We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Inn
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Overall the inn was a great place to stay. The staff were helpful. Whenever we check into a hotel, we check out the toilets, tub, sink, and TV. We noticed that the toilet didn't flush all the way so they moved us to another room. The bathroom sink is separate from the bathroom which we found convenient. We liked the counter space which was sufficient to hold our personal items. The breakfast area was large and we enjoyed the great breakfast of waffles, toast, muffins, 2 kinds of juice, biscuits with gravy, eggs, sausages, bananas, and apples----great!!
They also offered a popcorn snack with soda in the afternoons.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is our 2nd time to stay at the Plaza Inn in the last 3 years. They were able to match expedia's price for me over the phone, which was good. It is not a NEWER hotel, so there are minor issues like strange smells in the hallways, patched holes in the bathroom door, etc. Seems to be a popular place for blue collar workers in the oil industry on weekdays, as the parking lot was full of work trucks. But overall, we enjoyed our stay. Hot breakfast each morning consisted of eggs, sausage, bicuits/gravy, and muffins or pastries of some sort. There was also the usual cereal or apples (no bananas?). It was hit or miss that the waffle maker was working each morning. The breakfast staff also didn't seem too concerned with replinishing the muffins or juice machines after 8:30 (breakfast ends at 9:30). Get there by 8am if you want a full selection of breakfast items.

Our family likes to sleep in until about 10 and head to the beach around noon. Only problem with that is the cleaning staff only checks our floor before 11am. Despite putting the Maid Service Requested sign on the door the first 2 nights, we would return in the evenigns to find the room was never touched. So we had to go get towels, shampoo, etc from the desk each night.

The outdoor pool was well maintained though and is open until 10pm each evening. Also has a small exercise room with 1 treadmill and one eliptical machine. It was nice to get a workout in at a lower priced hotel. We will probably stay there again enxt year, as we are not very picky about the minor issues, as long as we get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coachdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

i booked here for the free breakfast. Its alot farther from the beach than I thought (thats my only complaint) They have free dinner AND drinks in the afternoon, and a complete hot breakfast. Staff is really friendly, rooms are nice. They even gave me the Orbitz rate, even though I didn't book through Orbitz. We're already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melg1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed here in February for about eight days while on a job in CC. Bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The room was acceptably clean but everything could use a good updating. I suppose it's a good value for the price but would not be my first choice on visits to Corpus in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tx834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel was a savior as it is difficult to find a clean place to stay in southern Texas. Therefore, needless to say, it was very clean but also had a nice pool, comfortable beds, and an excellent warm breakfast in the morning with the best bisquits I have ever eaten. This place is also affordable and has little perks like aloe lotion and a free computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamit1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Second stay since conversion from Drury. Same amenities and ambience. Clean, maintained, peaceful, safe, comfortable. Free meals and happy hour are a nice touch. Another poster nailed it: home away from home. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank augerAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#42 of 81 in Corpus Christi
140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#49 of 81 in Corpus Christi
116 reviews
9.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Corpus Christi - Staples
Extended Stay America - Corpus C...
#39 of 81 in Corpus Christi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#55 of 81 in Corpus Christi
36 reviews
5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beach
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beac...
#52 of 81 in Corpus Christi
246 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#10 of 81 in Corpus Christi
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn

Address: 2021 N Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78408-2231 (Formerly Drury Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want it free? This is your hotel! At Plaza Inn, our guests wake up to a complimentary Full Buffet Breakfast. This will keep you going all day as you take in all that Corpus Christi has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Corpus Christi
Drury Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing