We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beat for families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't be beat for families”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went with another family, did all the activities (horseback riding, zip lines, pool), and had a blast. The boys were in heaven, and the ingenuity of all the treehouses is astounding. Remember to bring food to cook in the communal kitchen because the restaurants are all 12 miles away and pretty bad, to boot. It's not fancy, but that worked for us.

Room Tip: Get a treehouse with a toilet! It's a long way down a staircase if you have to go at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kubatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    49
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The treehouse resort is much better, and much nicer than its website would suggest. The website is absolutely terrible and doesn't do the resort/campgound justice. I went for three nights with my three grandkids, ages 8, 10 and 11 and we are ready to return. The breakfast is good and there are healthy choices. The staff at the resort are amazing - all of them were helpful, kind and patient with the kids. The treehouses are varied. Each one is unique and offers something special. The experience is alot like being at summer camp, what with the ziplines, rope swings, swimming in the crystal clear water of the swimming hole, horseback riding, crafts classes and the like. Sitting around the community campfire and making s'mores with the other campers was the highlight of our evenings. The people attracted to this kind of experience were all friendly and lots of fun. It gave the grandkids the chance to run wild in a safe and fun outdoor setting. There were a few couples without kids, but they generally joined in the fun. It is a little expensive considering that each separate activity has a price tag. But we look forward to our next trip. I suppose I need to start saving NOW!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MargaretWashburnBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is unique... Camping out in the trees! This treesort is located in Southwest Oregon. Getting there is part of the fun as you pass through beautiful views along the way. But when you arrive, you know you are going to have a special treat living up in the trees! This is special for couples and families. Not only living in the trees but experiencing a hearty breakfast. You can choose other things to do like zip lines which we did. This is awesome! Around te campfire at night we toasted marshmallows and made smoores! I felt like I was 12 again! Do it!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

When you look at the website you have lots of options for types of treehouses. All the ones on the main site are situated in a camp ground type enviornment (resort). I choose the Lily Pad which was one mile offf the resort on private property (retreat). if you are looking for quiet, romance this was the location to choose. My kids were a little disappointed because they wished we would have chosen the resort where all the other kids were however mom loved that my kids could play loud at all hours with out disturbing others. It was less then a one mile walk back to the resort where we had 100% access to all their ammenities (rock pool, rope swings, kids free ziplining, etc). The retreat also had a private gazebo, an awesome BBQ set up, play ground (was only missing the firepit). Both options included a full breakfast. This is a must do trip for kids age 5-12. We will do it again next year.

Room Tip: see above. All of the treehouses were great... you cant go wrong with whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SarahsSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

this has been our second visit to the treesorts, and it was a lot of fun. i think the best age to bring kids is 6-14 years, not any younger, although i'm sure the sky bridges are very safe there is a lot of walking up steps and swings that may not be great for very young children. if your very afraid of heights, don't go. if not, this is a wonderful experience, there was a very communal feel both times we went, and kids and adults will make new friends. i would suggest bringing at least one or two other families with you though.

Room Tip: these tree houses all have very small interiors, if your traveling with four or more people in a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth/Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our stay at the treesort was definitely one of a kind. all the treehouses , bridges, and staircases are very well made, we never felt unsafe at all. the place was easy enough to get to. we loved the surroundings and the staff was nothing but professional, knowledgeable, and super friendly. we stayed in the Treezeebo and it was a blast. we had fun just simply relaxing. the queen bed was so very comfortable, we all slept quite well. and the sleeping bags on the bunks were thick and fluffy and comfortable as well. the treehouse was clean and inviting with fluffy towels and a mini fridge and electric heater- the weather was nice but a little chilly, pleasant. the wifi had perfect reception at all times. also, there was no TV in our treehouse which was fine with us. they have several bathrooms on the grounds and a shower, which were all clean. they also have zip lines. the zip guides really know what they are doing and it is quite an awesome experience. the horses were right beside our treehouse and it was neat to visit with them during our stay. they looked happy and clean and their living spaces looked clean as well. the breakfast was DELICIOUS both days we stayed there. they make everything from scratch and fresh. some items served were breakfast quiches, muffins, pancakes, sausages, scrambled eggs just to name a few. the coffee was really good too and they had a great assortment of teas to choose from as well as hot chocolate powder. everything about this place was truly WONDERFUL, ENJOYABLE, RELAXING, PEACEFUL, MAGICAL. this is something you must experience for yourself, keep in mind that THESE ARE REAL AND TRUE TREEHOUSES. we will definitely be going back to rough it at The Out N About Treesort in Cave Junction Oregon year after year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank yatzee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just wanted to share that our family of four ( children ages 8 and 5) had a fabulous time at this place last labor day weekend. We stayed in the Forestree which was clean and cozy. The kids absolutely loved this resort from the river filled swimming hole ( brrrr) , various swings, pirate treehouse, our forestree cabin, to the zip lining (their favorite) and of course hanging out with other kids here. The breakfast in the mornings were plentiful and yummy. We spent one day exploring the giant redwood forest along the California coast which was 40 minutes away.

Here are the few downsides: the bugs.... mosquitos, flies and bees while we ate outside the first
day. We solved this by eating in the ac common dining room for the duration of our stay. Also there was this darn rooster that would wake us up at the crack of dawn.

Overall it was a great vacation destination for our family. My husband who initially had doubt about this place even admitted he had a fantastic time. The kids often beg to go back and w will as soon as we can get a reservation. They are booked out pretty far in advance for summer time.



my sleep at the crack of dawn.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank bnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort

Property: Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Address: 300 Page Creek Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out'n'About boasts the largest concentration of rentable treehouses we know of in the world! We cater to families with children of all ages from age 1 to 100 who love new adventures with maximum fun and safety. Some have called it Glamping (glamorous camping) in the trees! Whether you like life out on a limb or something closer to the ground, we have numerous activities for everything from the most calm repose or gentle horse ride to maximum adrenaline pumping action on our ziplines and giant swing. We hope to see you aloft! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out `n` About Treesort Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing