We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel between downtown and Padre Island beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel between downtown and Padre Island beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet corner off one of the main highways. The only thing in walking distance is a convient store, but with a car it is 10 minutes away from either downtown corpus or the island beach depending on which direction you go. The mall, movies, and all popular chain restaurants are just two exits away back on the highway.

We stayed at the hotel for one night for a quick getaway with our 4 year old daughter. We original were planning on staying at a Quality Inn on the bay close to the Lexington musuem and aquarium but changed our minds when we saw the reviews. Seemed nothing had been updated since we last stayed there 10 years ago.

Glad we changed reservation to this location, for the same price we reserved a suite with a king sized bed and small living room area. This gave us more floor room for a daughter to play and move around. The room was nicely decorated and had an upscale feel to it. All the appliances and tv looked new and worked great, everything was very clean.

Pool was ok size, but the jacuzzi was only luke warm, so disappointed, I was really in need of a jacuzzi to relax. I noticed they had a bbq grill next the pool entrance which is a nice option to have.

Hotel is on the newer side of buildings and most everything was maintained well. Lobby had a nice aquarium that kids would enjoy. There was a musky smell in the second floor hallway, but once in the room all was fine. However, it is true, the walls are thin, if your tv is off at night you will hear the next room's tv, but it really didn't bother us much since the beds were very comfortable, no problem falling asleep.

The front desk was very attentive and helpful, we requested a crib for our daughter and they had it set up by the time we returned(if you need one ask early, since every hotel only has one or two on hand).

Free breakfast was gone by 9am, even orange juice. Get there early if you really want something to eat.

Other than that we enjoyed our trip and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10197701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
13
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel is tucked behind a gas station and kinda hard to spot. But that's a plus because it's quiet. Little to no noise from the highway. The grounds are well manicured. Lobby is modern. The check-in process was quick and the employee behind the counter was friendly and courteous. The king bed suite was spacious with a microwave and fridge, pull out sofa bed and large flat screen TV. Furnishings and bedding looked clean, new, and smelled fresh. Bed had both firm and soft pillows to choose from. Internet access was either hard wire or WiFi. WiFi signal was strong and fast on the third floor. Breakfast area is spacious with plenty of tables. Overall a pleasant stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The the rooms are very clean, and you are very close to the water. The service was ok but didn't really think much of it. The breakfast in the morning was horrible!!! It's a first come first sever type breakfast and Everyman for themselves, not good for the little ones thou. But overall not to bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regggie0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Considering it includes wireless internet and breakfast, the price if very affordable. The property is extremely clean and staff very courteous. The room was clean and spacious. I would add that the air conditioned, for a reason that we ignore, stopped working in the middle of the night, raising the room temperature to a point it would disturb your sleep. We had to bring it down every night to cool down the room temperature again. The hotel location was not too bad but do not expect a walkable distance to the action, etc. as it is located in a Bay, surrounded by apartment buildings and the highway. Everything is accessible using your car, with a 10-20 minutes drive to downtown Corpus Christi (restaurants, shopping, ocean, attractions). This was actually a disappointment for me upon our arrival. Because we love walking and being out, I had expected a place where you could easily get out of the hotel and walk around to discover the area. That's not the case. Unsure if we were going to stay, we've decided to take a drive in other areas to see if we could find something else. I was then happy to realize that I had probably chosen one of the best hotels in the area. In addition, the ocean wasn't a selection factor anymore since color of the water wasn't very inviting. Not sure if this was common for this time of the year. The morning breakfast was always fresh and we never had any issue with the wireless network, included. The small fridge in our room was considered as the room "mini bar" where you would pay for what you take. However, there was room enough to add our own stuff. Rooms have no safe deposit box so be sure to consider this when leaving your belongings, although I would doubt you would run into problems with this hotel. The pool is not very big for the hotel but it was very clean, although the water would not cool you down due to the heat. All that being said, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are booking via Hotels.com and need to cancel, for some reason, please note that the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManonSimard-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

If I could describe my stay in one word it would be.....home. We came to Corpus Christi for a small 4th of July vacation and chose to stay at Comfort Suites. I was absolutely pleased with our stay here. Friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, tasty free breakfast, and great convenient location. The restrooms were very clean and spacious, as were the rooms. The beds were SO comfortable! I slept so good here and I felt so relaxed and rested. I believe you definitely get your moneys worth here. I noticed the rooms fill up quick here, and now I see why. I recommend this hotel if you plan on coming to Corpus with your family or alone. I will be coming back very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms fill up quick on weekends, get here early to get your room and your choice of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great stay! Friendly staff. From the front desk attendant to housekeeping, everyone was so nice. Our room was super clean and up to date. Breakfast was delish and an added bonus. The pool was clean and the kids had fun. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhoward83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thanks for staying at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&m, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Checked in to our king size room at 8pm to find the room had not been cleaned. Reported to desk who said housecleaning had marked it cleaned. Then had to go check (to make sure I wasn't making it up??). Returned but informed us no more king size we'd have to take queen.

Had noticed people grilling just outside side door. 2nd floor alway was full of smoke from someone's dinner. Really?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbrdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Corpus Christi (Flour Bluff)
Candlewood Suites Corpus Christi...
#23 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi
TownePlace Suites Corpus Christi
#22 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
#10 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
#12 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi

Property: Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi
Address: 1814 Ennis Joslin Road, Corpus Christi, TX 78412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, we offer you a hotel designed to meet the demands of business travel or a relaxing vacation. Comfort Suites hotel you'll experience a new look and feel. We've renovated and redesigned our hotel to enhance your experience. That's why Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M University is committed to your success, giving you everything you need during your stay to ensure you leave feeling refreshed and ready for a successful day ahead. The hotel offers a free hot breakfast buffet with full of choices, free high speed internet, fitness center, outdoor and spa, and business center. The spacious guest suites all feature microwaves and refrigerators, irons, lots of space, and service that you will remember with a smile. Our great rates and friendly staff at our hotel will help make your next trip more affordable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M - Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Near Texas a&m-Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Comfort Suites Near Texas a And m-Corpus Christi
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing