We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique historic lodge right outside cave entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique historic lodge right outside cave entrance”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

It was great to have accommodations right outside cave entrance and 30 seconds walk to visitor center. Unique with creek running through building in dinning area and gift shop. Beautiful sunsets through woods. Rooms were comfortable. A real lodge feel. Attractive, relaxing lobby with timber beams.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeinnaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34Chateau, Manager at The Chateau at the Oregon Caves, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Oregon Caves Chateau for your recent stay in Cave Junction, OR. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests satisfaction is our main priority. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at the Oregon Caves Chateau.
Management
Oregon Caves Chateau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    107
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
102
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, US
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a very historic and picturesque, somewhat "rustic" hotel located VERY close by the Oregon Caves. The room was pleasant and comfy, the room price fair though not low, and the building very groovy, with ample use of local logs, bark, wood and stone, custom-built furniture, and nice woodland views through the large lobby picture windows. The lobby is nice and atmospheric with a large fireplace. Some rooms overlook a trout pool. The service was pleasant though a 9:30PM arrival necessitated a bit of a wait for someone to show up. Overall, a worthwhile place...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodieBroadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Really the best part of Oregon Caves National Monument, this 1934 lodge is has its own chapter in the book and PBS video "Great Lodges of the National Parks." You can get all of the historic info there. Much smaller than lodges in Yellowstone or Glacier, the Chateau is still a shining example of old time national park rustic architecture. It was created by businessmen from Grants Pass, Oregon, but is now cared for by a nonprofit organization in the Illinois Valley at the base of the mountain. The employees are permanent local residents who really care about the place. What a difference from 15 years ago when a large company ran it with virtual slave labor from Eastern Europe. After a visit then, we swore we would never return, even though I was once a cave guide and we honeymooned at the Chateau. When we returned to celebrate our 40th anniversary recently, we found the place looking better than ever. The Friends of the Oregon Caves and Chateau are working to restore rooms and the country's largest single collection of Monterey furniture. While some of the handcrafted furniture may look a little worn, it was manufactured only between 1929 and 1942, and was all the rage among customers like Walt Disney and Roy Rogers.

The Chateau is a historic experience and should not be compared with a modern Hampton Inn. Think of it as a Hudson Hornet, not a Honda Accord. There is no WiFi. I brought my own wifey on our anniversary and found her much more entertaining. There are also no phones in the rooms, and even your cell-phone may not work. There are no TVs anywhere, and no air-conditioning. Most of the time the nights are cold, but not always. There wasn't much thought given to sound insulation in 1934. I think guests were more considerate of their neighbors back then. The quietest rooms here are on the top floor, but it is also the warmest on a hot night.

Those who love this lodge spend their time lounging in a semi-coma in the rustic lobby, gazing out the large windows overlooking the canyon, or enjoying the beauty and aroma of the dozen or so local woods used to build the Chateau. The whole area just seems to exude relaxation. Many of the 34 guest rooms are pretty small by today's standards, so we opted for a queen suite. It was still just 2 small rooms with an adjoining door, but it gave us room to spread out, along with a sitting area. The room was even cleaner than the Homewood Suites we stayed at in Medford, and they left us 2 spare rolls of toilet paper in the bathroom. I've lost count of the times I've checked into hotel rooms to find only a quarter roll of toilet paper for 2 people. Housekeeping here gets it right. They even left us a basket with some sparkling cider, a card and a huge cookie for our anniversary.

The food, too, is outstanding at both the breakfast/lunch coffee shop and the more formal evening dining room. Well, this is rural Oregon, so by formal I mean "No shirt, no shoes, no service."

Keep in mind the last eight miles up the mountain are the tightest, twistiest 8 miles you will ever drive, though the road is well maintained. Just take it slow, or if you have a great-handling car or motorcycle, have a blast. If you're prone to carsickness, you might think twice about the whole thing. Another warning: I can't image a less ADA-compliant place. Everything at the monument is up or down and involves lots of steps with no elevators.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Club
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent two nights at the chateau. It was interesting. It's a lodge built in 1934, and it retains much of what the 80-year-old structure started with. Including no elevator, no air conditioning, thin walls, no phone, no TV, and no Internet.

That said, it is quaint and beautiful. We had help with luggage to the third floor. The weather was very mild to almost cold (temp dropped to mid-40s). Our floor was quiet, meaning we didn't need the ear plugs offered by the hotel along with a mint on our pillows each night. We had intermittent cell phone and texting. We lived without TV and Internet. In fact, the second evening, my wife and I spent six hours in the lobby working on a jigsaw puzzle. Great fun. Really.

Other pluses: staff were excellent and attentive and food was delicious, albeit a bit pricey. However, large portions helped soften the prices.

For a one-time experience, well worth it. I wouldn't make a return visit. Especially at the price. Our queen "suite" was $180/night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent service and attentive staff. Rooms very quaint and clean. We were pleasantly surprised with the food and service in the dining room and the coffee shop is a must see. Of course the Caves were an intersting expience and we aslo enjoyed the many hiking trails. The history of the Cheateau is fasinating and you feel a step back in time. Very relaxing

Room Tip: The walls are paper then so try to get an end room or one that is on the water fall side (for white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katharine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

While it may be located a bit off the beaten track, The Chateau at the Oregon Caves is an amazing travel destination. Located in the heart of one of the most beautiful and productive bio-regions on the planet,this was an amazing find for us.

I hope everyone who wants a true feel of the beauty of southern Oregon get the chance to visit the Oregon Caves and The Chateau at the Oregon Caves.

Room Tip: Book your room as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thoreh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Chateau was a wonderful place to stay with my family. The staff was very attentive and they had a charm that was so warming, by the time we left, I believe we knew everyone's name. Rooms were very clean and with no TV's, Internet, or telephones to distract my kids, we had a great time playing games and just talking.
Every dining experience involved dining and talking with no interruptions of texting of phone calls. AMAZING.
Food was slow, but the ambiance made up for it. The menus are not sophisticated, but food was alright.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the creek. The water sounds at night was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chef_and_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Junction
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
622 reviews
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
499 reviews
24.6 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
531 reviews
23.9 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
52 reviews
24.8 mi away
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at the Oregon Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at the Oregon Caves

Property: The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
Address: 20000 Caves Hwy, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Hour drive from Grants Pass Oregon. The Chateau is a six-story structure with a reinforced concrete foundation and a superstructure of wood frame construction with enormous post and beam interior supports. The building spans a small gorge and a great deal of the building's mass is banked into that depression. The first floor houses mechanical equipment. The second contains basement storage areas. The dining room, coffee shop and kitchen areas are on the third floor--at the same level as the lower trout pool grotto at the immediate head of the gorge. The fourth floor is at road level and contains the entrance lobby and some hotel rooms. The two upper stories have additional hotel rooms. Exterior walls are shiplap siding sheathed with cedar bark, giving the building a shaggy, rustic appearance.(Sorry no pets allowed at this time) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing