We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile?”
Review of Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Inn
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service with a smile?”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hotel lobby and rooms were very clean. Amenities are average. We stayed two nights, under a room block with a special group rate ($89 per night). On the day of check out, the carpet cleaning crew was at the hotel working. I had a "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on my door, and got a knock on the door shortly before 10AM from the carpet cleaning crew asking if we were still in the room? What?!? Check-out is at 11AM!! Then I get a call shortly after the knock on the door, from the lobby desk, letting me know that the carpet cleaning guys were trying to get into the room to clean the carpets. My question was, "isn't check-out at 11AM?" The response from the other end of the line was, "oh, so you're checking out today?" Don't they have the reservation information at their fingertips? It's called a computer! At check-out time I approached the reservation desk and asked to speak to a manager. I could see from where I was standing that the clerk was telling the manager what was going on. As the manager walked out of the back office I heard her say, "it's a Monday", to which I replied, "yes, it is a Monday". What did she mean by that? Was I just another complaint she had to "handle"? When I told her what happened about the carpet cleaning crew and call from the lobby desk, BEFORE 11AM, the apology she gave me was absolutely terrible. A completely empty apology...no feeling, no smile, monotone voice. This seemed to be the same thing I got from other staff members during my stay. None of the staff ever smiled and didn't seem friendly. The manager apologized for the inconvenice and that was it. It wasn't until I informed her that I was not satified with that. She then asked me to wait a few minutes, stood at the door of the office she came from, was talking to someone, came back out and refunded me $20 and change for one of my night's stay. Turns out the person I was speaking to was a manager...the general manager, Lori Jackson, never even came out of the office to "handle" me or my complaint. I guess the I'm supposed to be grateful for the $20 refund. Terrible customer service...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
14
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Staff was very professional and provided great customer service, unlike another motel in the area. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our group and showed us all respect, especially under such a short notice. GREAT JOB!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShernitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

For a 150.00 a night I expect better. There was no plug for the tub to take a shower. When we requested one, we were assured it was on the way up. 30 minutes later, still no plug. Another phone call and another assurance it would be up shortly. Well it NEVER came, so we used a wash cloth to plug the drain. Next came the lousy internet service, one bar and it was dropping constantly. They say they remodeled the rooms - yea if you consider a new comforter and wallpaper remodeling. Old furniture from the 80s and a 25" tube TV. The full breakfast was mediocre as best. Would NEVER recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caesar1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went here for our first Anniversary.

We asked for a non-smoking room, and found that our room smelled smoky. Since my wife is pretty sensitive to it, we told the front desk. I think they ended up giving us a new room, but it was not a big deal.

It was definitely a good value for the stay. Lighting wasn't the greatest but it was clean, and all in all I was happy with the room and price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shockley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were booked to this hotel as part of a Destination Imagination tournament for the kids, so I did not have high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by what we found. The front desk service was thorough. The breakfasts and afternoon snack service was pleasant. The room and bathroom were clean, the A/C worked well, and our room was quiet. The pool was great for the kids, and we enjoyed a windy afternoon on the pool deck. Rey, the maintenance man, was a busy guy that weekend. He always had a kind word for our group and was helpful. Thank you for a pleasant weekend in Corpus. Our group would have liked to have known that the sign for "Padre Island" means you are on N. Padre Island Drive--just a little map info. for you!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not directly off of the lobby--those would have more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at The Plaza for 4 nights with our dog. We paid a $50 one time pet deposit, but it seemed pretty reasonable since we were there for more than one night. The bed was very comfortable...I want the mattress! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The snacks and meals were great. The building is a bit out of date, but the price makes up for it. If you are looking for comfort and a friendly atmosphere this is the place to go! We'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Hotel Does have nice Emplyees AND the rooms are clean. The tv is outdated on some rooms (LIKE OURS)....OUR ROOM WAS VERY HOT!!! The a/c was not working at all. At 4AM we noticed that we could open the window and that's what we did to be at least a little comfortable!!!

Room Tip: Make sure the a/c works..if not..report it immediately!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unhappy0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
3.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#49 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#40 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Northwest Corpus Christi Inn & Suites
Best Western Northwest Corpus Ch...
#24 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airpo...
#46 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
9.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Corpus Christi - Staples
Extended Stay America - Corpus C...
#39 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn

Property: Plaza Inn
Address: 2021 N Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78408-2231 (Formerly Drury Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want it free? This is your hotel! At Plaza Inn, our guests wake up to a complimentary Full Buffet Breakfast. This will keep you going all day as you take in all that Corpus Christi has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Corpus Christi
Drury Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing