We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice visit”

South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tranquil respite from city stress, this collection of gardens soothes the soul with walking trails, 2500 varieties of orchids, an idyllic rose garden, desert and tropical flowers, wetlands, forest and many opportunities for bird watching.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
339 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A nice visit”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went when not much was blooming but still enjoyed a stroll around the area. The man working the reptile house was friendly and told us a lot. There were some cute rescue parrots outside, and various plants. All the orchids were in bloom which were very beautiful. The arid garden was well kept, and our walk by the alligator pond was nice. Wish we'd have been there at a better time but it was a great visit. Lots to see, explore.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kmerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    61
    44
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice gardens and even better nature area”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I toured the gardens on a nice 75 degree day in Feb. I enjoyed the trails especially by the ponds. While not a super formal garden it is worth the tour just to see the natural aspects of the land.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful rose garden, birds, and so much more!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went primarily for the birding but discovered much, much more. Beautiful roses in full bloom (in January!!), reptiles, edible landscaping, great walking trails, an arid garden filled with different specimens of cacti, and all manner of birds ranging from the exotic parrots (in cages) to woodland and wetland dwellers. Not crowded at all on a weekday morning, it was much better than we'd expected. We ran out of time so didn't even make it to the orchid or butterfly houses. A second visit is in order!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emilys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Orchids, tropical birds, bromiliads, nature walk”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant visit here which included caged tropical birds such as cockatoos and parrots as well as a greenhouse with lovely orchids, a butterfly area, a nature walk over a wetlands area, a cactus garden, and a rose garden.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine77055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our little loved the flowers”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed looking at the beautiful roses. Our little one loved the flowers! And all the different types of birds and plants!

Helpful?
Thank Sofia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing