We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tranquil respite from city stress, this collection of gardens soothes the soul with walking trails, 2500 varieties of orchids, an idyllic rose garden, desert and tropical flowers, wetlands, forest and many opportunities for bird watching.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nature”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The gardens were beautiful, I loved the colors and how the gardens were set up. Walking through the gardens I saw flowers I wasn't familiar with and some I was, I love flowers and nature and this lived up to the signs they had posted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    64
    45
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Future Potential...”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The South Texas Botanical Gardens isn't as big and doesn't have the pizazz or refinement of some of its larger and more well-known cousins. From that standpoint, it is an average attraction. It does have a fairly long nature trail that takes you through a wetlands area (unfortunately dry when we visited) and along a creek to display the native habitat of the area. There was an eclectic art display called "Scrap Daddy", which as its name implies is metal sculptures fabricated from scrap metal, throughout the garden. Much of the upkeep and curation is done by volunteers. There is ongoing construction as well as future expansion plans - I would expect another visit in a year or so to result in a higher rating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tx4stamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“drought dried up all wetlands”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful trails and lookouts, over sand flats, (not mud, sand) all ponds are gone. would be wonderful if they were full. a few birds in cages, interesting greenhouses, but without the ponds, insects and birds stay home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank llelantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

First ever visit. We loved the butterflies. There was so many of them and the trails were fun to walk. It kept us busy for sometime exploring around the trail and looking at the art work. The staff we saw were friendly

Helpful?
Thank Janisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, OR
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth an hour drive to get to it”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Gardens was small, animals and birds in cages, butterfly pavilion was nice. Very hot day and few places to sit in the shade. Wetland overlook was OK for bird watching. Very interesting
and eclectic collection of art work throughout the gardens. Drove from Port Aransas to see, so was disappointed there was not more of a collection of plants and flowers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank banjowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Texas Botanical Gardens & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing