We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kinda disappointed”

Texas State Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.95*
and up
Houston City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Transport to Kemah Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the amazing underwater world of the Texas State Aquarium! Thousands of animals representing over 320 different species are ready to enchant, entertain, and inspire you. Corpus Christi's most popular cultural attraction has welcomed over 12 million visitors since its grand opening in July 1990. Conveniently located on North Beach, the Texas State Aquarium is just minutes from Corpus Christi's downtown district, convention center complex, and museums.The Texas State Aquarium Association is a not-for-profit, educational institution that does not receive any city, state, or federal funding for its operations. Every visit to the Texas State Aquarium is a new and exciting discovery of animals that remind us all of our responsibility to those whose world we share.The Aquarium's Second Chances Wildlife Rehabilitation Program is federally permitted and operates under rigorous standards established by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). Each year, thousands of protected, endangered or threatened species along the Texas coast become ill or injured. Most are brought to our facility with problems caused directly or indirectly by humans. The goal of the Texas State Aquarium's Second Chances Program is to rehabilitate, and whenever possible, return the animals to their natural environment. The Aquarium is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums and is a member of the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums. The Aquarium's mission is to engage people with animals, inspire appreciation for our seas, and support wildlife conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kinda disappointed”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

You know how they say everything is bigger in Texas? Not so here! I am a HUGE dolphin and jellyfish fan, and was disappointed in the jellyfish display. The splash zone was pretty cool, but the rest was just okay to me.

I recently visited the aquarium in Tulsa, Oklahoma, it was FAR better than this one! You'd think in Texas, it would have been better than this!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keri123179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    557
    294
    80
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“aquatic experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

kids will love the up close aquatic experience with the stingrays! the water show was awesome with the dolphins and other shows as well

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank al m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good hands on exibits”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

If you have seen Sea World, then don't go here...will be disappointed. I thought it was over priced. I thought with the Aquarium close to the ocean, it would have more of a shark exhibit. The petting of the sharks was ok, but the exhibit is large and the sharks know that if they get to the middle of the water, kids can't touch them. The touching of the sting rays was ok, again the kids liked it. The birds of prey was educational and ok. My overall feeling for this place is just ok..nothing really special

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank branden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Plan time for the water park!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I've been to aquariums in many states as well as Vancouver, London, Oslo, and Sydney. I don't ever remember seeing upside down jellyfish! We missed the dolphin show but an employee told us to go see them from the underwater viewing area. The two dolphins are the most playful dolphins I've ever seen! One will play and play and play.... She seems to like young children and we saw her go up to the glass and "show off" for the children sitting near the glass wall. Take note if you have children under 8 yrs old.

If you have kids, the water park is a highlight of the visit. This waterpark is similar to the waterpark in the Tampa aquarium. Too bad there are no photos of this. Bring the kids in their bathing suits and plan for them to get wet. I went into the water park to give my son a 5-minute warning and left somewhat wet from the fountains and sprays. The water is chlorinated water so you might want to rinse the kids off at one of the outdoor showers before you leave. Bring a towel and a change of clothes. There were plenty of kids getting wet in their regular clothes 'cause the parents couldn't say no. When you see how much fun the kids are having, you won't be able to say no either. But why say no when you can just bring them in their bathing suits?!

There are clean family dressing rooms (4 of them?) which makes this a nice facility. Plan to give your kids an hour in the water park 'cause they won't want to leave before that. When we were there, there were two employees of h.s. age "supervising" the kids but mostly chatting. I would not let any child under 4 stay alone in this area. Most of the kids were 4-10 yrs old. There are plenty of tables and chairs in the shade so you can rest. The drinks in this area were $9.50 for an icee in a plastic souvenir cup and $6.50 for a Gatorade....outrageou!. Not sure if you can bring drinks in on your own.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TeacherEating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This is a Must See!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The aquarium is truly a jewel of Texas. One visit and you will want to not only be a visitor but a sponsor. There are so many wonderful things to learn about so many different species of sealife, birds and other animals.
I love the sea turtles!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas State Aquarium also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas State Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing