 3 if you can swing it.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great - we chose the cheapest economy room, and while it was on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We went to visit the Caves not knowing that a hotel/lodge was on site. It was one of those out of the past, perfectly kept, lodges. The rooms themselves are very basic, but that not why you'd stay here. It is old and exact as it was. You want to wander the paths and enjoy the lobby. A very pleasant surprise at the end of a long winding road - it was nice to be able to stay. Hidden gem

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lt11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The winding butterfly covered road up to the caves was a great indication of how nice this stay was

We stayed in the haunted room, which was very spacious. The decor, walls, and ceiling oozed vintage charm, giving no indication of the current decade and although it lacked most lacked modern updates (the sprinkler system made a nice coat rack) we slept well and had a real great time.

I was hoping to be visited by the ghost (as she is not fond of men) but my wife ended up being the lucky one as she spoiled her shower.

The cafe is quaint and we had a nice breakfast, not 5 star dining but a great little soda fountain style diner. The restaurant had excellent food but was located pretty much in the middle of the gift shop. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you book in advance, ask for room 310 which is larger and undoubtedly haunted. Lots of walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

If you plan to visit the Oregon Caves (HIGHLY recommended) then you may want to consider staying at least one night at the historic Oregon Caves Chateau. Mind you, there is NOTHING fancy about the accommodations, however the lodge itself is rustic beauty personified!

The Oregon Caves and Oregon Caves Chateau are nestled in the Siskiyou Mountains, and the views from every vantage point could not be more beautiful. Quiet, calm and serene...just what a summer get-away should be. The lodge is very rustic, with a huge, double sided fireplace in the lobby, with plenty of casual seating throughout the entire lobby. We were fortunate to visit in late summer and the weather could not have been more beautiful, and the crowds were not at all bad.

Chateau contact information is:
PO Box 1824
20000 Caves Hwy.
Cave Junction, OR 97523
Phone: 541-592-3400
Toll Free: 877-245-9022
Fax: 541-592-4075

Book ahead, and I promise you won't be disappointed! The restaurant (we did not try the small, lower level cafe) has a very decent menu, and the food was delicious, and the staff warm and welcoming. We felt right at home.
For more information, this is their website: http://www.oregoncaveschateau.com/Index.asp

Room Tip: I think all rooms have views, but if you get a higher floor, you'll have more to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The Historic chateau has a woodsy charm! Surrounded by antiques and comfortable chairs, the lobby is a wonderful place to settle with a good book and a cup of hot tea! The rooms are plain and clean. There are no TV's and no Internet, so if you want to get away from it all this is the place to stay when visiting the Oregon Caves!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Junction
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
534 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
644 reviews
24.6 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Redwood Hyperion Suites
Redwood Hyperion Suites
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
225 reviews
23.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#12 of 18 in Grants Pass
24 reviews
24.0 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at the Oregon Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at the Oregon Caves

Address: 20000 Caves Hwy, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Price Range: £75 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Hour drive from Grants Pass Oregon. The Chateau is a six-story structure with a reinforced concrete foundation and a superstructure of wood frame construction with enormous post and beam interior supports. The building spans a small gorge and a great deal of the building's mass is banked into that depression. The first floor houses mechanical equipment. The second contains basement storage areas. The dining room, coffee shop and kitchen areas are on the third floor--at the same level as the lower trout pool grotto at the immediate head of the gorge. The fourth floor is at road level and contains the entrance lobby and some hotel rooms. The two upper stories have additional hotel rooms. Exterior walls are shiplap siding sheathed with cedar bark, giving the building a shaggy, rustic appearance.(Sorry no pets allowed at this time) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Chateau at the Oregon Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing