We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint -- for a price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent two nights at the chateau. It was interesting. It's a lodge built in 1934, and it retains much of what the 80-year-old structure started with. Including no elevator, no air conditioning, thin walls, no phone, no TV, and no Internet.

That said, it is quaint and beautiful. We had help with luggage to the third floor. The weather was very mild to almost cold (temp dropped to mid-40s). Our floor was quiet, meaning we didn't need the ear plugs offered by the hotel along with a mint on our pillows each night. We had intermittent cell phone and texting. We lived without TV and Internet. In fact, the second evening, my wife and I spent six hours in the lobby working on a jigsaw puzzle. Great fun. Really.

Other pluses: staff were excellent and attentive and food was delicious, albeit a bit pricey. However, large portions helped soften the prices.

For a one-time experience, well worth it. I wouldn't make a return visit. Especially at the price. Our queen "suite" was $180/night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent service and attentive staff. Rooms very quaint and clean. We were pleasantly surprised with the food and service in the dining room and the coffee shop is a must see. Of course the Caves were an intersting expience and we aslo enjoyed the many hiking trails. The history of the Cheateau is fasinating and you feel a step back in time. Very relaxing

Room Tip: The walls are paper then so try to get an end room or one that is on the water fall side (for white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katharine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

While it may be located a bit off the beaten track, The Chateau at the Oregon Caves is an amazing travel destination. Located in the heart of one of the most beautiful and productive bio-regions on the planet,this was an amazing find for us.

I hope everyone who wants a true feel of the beauty of southern Oregon get the chance to visit the Oregon Caves and The Chateau at the Oregon Caves.

Room Tip: Book your room as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thoreh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Chateau was a wonderful place to stay with my family. The staff was very attentive and they had a charm that was so warming, by the time we left, I believe we knew everyone's name. Rooms were very clean and with no TV's, Internet, or telephones to distract my kids, we had a great time playing games and just talking.
Every dining experience involved dining and talking with no interruptions of texting of phone calls. AMAZING.
Food was slow, but the ambiance made up for it. The menus are not sophisticated, but food was alright.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the creek. The water sounds at night was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank The_Chef_and_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

No other place in the world is like this. If you want something different and original this is the place for you! The drive up the mountain to get there is beautiful (but I would not do it in the dark as there are very steep drop offs). It is in a lush, green enchanting forest and then all of the sudden coming up out of the ravine is the chateau. You still have a lot of mountain above you once you reach the Chateau. Beyond unique and quaint, you simply must stay at the Chateau even if you are not physically able to do the cave tour ( the entrance of which is across the street). When you step inside you almost feel like you should whisper. It will take you back to the 30s or 40s instantly. They have so many things that have been kept original. Six stories, the top 3 having rooms. I would suggest a deluxe queen room. Most of those have great views. It is basic in terms of "not being updated, " but you will love the once in a lifetime experience. They do have a variety of room types, so just pick something that suites the number of travelers. The bed was very comfortable and the linens seemed new under the historic bedspread. You could take the bedspread off and use the comforter and sheets easily. Everything was clean. No TV or air-conditioning, but they did have a fan in the room along with original steam heat radiators. Yes, the plumbing and radiators might cause some noise or creakiness, but you have to over look that part and soak in the beautiful experience of the scenery and historic value of the place. The staff was excellent, knowledgeable and seemed local to the area which was nice. I LOVED the view out the windows sitting in the lobby and the dining room. Did I mention that there is a REAL babbling brook going through the dining room. Too cute to miss!! The dining room food was only fair. I can't say that it was amazing, but the view and service made up for it. I would suggest arriving before dark and enjoying your evening with a book and drink in the lobby, and then do the cave tour the following morning if you can only stay one night. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Queen Rooms seem to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodiChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Friendly, friendly, friendly staff. They waited for us for our late check in. Small room but so unique and historic. Don't look for the Waldorf here but it is such a special place and part of our nation's history. Definitely worth staying to be a part of that and be close to the magical feeling of the area and the caves.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Oregon Caves Chateau is one of the most peaceful, beautiful, hidden gems in Oregon. We checked in last week (on opening day) and the staff were absolutely fantastic. We got an economy room, and it exceeded our expectations...while it was very basic, it had all we needed, the view was still fantastic, and we had the sound of the waterfall as background noise.

The food is quite good - the dining room is expensive, but you get huge servings. The Cafe is wonderful...so atmospheric...obviously, anything that has to get brought up the mountain is going to be more expensive, so I didn’t have an issue with the prices.

The building itself is gorgeous and very tasteful/low-key compared to the other National Park Lodges. Yay to no phones, no cell reception and no TV…everyone should spend a few days disconnected…really! There are the cave tours (a MUST DO), great hiking trails for all levels, books, games, and the gorgeous great room/lobby area…I recommend a two night stay, and 3 if you can swing it.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great - we chose the cheapest economy room, and while it was on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Junction
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
651 reviews
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
542 reviews
23.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#12 of 18 in Grants Pass
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oregon Caves Lodge
Oregon Caves Lodge
#1 of 4 in Cave Junction
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at the Oregon Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at the Oregon Caves

Address: 20000 Caves Hwy, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Price Range: £71 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Hour drive from Grants Pass Oregon. The Chateau is a six-story structure with a reinforced concrete foundation and a superstructure of wood frame construction with enormous post and beam interior supports. The building spans a small gorge and a great deal of the building's mass is banked into that depression. The first floor houses mechanical equipment. The second contains basement storage areas. The dining room, coffee shop and kitchen areas are on the third floor--at the same level as the lower trout pool grotto at the immediate head of the gorge. The fourth floor is at road level and contains the entrance lobby and some hotel rooms. The two upper stories have additional hotel rooms. Exterior walls are shiplap siding sheathed with cedar bark, giving the building a shaggy, rustic appearance.(Sorry no pets allowed at this time) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing