We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Center”

South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tranquil respite from city stress, this collection of gardens soothes the soul with walking trails, 2500 varieties of orchids, an idyllic rose garden, desert and tropical flowers, wetlands, forest and many opportunities for bird watching.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nature Center”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very good place to go and spend quality time especially if you like to wander through South Texas Flowers

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveSun107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    65
    45
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was nice.”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Be careful where you walk. Wear shoes or boots. lots of snakes. Pretty plants but its no moody gardens.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Customer957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A work in progress, but we enjoyed it nevertheless.”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

When we checked in the receptionist told us they had animals in the back but we were welcome to go back. It was messy but we seen a couple of animals we had never seen before.
The gardens were a work in progress for sure. There were some beautiful plants there. There are many different orchids there, but only about 10 were blooming. They were pretty though. The butterfly garden was enjoyable. All the birds we seen were pretty. They were a nice addition to the gardens.

Helpful?
Thank girlzintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visitor center”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was not on your list but we went into it and had a great visit with the staff and received great info.Thanks to them we saw and visited alot of things and ate great food. We will see the gardens next time, sincerely Jean and Famliy

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank partricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Work in Process”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I'm guessing anyway. Great diversity of Pulmonary varieties. Many of the plants were in need of better care but assumed this could well be a lack of volunteer issue. Although we were told there are over 100 acres, not near that is developed.

The folks there were very courteous. It is a small thing, tho, so better a side trip while you are in Corpus as opposed to making it a single event for the day.

If you really wish to go to the best I've seen, make it the Butchart Gardens in Victoria, B.C.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockyRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing